We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay that provides what it says on the tin - Private Safari Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Ranked #1 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Serge and Fabien are the perfect hosts. With their vast knowledge of the area, they will happily sit down with you to discuss activities and eateries.

The small gestures and attention to detail are what really made our stay, this was illustrated when, having decided to wake up very early one morning to get to the park gates, they provided us with a cool box containing breakfast. We also bought a bottle of Champagne and left it in the fridge and when we came back that evening we found two champagne flutes in our room.

For us, the secluded surrounding, the comfortable and sublime décor of the rooms and the host’s willingness to spend time with us made this one the highlights of our holiday in South Africa.

An absolute must - Our only regret was not staying longer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is really a piece of paradise on the borders of the wilds of St Lucia. The rooms are beautiful and considerately built using local trades and craftsmen. The breakfasts are outstanding and the knowledge and hospitality of the owners Serge and Fabienne is incredible. This is about more than bricks and mortar - there is an infectious love for Africa ingrained in this place and while you may find yourself coming back to visit again - after some leisurely chats with Serge, you could equally find yourself staying for good. They recommended a trip to see the turtles with the most amazing guide whose name I have unfortunately forgotten - but you must ask - a total character and such a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

After travelling SA so many times, this was our 1st trip to this area. We stayed for two nights at Kwalucia only - unfortunately as we must admit. Not only is the area giving much more opportunities than expected but also because the place Serge and Fabienne are running is a small paradise on earth were you want to stay longer than only two days. Just a few steps from the mainroad in a very quiet neighborhood, all St. Lucia offers can be reach by food. The resort has a beautiful garden (like a jungle), lovely and well equipt rooms, very good breakfast and last but not least very friendly and welcoming hosts. Serge and Fabienne (and not to forget their son) just were great, providing us all kind of information and tips for the area. You feel at home from the very first minute on. Pity that we did not stay longer - but we will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuYBuonas_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful place, after a long drive out of Swaziland it was a pleasure to arrive in this oasis in St Lucia.. Serge (Fabienne wasn't there) is a great host, nothing escapes him and it's nice to hear his stories on starting up a B&B in South Africa.. You can really feel the passion for Africa over here !

The room we had was very nicely decorated,very good bed, open bathroom and a small private terrace in front of the room; little downside was that we could hear a bit too much of our neighbours doing their things...

The garden : we don't have enough words to describe this one, a dream, very well thought off, giving privacy to all rooms , a great swimming pool and again very nice eye for details, a real peacefull spot in the more touristic St Lucia. The 'boutique' B&B is at (safe) walking distance from the center, where you'll find the usual food chains, but not a real good restaurant, so don't expect a culinary experience in St Lucia!

Cape Vidal is nearby and worthwhile a visit and other parks are just an hour's drive away.

This place is definitely 'the' B&B to stay at when around . We'll for sure will return to it !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Serge and Fabienne running the B&B were very friendly and welcoming.You could immediately tell that they were sincerely passionate about making sure that you were comfortable staying at there retreat. The accomodations were great and filled with all the modern conveniences. The grounds are lovely, filled with various flowers, plants and trees. The breakfast served was delicious with good choices, probably the best eggs in South Africa. We were very happy that we chose to stay there, and would highly recommend anyone looking accomodations in the area to choose the Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat. We really loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geemanmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at Kwalucia Private Retreat for three days and we were smitten by this wonderful accomodation. Everything was perfect, the guesthouse, the surroundings, the breakfast and most of all the hosts. Fabienne and Serge pay great attention to detail and they really thought of everything to make our stay such a memorable one. When we had to leave we felt like leaving good friends. When we arrived Serge greeted us and immediately offered us something to drink and then he took the time to give us tips in regards to game drives, where to eat out for dinner etc (which are all within walking distance). What we also liked is the environmental consciousness both Fabienne and Serge possess. All in all the retreat surpassed our expectations and we can highly recommend it. We definately would go back should we be in that area of South Africa again.

Room Tip: Guesthouse Number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miami33129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We only had one night at Kwalucia but the little time we had there was first class. We were very impressed with the security, setting and standard of accommodation but these were far outshone by the enthusiasm and friendliness of the owners, Serge and Fabienne. Such a lovely and interesting couple!

From our arrival to our departure we were made to feel right at home and nothing was too much trouble-Serge even planned our onward journey for us!

Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the rooms very well kitted out with quality furnishings and handpicked african artefacts. It was evident from every corner of the property how much care had been taken in its design.

B&B doesn't quite say enough, expect a lovely boutique hotel but with a homely, friendly feel. We only wish we could have stayed longer and got to know our hosts better.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
0.4 mi away
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat

Address: 17 Katonkel Av, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: £82 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat has 4 exclusive African style en suite rooms all of which have a private patio leading onto a romantic tropical garden. Suites are furnished with comfortable 2 extra-long twin beds or 1 extra-long king size bed. All suites are equipped with bar fridge, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning, ceiling fans, window insect screens, wall safe, hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers, beach towels and electrical heat blankets to keep you toasty warm during the winter nights. All bathrooms are equipped with a large walk-in shower,a hand-wash basin and a Victorian free standing bath. Kwalucia is situated within a safe walking distance (just watch out for the hippos at night) from the main street where numerous restaurants are situated to cater all your desires. English,French,Dutch, Spanish and Catalan spoken.Owner management. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing