We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and inspiring” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Ranked #1 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
“Fantastic and inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

The stay, the rooms, the surrounding nature, the host were absolutely fantastic! Serge, the host, his enthousiasm and his stories are really inspiring. The rooms are really wonderfull, such as the breakfast and the swimming pool. A nice cool off after a trip to the beautiful St Lucia wetlands and the Hluhluwe reserve. We travelled 18 days in South-Africa and the nature of St Lucia and surroundings is the most beautiful we've seen. We come back one day, that's for sure :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoreP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
154
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Because of the exeptional reviews about Kwalucia B&B and the numberous leisure-time possibilities in St. Lucia and surroundings we booked three nights in this fabulous place, and no reason was given to regret! The accommodation is cozy, stylish and affectionately furnished right down to the last detail. Serge, the host, gave us many usefull and handy tips of how to exploit our stay here: Dreamlike beaches, extraordinary flora and fauna, and also those fascinating talks with Serge drinking wonderful South African wine made the time pass much too quickly. An absolute Highlight on our South Africa Trip! We are looking forward to visit St. Lucia and the Kwalucia Safari Retreat again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

When we arrived at Kwalucia we were immediately strike by the atmosphere….A true African gem situated in the small village of St Lucia. A place where nature is a priority and comfort associate with luxury is obvious. Here you will really feel the melting of 2 worlds: The warm African style and decor and the Western attention to details and comfort. Every rooms is decorated in a beautiful African style, basketry, wooden and stone carving ,painting ,bead works…. the love of the African Art is everywhere. It’s ideally situated , 2 minutes by car from the entrance gate of Isimangaliso Wetlands Park and the beaches and 2 minutes by foot from the main street and the restaurants. Fabienne and Serge are 2 passionate host. They knows Africa very well and all their advises and knowledge about the area were very helpful, they have organized all our activities. During all our stay we couldn’t believe how Fabienne and Serge were dedicated, passionate, professionals and they haven’t spare any efforts to make our stay the most memorable one and we had the true impression to be already part of the family. The breakfasts were gorgeous and in abundance. That evening around the fire with a good glass of South African wine,our conversations in all simplicity but with open heart will stay in our memories for a long time.Thank you Fabienne and Serge to have share with us your passion for Africa and your sense of respect for the wilderness and the wildlife in general. We will definitively come back at this very unique and awesome place called Kwalucia.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belqique
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at the Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat in August 2010 and keep unforgettable memories about our 2 days in this luxury lodge. The welcome was perfect and Serge (the owner) did his utmost to make us feeling like at home, he is really friendly and helpful, knows Africa very well and can give a lot of advices and tips on what to do and to discover in the country.
The rooms are beautiful, decorated in a pure "African" spirit. The garden is luxury, and the breakfast excellent !! Needless to say that we will recommend Kwalucia to our friends and family and we do hope to come back -one day- for a second "king" stay in St Lucia! Thanks to Serge and Fabienne to their warm hospitality !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Wow! We were greeted by the most beautiful, lush indigenous garden as we entered Kwalucia. Rooms are very comfortableare and stylishly decorated in the African spirit. Service levels are top drawer - Serge (the owner) is very hospitable and knowledgeable on the area. Situated close to the main road with lots of restaurants, yet perfectly quite and relaxing - it feels like you are far away from any town. We will definitely go again, Kwalucia is a real gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johann_pretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

The owner, Serge, has designed and built this lodge himself to a high specification and there are many personal touches which are well considered and demonstrate a no expense spared approach. He is clearly very passionate about his eco credentials and we consider ourselves fortunate to have discovered this gem in the heart of St Lucia. More expensive than other guest houses but you get what you pay for and this is the only 5 star rated accommodation in St Lucia - we would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#13 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat

Property: Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Address: 17 Katonkel Av, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat is an exclusive African Safari Retreat born from the combination of the Zulu spirit and the passion for unspoiled wilderness. Located in St Lucia,the only private village in Southern Africa to be completely surrounded by a Natural World Heritage Site. St Lucia is part of the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, covering a area of 332 000 hectares . (Formely the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park).Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat has 4 exclusives African style en suite rooms all of which have private patio leading onto a lush romantic tropical garden with indigenous trees.Kwalucia is situated within a safe walking distance (just watch out for the hippos at night) from the main street where numerous restaurants are situated to cater all your desires. English,French,Dutch, Spanish and Catalan spoken.Owner management. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing