We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family accommodation”
Review of Macadamia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macadamia Lodge
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family accommodation”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent Christmas at Macadamia Lodge, and it was a lovely experience. Lucy and her family are marvellous hosts - they are very welcoming and well-informed about the local area and more widely in the province. They had even put up some Christmas decorations, which our children particularly appreciated, being a very long way from home. There are many activities available locally (we particularly enjoyed iSimangaliso Wetlands park and the hippo and croc cruise) but equally Macadamia Lodge is a lovely place just to relax - the kids spent ages in the pool while we sipped coffee or sundowners. The cottage was very comfortable and there's lots of space around for children to play.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GAINESVILLE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We spent four nights at Macadamia Lodge and had an extremely wonderful and memorable trip. Cold/rainy weather kept us from whale watching and snorkeling, but did not keep us from successful gameviewing ventures at Hluhluwe iMofolozi and iSimangaliso Wetland Park. I had to make an emergency trip to the dentist and Lucy and Pat were quick to recommend an excelling one in Mtubatuba. After a trip there, I was referred to a specialist in Durban. Lucy was kind enough to drive with us - well above and beyond the duties of a hostess! Unfortunately my tooth prevented me from participating in a yoga class with Pat, but the kindness, generosity, and knowledge of Lucy and her folks made what could have been extremely stressful an absolute breeze. The accommodation is beautiful, clean, quiet, extremely reasonably priced and has everything you might need. The host family is friendly and welcoming and I highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area. I look forward to my next visit to Macadamia Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank BABN97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port au Prince
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed here as a woman traveling alone and was made to feel like part of the family! The place is beautiful, the surroundings are stunning. The cottage I stayed in was lovely and great value for money. The home cooked food was delicious and I enjoyed the friendly company! I definitely recommend staying here, the best place in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeliaPortauPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Wrecked after a long day on the road we pulled into the Macadamia Lodge just outside St. Lucia on the Mtubatuba Road. The welcoming hosts and countryside calm instantly revived us. With the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, beaches and St. Lucia town so near and golf and yoga on its doorstep we thought we might stay 4 nights and reluctantly checked out after 10. The cottages are comfortable, clean and have private garden areas. The breakfast is fantastic but if you prefer to look after yourself the fully equipped self–catering kitchens are a welcome change from the stamp-sized facilities experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Lucia, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I spent 2 nights at Macadamia Lodge in December 2010 and it was wonderful. The location is so peacful and relaxing and the cottages are spotlessly clean, spacious and have wonderful outside space. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and made we feel very much at home. The stunning iSimangaliso Wetland Park is very close by so I was able to explore the park during the day and return at night to relax in the peacful countryside surroundings with a chilled gin and tonic in hand. It was fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Macadamia Lodge was such a great accomodation find, my stay was such a pleasure with such welcoming hosts. The cottage I stayed in was set up beautifully with the option of selfcatering or B&B, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom and kitchen. All rooms were clean and spotless. Macadamias hosts have such a great selection of activities to chose from eg; whale watching, horseriding, day/night game drives, golf, beach, cultural tours etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South AFrica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This lodge has just recently opened and we were the first guests. The hosts made a real effort, the breakfast was wonderful, with fruit from the garden and the home made macadamia nut cookies were to die for - we even got to take some away with us

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallachers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.7 mi away
Little Eden St Lucia
Little Eden St Lucia
#5 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake St Lucia Lodge
Lake St Lucia Lodge
#10 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lake St Lucia Villas
Lake St Lucia Villas
#24 of 32 in St Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#14 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macadamia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macadamia Lodge

Property: Macadamia Lodge
Address: 1st Avenue, Monzi Golf Estate, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Macadamia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing