We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalone Guest House
Ranked #13 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stay 3 nights.... very enjoyable area with plenty of things to do. Enjoyed the pancakes at breakfast....they were real thin and just the way my mother made them. Monica was most helpful in recommending things to do. We enjoyed the boat cruise it was on a smaller boat and
we were able to get close to the hippos. Thank You

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    32
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
66
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fuerth, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

lovely place to stay. since we met a couple of guests coming back here since many years, it's obviously not only us who think so.
not sure if 2 bathrooms per room is standard, but, our room had... ;o)
very nice pool (and a second one if you don't like the first one).
24/7 self-service "honesty" bar.
and you have to love the hostess and her sausage dog. Be prepaired to be expected to have a group dinner (food is excellent and there is plenty of it), to have a long chat with the hostess and the guests after and to hear some educative piece of advice every not and then. In short, it's a very familiar atmosphere.

P.S.: I read a few other ratings. It's not true that there is no WiFi - there is! (if there wasn't, I am sure that also the other places didn't have) And yes, there are Hippos on the streets at night - but hey... this is Africa! and be sure they will also be next door...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibabarhabarberbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Really beautiful, clean, cosy place. Loved that the place looked just like the pictures depicted it to be. Beautiful pond. Full hearty breakfast. Nice air conditioned comfy room in the heat of the tropics. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bavani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hippo walked straight past us at the front gate as we left to go for dinner. Friendly sausage dog and cats, quaint and quiet place with a great garden. Breakfast spread was above average.
Only down side was the impersonal service from the receptionist, maybe we caught her on a bad day.

Tip: bring a torch for hippo watching on your way to town and your own shampoo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DrAppleJuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvaloneGH, Owner at Avalone Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good day

We just want to let you know that Avalone Guesthouse is under new ownership and that the guesthouse had a big upgrade. Hope you will come and see all the good things that has been done to make it in too one of the top Guesthouses in St Lucia.

Kind Regards Avalone Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here on my tour with Endless Summer Tours and Monica is an amazing hostess. When arriving to Avalone her greeting was certainly most welcoming and makes you feel right at home. The room I stayed in there was quite nice and well equipped. (TV, fridge, safe, etc). If unfamiliar with the area she has plenty of information on the area with things to do and places to see. The best part though was breakfast! There was a large selection clearly homemade and she and her staff would make you anything you pleased. I would definitely recommend the Avalone Guest House to anyone and hopefully I will have the chance to go back myself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcasto1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Avalone. The rooms are clean comfortable with a splendid view to a tropical garden. Very good breakfast and the perfect host, Monica, who was very kind and helpful. Our children were welcome and we felt at home at all times.
The only "but": There is no Wi-Fi! That´s the only reason why I don´t give the maximum qualification.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernestix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvaloneGH, Manager at Avalone Guest House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thsnk you for your klind words, we enjoyed your visit with us. Oncew again, apologies for the lack of Wifi, the winds had damaged the electronics and we had to have a whole new system installed. We are happy to say that the Wifi is now working and stronger than ever. Come visit again as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a friendly greeting when we arrived at Avalone guest house. Comfortable rooms,good breakfast and a plesent host. Yet again we brought the rain with us! One slight problem was the WiFi was not working. The two nights that we stay there was most plesent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#14 of 29 in St Lucia
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#9 of 29 in St Lucia
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalone Guest House

Property: Avalone Guest House
Address: 15 Sandpiper Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalone Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalone Guesthouse offers you quiet, serene accommodation bordering on the nature reserve. Within walking distance to restaurants and beaches. Staff are here to spoil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Avalone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing