We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalone Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avalone Guest House
Ranked #15 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Maidenead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We arrived in St Lucia early evening, with no idea where to stay. A local bed and breakfast recommended the Avalone, as we wanted slightly up market accomadation (it was very reasonably priced) We were greeted by Monica who was busy cooking her evening meal, she dropped everything and showed us to a lovely room in the adjoining house over looking the pool area. The room was Very spacious and clean, it had two single beds which was not ideal, but Monica arranged for a king size bed to be moved into our room the next day! Breakfast was plentiful, with fruit, cereals, and a choice of cooked options, all were available if requested. Monica arranged a croc and hippo boat trip for us with a local tour guide who picked us from the Avalone. Monica also provided towels, snorkels, parasol for our trip to Cape Vidal. nothing was too much trouble. we enjoyed two lovely evening meals cooked by the hilarious Philip. we originally booked in for a 2 night stay but loved the town and surrounding area we ended up staying 5. The town is safe and friendly, the only danger are the hippos who walk around the streets at night Munching as long as you follow common sense by respecting the hippo and not approaching them, they are not a threat. I can not rave enough about this place it is a little paradise. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it for anyone not sure where to stay. Monica is a lovely, warm and generous lady who made us feel so very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    31
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
60
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Avalone guesthouse is a very pleasant place to stay during a visit to st. Lucia. The guesthouse is spacious and clean. There is a pool in the garden and frommel the garden there is a beautiful view to a park. Monica is a very warm person and makes you really feel at home!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RenatePoldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
288 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

When we arrived with 8 friends, we were welcomed as we annual guests; we felt at home immediately. Monica showed us our rooms, the garden, the terrace, the dining and breakfast area,... and prepared a drink in the hospitality bar.
The rooms are clean, spacious and have good beds. The bathrooms are clean, spacious and have a shower, bath.
The first night Monica recommended us a good fish restaurant nearby and showed us the menu Anthea, the second hostess, would be preparing the next day. We were free to suggest any changes to the menu. They were glad to make a braai the next evening, which we appreciated very much!
Laundry was done at a fair price.
Monica had plenty of tips with things to do and see in the area. She made a reservation for us to make a boat trip to see the crocs and hippos.
Private and secured parking.
Breakfast is very good and way too much. Terrace is great to relax after a long day of sightseeing!
We loved Slinky, the saucissage dog!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rattenpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had a very warm welcome from Monika! Her place is really beautiful and in a very quiet street. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean! We had this amazing view on the pool and the garden from our upstairs' room! We really enjoyed our 2 nights there and would recommand this place to anyone who would like to spend some relaxing time in Saint Lucia!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

From the moment we arrived, Monika the hostess, made us feel at home. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the garden is lovely, breakfast is great. Monika arranged our tour on the water to see the hippos en crocs and she also booked us a tour through Khula, a Zulu village nearby St. Lucia. It was fantastic! When you are planning a holiday in St. Lucia, be sure to stay with Monika in Avalone!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MadelonMackor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were a family of 10 visiting Avalone Guest House in the winter. From the first moment the manager Monika made us feel welcome and at home. She and her staff created a nice and relaxed atmosphere.
All our rooms (we occupied all 5 in the house with the reception) were nice and clean.
It was quiet during night and we all slept well. Breakfast was good. We could choose from a buffet and order eggs in addition (omletts, scrambled, fried or boiled eggs). All very nice. There was a self-serving bar, which was convinient and a nice alternative to a minibar in the rooms.
We ordered dinner 3 nights in a row. The meals were reasonably priced. We got a three-course meal, and often they meal consisted of typical South-African dishes. Both children and grown-ups liked the food.
We quite enjoyed the gardens and the pool areas with the fish pond. There were sun beds and towels were provided if needed. We also spent time wandering in the nature reserved behind the garden. We saw many nice birds and animals there. Monika said that the hippos also show themselves there from time to time.

We went on several trips, and Monika was very helpful organizing it all for us. She was very helpful in so many ways. My parents had their birthday while we were there, and Monika baked cakes for us and the staff sang birthday songs. We forgot a camera, and she came and met us when we were on our way to Richard's Bay airport to give it to us. Very nice service indeed!!

Avalone is centrally located, we could walk both to the beach and to the town and the place where you can find the hippo safari boats. Sleep and food was great, and we felt at home. We can't think of anything else to ask for. Really good value for money!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the ones on the first floor are bigger and with a small balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quickstep09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I enjoyed 3 days at St Lucia in the S. African winter. The weather was great - warm by day and not too cold in the evening. The guest house was secure and backed onto grassland where hippos, baboon and colourful birds wandered. Our hostess Monika plus Anthea and Joey her helpers were all extremely pleasant and welcoming. Excellent breakfasts and they will provide a good (and reasonably priced) dinner on request. Plenty to do in St. Lucia with a river full of hippos and crocs, a crocodile centre and a wetlands game reserve close by - not to mention the sandy beach with the warm Indian Ocean waters. Lots of walks. We could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#10 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalone Guest House

Property: Avalone Guest House
Address: 15 Sandpiper Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalone Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalone Guesthouse offers you quiet, serene accommodation bordering on the nature reserve. Within walking distance to restaurants and beaches. Staff are here to spoil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Avalone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing