We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house in St. Lucia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Igwalagwala Guest House
Ranked #10 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this B&B. Safe area and a 3 min. walk to the main street so restaurants on walking distance. Good beds, clean rooms and good breakfast. Free wifi! Owners Glynis and Bruce are perfect hosts, they give you all the necessary info and suggestions and provide you free of charge with beach towels, cooling boxes and other gear for the beach and also maps. They offer to make reservations for instance for the hippo boat trip or night drive in the Isimangoliso Park. We will recommend Igwalagwala Guest House to all our friend and we will certainly stay here when visiting again St. Lucia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Arrived early after doing a mountain bike race in nearby Imfolozi Game Reserve, desperately needing a shower. Although the room was not ready, we were allowed to freshen up before heading off to Cape Vidal. Thanks Bruce and Glynis for your warm welcome, we slept like logs and headed off home with full bellies after your amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a great B&B with big comfortable rooms, swimming pool, comfortable lounge and the best breakfast we had in S.Africa. Shops and restaurants and laundrette were nearby. Glynis was a very cheerful and welcoming hostess and happy to help advise and organise excursions. A very happy place. Thank you to both Glynis and Bruce for making our stay so merry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Glynis did a great job looking after us. The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast was plentiful. Dinner on request which was also very good. Centrally situated in St Lucia. Secure parking. Garden with pool and outside dining area. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Fantastic Service, Great swimming pool for those Hot summer days, Rooms are very comfortable and well kept cleen. Owners are just wonderful and very helpful and informative. very safe place to stay. Breakfast very tasty. Hippo's could rome past gate in street every night. Think before you go for a walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBBTOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, and it was nice and clean, and were made to feel very welcome.

Glynis the landlady was very helpful and would book you some excursions etc if wanted., we are planning of returning here in the near future, as the location was within a short walk to shops & restraunts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryrhosUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenita_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iGwalaGwala, Manager at Igwalagwala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#11 of 31 in St Lucia
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkers Cottages
Parkers Cottages
#14 of 31 in St Lucia
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#9 of 31 in St Lucia
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
0.1 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#1 of 31 in St Lucia
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Igwalagwala Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Igwalagwala Guest House

Address: 91 Pelican Street St. | Kwa Zulu Natal - South Africa, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: £67 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Igwalagwala Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iGwalagwala Guest House is located in The Greater St Lucia Wetland Park, now known as Isimangaliso Wetland Park. iGwala is the Zulu word for the Turaco (Loerie) bird found in abundance in the tropical gardens of our establishment and the surrounding area. Just two and a half hours from Durban and six hours from Johannesburg, iGwalagwala Guest House offers one-on-one owner hospitality with a wealth of information on the area to assist you to make the most of your adventures exploring the Wetland Park. Our eight comfortable, double or family rooms are en-suite and equipped with air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. Enjoy our hearty country style breakfast or alternatively opt for a continental-style buffet. Relax in our lounge or around the sparking pool in our tropical garden. Free Wi-Fi and parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Igwalagwala Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing