We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Africa round trip stop over”
Review of Whalesong B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whalesong B&B
Ranked #9 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

During our South Africa round trip we spent 2 nights at this nice place. We had a warm welcome and the owners always have a look that their guest fell themselves well and comfortable. This place can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Such terrific comments are always welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was one of the cleanest B&B's that we stayed at throughout our 3 weeks travelling in South Africa.
Both Colin and Colleen were more than helpful in advising sights to see. Make sure you book the early evening Shaka boat tour while your there.
Lovely pool in beautiful garden setting!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeirdreCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide such terrific comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Whalesong for a couple days and really appreciated the hospitality of Colleen and Colin, felt like home.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet, very relaxing. When we arrived, Colleen went out of her way to confirm our bookings and pick up times for the various tours we had scheduled. Colin also took the time to give us an overview of St. Lucia which was very helpful.

Breakfast was also a treat, the muffins were delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us such fabulous feedback. We just love receiving compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What a wonderful place to find in St Lucia. The owners Colin and Colleen really take pride in their superb establishment. Freshly baked bread and muffins compliment an excellent breakfast. The view from the verandah over the mature garden is stunning. On one of our evenings we witnessed a terrific storm that brought down their Lappa into the swimming pool, this caused a 12 hour power cut. This is when owners are tested, emergency lights were provided advice on which restaurants had emergency power, the next morning the Lappa was being taken apart, well done Colin and Colleen you really were the perfect hosts.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for the fabulous feedback. Well, the lapa has now disappeared and several attempts have been made in an effort to save the water in the pool. Sadly, we are down to the last resort and will be draining the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very nice, knowledgeable and helpful hosts. The guesthouse and garden are great, well maintained, and the breakfast is amazing. We had a great time, very relaxing with lots of tips where to go for dinner and what to see around St Lucia. Can only recommend staying here.

Room Tip: no tips needed, all rooms have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsa212428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback and loved the angle of your picture. We do not often see the garden from that perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We really had a good stay at Whalesong. Col and Col were very friendly and were very willing to answer all our questions about st. Lucia and surroundings. We also really liked the home made cookies in our room (we may have taken some with us on our day trips ;) And the breakfast was great, we loved the home made scones and bread! When they found out that one of us is a vegetarian they actually added a veggie burger to the breakfast the next day.

Room Tip: Don't leave your windows open if you're not in the room. We made that mistake and a monkey c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for your great comments; we strive to make each stay special. The monkey business was a new one for us. We have subsequently installed a screen on the outside of the window so that you may leave the window open without having the worry about monkey or mosquito intruders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A beautiful house, with beautiful rooms and in a beautiful place.
The owners were lovely people, who had very good tips for us and even re-booked our reservations.
The breakfast was great especially the home made bread and muffins

Room Tip: infront site has a more beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheersmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#15 of 29 in St Lucia
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#5 of 29 in St Lucia
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong B&B

Address: 119 Kingfisher Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: £53 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalesong Bed and Breakfast is situated on the Elephant Coast in the heart of the exquisite iSimangaliso World Heritage Site between Lake St Lucia and the Indian Ocean in South Africa. St Lucia won KwaZulu-Natal’s town of the year in 2010 and 2012. It is unique in that it is the only private village in the world that is surrounded by a world heritage site (natural wilderness). This unique village provides the visitor with flexibility, comfort and freedom to come and go with ease. Come and experience our friendly environment where our intention is to ensure you have pleasant and relaxing experience. We offer five spacious air conditioned bedrooms and the en suite bathrooms are luxurious. Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the rooms.Our delicious full English breakfast may be enjoyed in the dining room or on the sun drenched patio. Relax and enjoy sun downers by the pool or on the peaceful terrace at the end of the day. •Free WI-FI•Free secure off road parking is available. •Large screen satellite TV is provided in the lounge.•In our large tropical garden we have a swimming pool and a lapa with braai (barbeque) facilities. •We are less than 1km from the estuary, iSimangaliso Game Reserve, beach, shops and restaurants. •We strive to be as eco-friendly as possible in line with the local environment. Our aim is to leave you with treasured memories of your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Whalesong B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing