We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place in St Lucia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afrikhaya Guest House
Ranked #11 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A lovely place in St Lucia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This guest house has very comfortable, clean and big rooms, built in the traditional african style with all the amenities of that you can need. It has only 4 rooms so it's very peaceful to stay there.
Breakfast was very good and it is served in a lounge in front of a little pool.
Location: it's just five minutes by car from the St Lucia centre and the entrance gate of Isimangaliso Wetland Park.
Joyce is very helpful and she gives you all the information you need about the 101 things you can do in St. Lucia.
Highly recommended for you stay in St. Lucia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SYD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Afrykhaya guest house offers one bedroom bungalows with bathroom. Rooms are clean and comfortable, provided with fridge, air dryer and electric coffee machine. The bathroom includes a big shower but the WC has no door and this may be uncomfortable for some people. It seems very common in Southafrica. Nonetheless, the location is quiet and beautiful. The owner Joyce is a lovely woman. She was kind and helpful giving us lots of information on where to go in the Wetland park area. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carla953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We have recently returned from South Africa and had wonderful welcome when we arrived in St. Lucia (end Aug 12). We were 2 families taking 4 rooms, each as beautiful and clean as each other, each with their own porch, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Joyce, our host, couldn't have been more helpful with regards to advice and information on where to go/eat in St Lucia and the cultures and politics of the region. We would not hesitate to stay at Afrikhaya Guest House again, nor recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Modern design - friendly hosts - beautiful grounds - very clean - great location - awesome breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zosia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My first Trip Advisor review is for a very memorable stay at Afrikhaya, which means "African Home" (and it truly was). During our recent visit to South Africa & Swaziland we stayed in 4 different guest houses and this was by far the best place at which we stayed. We wish the others would have been as notable, but alas that is what makes Afrikhaya so deserving of my first review. The accommodations were impeccable and the service outstanding. The owners, Joyce and Marcel, advised us on nearly every part of our 2-day visit to St. Lucia, from nearby restaurant recommendations to booking reservations with local tour companies, which helped us to maximize our short stay. This is an intimate guest house with only 4 rooms so the interaction with our hosts was very personal without being at all intrusive. We could tell that the owners put much thought into every single detail of not only the room decor, which would best be described as equivalent to a 5-star hotel, but also the entire guest experience (special touches like packing a breakfast to-go for an early morning game drive, and going above and beyond to help us find accommodations at our next stop in Durban during peak season). Afrikhaya is a special place which we found ourselves reminiscing about far after our stay ended and even after our return home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coast-to-coast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at this beautiful guest house in November 2010 together with some friends. This year we returned to St.Lucia with some other friends and we never doubted that we should stay at Afrikhaya again. It is a very lovely place. Big rooms beautifully decorated and everything is so clean and tidy. The breakfast the best in South Africa, and since we had to leave very early Joyce prepared us a breakfast box to bring with us. Joyce is so helpful both with bookings and by giving a lot of important information.
We would not hesitate to return to Afrikhaya again, if we should ever come to St. Lucia again.
Kleist and Stensgaard/Denmark

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a very peaceful place to stay. Rooms are very attractive, clean and comfortable and the setting, amongst beautiful gardens, is very tranquil. The hosts are welcoming and particularly helpful and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was good. Just a few minutes from St Lucia village, which is a lively and vibrant place with plenty of restaurants and cafes, and close to the beach. Hosts arranged game drives and boat trips - would recomend the 4X4 night drive with chameleons; great fun and you get to hold a chameleon. Not one of the big 5 but every bit as fabulous! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#10 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
0.2 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#14 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrikhaya Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrikhaya Guest House

Property: Afrikhaya Guest House
Address: 5 Kabeljoulaan Ave, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrikhaya Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Afrikhaya Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing