We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Afrique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge Afrique
Ranked #3 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

A pseudo-old-fashioned "African" rondawel-type establishment, with lush (if somewhat cramped and overgrown) gardens in residential St Lucia, without any views or outlook. The accommodation is comfortable, although the rooms are dark (because of the low-pitched thatched roofs). The decor and furnishings are nonetheless pleasant. Lodge Afrique is well-situated in relation to the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, a World Heritage Site, which well worth visiting. A good breakfast is served, buffet-style, on the patio.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IkariaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We tried to give the lodge an "African feel" experience, hence the rondawels and the lush gardens. We also tried to give the guests some privacy on the balcony's with plants surrounding the rondawels.
I do respect your opinion, but most of our guests just love the vegetation and the African ambiance the owners have created here.
If in St Lucia come and visit us again, even if it is just to have some tea or coffee with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    54
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
302
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived very late and it was very kind of the receptionist to wait for us till that time of the night. Rooms are good. The gearden is really lovely and it is a sort of a beach feel. The breakfast was standard. The muffins were rubbery and the flapjacks (pancakes) were burned. The owner was not particulary friendly. She walked in the garden while we had breakfast and didnt even bother to greet or make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjibbolet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It was a pleasure waiting up for you until you arrived safely to the lodge late that night. We do go out of our way to give only the best service to our guests, that is why I am rather disappointed that you did not take it up with me that you were not happy about the pancakes and the muffins. We could have offered you something else. I must say some guests like the pancakes brown while others like them very light.
I hope next time you will be more satisfied with our service as I would like you to be happy with your accommodation here at Lodge Afrique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were made to feel very welcome in this great lodge. Tessa's was extremely knowledgeable and helped us to make the most of our stay in St Lucia. The lodge was very well located and had everything we needed for our short break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken-Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
It was so nice to have South Africans here, we love the foreigners that visit us , but having you here were very special. Please return to Lodge Afrique on your next visit to St Lucia.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great review you gave us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

A beautiful property with well equipped rooms. Living in amongst the tropical vegetation is wonderful. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.
Just a pity we only had time to stay 1 night. A return visit to St Lucia and Lodge Afrique is a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
What a pity you were only here for one night, before we got to know you , you were up and away again. Hopefully you will come back to us one day and we can spoil you a little. Thank you for the very nice comments about the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hostess was lovely, very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. The setting and layout of the property was beautiful, with lots of attention to detail. We stayed in the Ibhubesi (Lion) suite, which was very thoroughly and thoughtfully equipped: very comfortable bed, double sinks, large shower and roll top bath, bath and beach towels provided. We only booked for one night, but really wished that we had stayed for longer. We would highly recommend this establishment and would love to return, if we are every lucky enough to visit South Africa again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Poundies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Your visit here by us was so short and we would have loved to have had more time to spoil you.
Thank you for the review and we are thrilled to think you might return one day to our beautiful country, town and Lodge Afrique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. The rooms are out of this world and the staff are very friendly and offer wonderful service. A great location close to all the amenities, add it to your bucket list! A special mention to Elsa who made our stay so special

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I hope we will stay on your bucket list until you return for another visit. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

It was a wonderful stay + I didn't want to leave.
Their breakfast should be tried, I already miss the omelet.
Room was clean and cozy, also very homy.
"Homy" should be the best word to express this lodge!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D-Yokoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Yes I agree with you, Lodge Afrique is home away from home. The omelettes were very popular again this morning and Sindy does do them to perfection.
The omelettes are reason enough for you to come back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Afrique

Property: Lodge Afrique
Address: 71 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Afrique 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Afrique is a 4 star Guest House with eight free standing Luxurious Thatched Suites, each with full Afro/Victorian bathroom. Lodge Afrique can cater for up to 16 people at a time. The spacious and Luxurious Air-conditioned Suites, each with a Private outdoor shower leading off the patio, are situated in a Tropical garden with a Sparkling pool. All the suites are connected to the Central Lodge by a raised wooden deck pathway over the Beautiful Lush Garden. Guests gather in the Central Lodge which includes the Breakfast, Bar, Braai and Leisure Area equipped with satellite television. Allow us to turn your honeymoon at Lodge Afrique into a truly memorable experience. Romantic picnics, forest walks, gentle horse rides, pampering treatments, sensational soaks in a bubble filled bath, sun-downers on your patio and a delicious champagne breakfast to start your day. Our aim is to make sure our guests are well looked after. We have Generators and Boreholes on the property to insure that neither drought nor Load-Shedding interferes with your stay at Lodge Afrique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge Afrique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing