We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lodge but some complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Lucia Safari Lodge
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Lodge but some complaints”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The place was very neat and Tidy. The thing I did not like when they kept knocking at the door telling us to keep the noise volume low. The reason we came was to have fun and we were restricted in that way, it was not like we were screaming but playing the board game 30 seconds was a problem.
Even playing music was a problem. We were not informed about the noise policy when we booked in otherwise we wouldn't have booked the place because the reason we came was to socialise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mashnee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSLKZN, Owner at St. Lucia Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are really disappointed that you have complaints as a result of our request that you tone down the noise. We had 3 complaints from the Lodge next door, our neighbours, we cannot ignore such requests. Hope you understand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    86
    56
    20
    11
See reviews for
101
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Thank you for the great service, helpful staff, value for money. We had an awesome and memorable weekend. The organistation of the boat trip was professionally done. We highly recommend this place for any family or friendly outing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Room6 is not a 'welcome on holiday " room - sometimes it is the small things that add value.
The bathroom door is old and broken, squicks...which was a terrible if someone uses the bathroom when you are sleeping.
The division between the rooms is of poor quality which did not feel safe to use.
The basin and shower water does not work properly
Broken brick
The kitchen is outdated and not so good looking.
Unfortunately I expected better from a 3 star accommodation.

Locations was good and outdoors is great.
Grateful that the kettle was replaced when the other one stopped working.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Lucia hotels

Durban
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thank you for the great service, helpful staff , assisting with value for money activity bookings. We had a great weekend - kids already talking about a summer holiday stay. Wi if freely available, meant I could also get some urgent business done.
Easy accessible to all activities. Safety and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at St Lucia Safari Lodge. It is clean and walking distance from the town. The people are friendly and pleasant. Pricing is excellent. We recommend staying at St Lucia Safari Lodge.


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Firstly I must say that this was the worst weekend that I have had spent with my family.



Reason being: When you book a five sleeper one would expect that all five members sleep in one apartment NO but we each had to sleep in different apartments meaning my wife and I shared one apartment and my daughter and her husband shared another apartment and my other daughter had to sleep all by herself in a different apartment. When families make booking of this nature they expect to be staying together in one apartment not in different apartments. They had no excess to the TV or to the kitchen. Especially with kids they like to stay up to late at night and watch TV or have something to nibble on.



Your add on the intranet says that the apartment comes full with DSTV which it didn’t. We could only watch SABC 1,2,3 and ETV which the picture the was not clear.

It also says that you have free Wi-Fi which we didn’t have.



We had no remotes for the air conditioner and the TV whereby we had to pay in a cash deposit of R300-00 which we got back on departure.



We all had a bath in one apartment because of the other bath facilities were block in the sense that the water was not going through the drain.

It was flooding the shower.



On Saturday evening we decided to have a roast and that’s when we had more drama.

The stove seem to be faulty and it kept on tripping the circuit breaker.

We had to keep on calling the lady from the office to reset the circuit breaker.

In the end we cancelled or plans and had to eat boiled food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSLKZN, Owner at St. Lucia Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Mr Pillay,

Please accept my apologies for this situation that occurred:
We will in future be more clear about the layout of the specific unit

Your intial request was for 5 adults in a six sleeper unit. Our normal 6 sleeper unit layout is as follows: Open plan unit with 4 single beds plus one room of to the side with a double bed. One bathroom with toilet, shower and bath. As his booking was for 5 adults we assumed that you would be more comfortable with our six sleeper house (more privacy), three separate rooms each with own toilet and shower and a central lounge and kitchen.
Drain Blockages:
We have had many bookings in this unit for the last month we have not had any complaints of drains overflowing , our manager checked this personally and found no blockages.

Stove tripping:
We could only have it repaired on Monday as it is impossible to get someone out on a Sunday, we tried to call out our local electrician but he was unavailable, as we are 30km from the nearest electrician. What had caused the problem was a faulty stove plate.

Free WI-FI:
We will make sure that the process to access the codes and the free WI-Fi is clearly communicated in future

Remotes: These are taken by clients, to ensure we do not need to buy new ones every Monday we ask a deposit to ensure that the remotes are returned, a standard practice at many establishments

TV: Our website is clear about this and that you need to bring your own Decoder if you want to have access to DSTV, nowhere do we state "Full DSTV Included" We are in the process to upgrade our TV signals so that better picture quality will be available in future for SABC 1-3 and eTV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Location is excellent, but the self-catering units can be upgraded a bit. The extra bedding provided rather looks terrible. The receptionist is extremely friendly and very kind. No DSTV, so you need to bring your own decoder.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapetownRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake St Lucia Villas
Lake St Lucia Villas
#24 of 32 in St Lucia
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#14 of 29 in St Lucia
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#5 of 32 in St Lucia
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucia Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Safari Lodge

Property: St. Lucia Safari Lodge
Address: 103 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucia Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lucia Safari Lodge is situated on the North East Coast of South Africa in the scenic town of Saint Lucia. It boasts 27 rooms of which 15 are 4 to 6 sleeper self catering units and 12 Bed and Breakfast Units. Siant Lucia is surrounded by South Africa's first world Heritage Site, initially named as The Saint Lucia Wetlands Park. Visit Game Parks, do Whale Watching, Snorkelling, Kayaking and plenty more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Lucia Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing