We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb steak”
Review of Braza

Braza
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in St Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Braza will take you on a culinary journey making our first port of call in Cape Town. Once we collected some amazing spice from the Capetonians, we set sail to Argentina where we pick up on the char grilling of meat. Sail further north for a short sail we stop in at the land of color and dancing. This is not all Brazil has to offer, this is where we learn to adopt citrus will fresh chilli. Amazing! We set sail continuing our voyage, heading for the Med Sea, stopping at every port and learning authentic cooking ideas. Whatever we cook for you at Braza we will make sure that we have used every bit of knowledge and the love and passion we have for food.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb steak”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I visited this restaurant while on a group tour of South Africa and Swaziland on a recommendation from the tour leader. We dined at the fish restaurant but as I am not keen on fish they kindly allowed me to chose a dish from the other restaurant in the complex. I chose a steak and it was the best steak I have ever had. Good service. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyceFf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    285
    96
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very fresh ingredients”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We ordered different kinds of food from their menu. Everything was tasty and made of freshest ingredients. I would especially recommend their Mozambican style king prawns. Delicious and very inexpensive in comparison to prices in other parts of SA. The service was superb!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The food and service was outstanding. Very Good.

My dad said its the best Dom Pedros in South Africa!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just another chain restaurant”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Chain decor, characterless flourescent lighting, a choice of a table on the balcony overlooking the car park, or inside looking at the pictures that were obviously selected fron the franchisor's standard collection. The first impression suggests that one would be wise to seek a meal elsewhere.
And the first impression would be right. The ribs were more bone than meat, and tasted as if they had been reheated several times. The chips were soggy and floury, and it was impossible to tell if the grey-green veggies had been steamed, boiled or baked. Apparently the peri-peri chicken was delicious and the lamb shank and lamb curry were edible.
In a country of superb wines, why such an unimaginative list?
The experience was saved from a zero rating only by a friendly, attentive and helpful waitress

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris181054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A taste of Portugal”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

St Lucia is blessed with a number of good restaurants and pubs and Braza, while owned by the owner of Ocean Basket, offers a good assortment of Portuguese food. Outdoor seating also makes it a lot cooler in summer. Worth a visit. It's just a pity St Lucia has pushed the price button a little for us local (RSA) folk

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GDTravelsMargateRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Braza also viewed

St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Braza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing