We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not soo great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Lucia Safari Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Not soo great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Your african lady was extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were not so great, blinds in bathroom was broken - so privacy was limited and rather uncomfortable. Found a few things not in working order. Stove very slow and old. Stayed for 5 days - carpets got quite dirty and there was no equipment to clean up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Requel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSLKZN, General Manager at St. Lucia Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly I wish to apologise that you are not 100% satisfied with your stay at St. Lucia Safari Lodge. I am really disappointed that our lodge staff did not address your concerns immediately, and, further, this situation should never have occurred.

We are in the process of renovating and replacing all older equipment, all appliances are supposed to have been checked to ensure that they are in good working condition, I will be investigating this and introduce measures to improve the accurate checking of rooms prior to guests arriving

All Chalets have subsequently been equipped with cleaning supplies

Our Lodge is under new management and we are pulling out all the stops to make our guests’ experiences unforgettable, watch this space!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    84
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
98
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Overall, a lovely room, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only issues worth mentioning is that no bath or hand towels were provided, the stove doesnt work propery (grill is broken) and there are not many utensils to cook with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank J.r. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSLKZN, General Manager at St. Lucia Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JR Thank you for your review - We are in the process of replacing all older equipment, all appliances and amenities – including the hand/bath towels are supposed to have been checked prior to your arrival, I will be investigating this and introduce measures to improve the accurate checking of rooms prior to guests arriving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

No cleaning services where provided...friday to monday. Not providing towels is a problem especially holidaying in a seaside town. No TV remote provided. Dust on facebrick walls was a problem...should think of plastering those walls in bedroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Haffez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a great time. Excellent value for money. The only concern I have, was that we were a big group looking to party for most of our stay there and there are strict noise "rules" for after 10pm. Great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hi, a big thank you Johan for your amazing hospitality. The way you went the extra mile to accomadate us when we told you that we were not used to such an open plan cottage was beyond just customer service. You made our stay an unforgettable relaxing experience and the folks enjoyed it so much, that im afraid they will want us to take them again sometime. We certainly wouldnt mind the trip back there at all. Thank you once again, to you and your staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Overall experience was amazing. Great place to get away from the daily stresses and walking distance from shops and eateries. Lovely quiet place to relax and just enjoy time with the family. Would definitely go again in future given the chance. The Hippo/Croc cruise and animal safari's are a must. All you need to take is your food and clothes - all the facilties provided (cooking and bedding,etc) is in good form and no need to take.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

St Lucia is one of the beautiful holiday destinations in South Africa. The lodge is conveniently located in the town. The lodge was very clean neat and peaceful and the Manager went out of his way to make our stay GREAT!!!!!! Thank You!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabianbag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#14 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake St Lucia Villas
Lake St Lucia Villas
#24 of 32 in St Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucia Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Safari Lodge

Property: St. Lucia Safari Lodge
Address: 103 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucia Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lucia Safari Lodge is situated on the North East Coast of South Africa in the scenic town of Saint Lucia. It boasts 27 rooms of which 15 are 4 to 6 sleeper self catering units and 12 Bed and Breakfast Units. Siant Lucia is surrounded by South Africa's first world Heritage Site, initially named as The Saint Lucia Wetlands Park. Visit Game Parks, do Whale Watching, Snorkelling, Kayaking and plenty more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Lucia Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing