We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
2 reviews
“Beautiful, clean and peaceful”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This lodge is beautiful! Situated only 2 minutes drive away from the main street of this little town St. Lucia, it offers a really peaceful and quiet accommodation with 2 swimming pools, bar, billard table and even view to the sea and to the lagoon of St. Lucia from the deck. The tropical garden offers a path, which leads to a platform into the forrest, from where you can see hippos in the evening :-) We stayed in a spacious self catering Cabana for 4 days and enjoyed our own parking place just in front of our unit as well as our own braai place, the well equipped kitchen and even DSTV! Our Cabana was lovely decorated and the bed was very comfy. We decided to stay one more night and moved in one of the double en-suite rooms, which was also great and with a very huge shower, equipped with DSTV, fridge, kettle & coffee/tea/sugar etc. The lodge is very clean and Amanda is a great host! Since we also have a guesthouse, we know what we are talking about. Thanks for a lovely stay Amanda :-) Anja & Stefan, Elements Lodge, Cape Town

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afrikaafrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for the kind words! I am glad you had a lovely stay.

It was truly a pleasure hosting you in my lovely lodge.

Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    92
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
81
177
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The service here is excellent - the staff are incredibly helpful. The kitchen is very well equipped and our rooms were quiet. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, and my only real complaint is that there is a problem with moisture and it smelled strongly of chemicals - sort of a mothball smell, but likely the chemical dehumidifier. So if you are very sensitive to that I would choose another place. Two of our party had the breakfast and said it was very good, but it was also quite expensive by African standards. The view from the deck is great, but there were no views from our unit. "Downtown" is easily walkable. For laundry, I recommend the place in the old Total station on Dolphin, not the one on McKenzie Street!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words and the compliments! I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
The strong smell you refer to - we used a new type of fragrance in our dehumidifier. It was supposed to smell like lavender, but it was too strong. We have changed back to the odorless brand. Problem solved!
I hope we will see you again in the near future.

Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and the rooms were very comfortable (although as they have a damp problem there was a strong smell of some form of chemical de-humidifier which gave my wife sore eyes). Breakfast was excellent in choice and the ladies were helpful and friendly, as were the management (Leona & Amanda) who gave us useful advice on local restaurants and activities. Our only minor quibble is that we were in the cabanas which are well equipped but have no view at all on to the garden, which was a real shame and made it less of a place to relax. The location is perfect - a 3 minute drive from the main street in Saint Lucia so very accessible but also very peaceful. Good value and would definitely recommend, but check when you book if you want a view over the garden

Room Tip: check when you book if you want a view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest,

My apologies for the strong smell. We used a new fragrance in our dehumidifier. It was supposed to be a soft lavender smell, but it was way too strong. We have changed back to the odorless brand. I am really sorry your wife was affected by this.
I hope we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were impressed with this lodge even before we stayed there. We booked 4 nights and then a few weeks later we wanted to extend our stay to 7 days. They helped us and even when they could not accommodate us in a cabana, they gave us one night in the lodge at the same price than in a cabana - with breakfast included! This was a stop in our honeymoon and they gave us the royal treatment! The cabanas was neat, clean and very comfortable. The cleaning services was thorough everyday. We received a free Hippo & Croc boat cruise with Shakabarker on our last day. This was just lovely and a perfect ending to a perfect honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarliJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We have stayed in various places in St Lucia over the last few years and Ndiza is definately coming out tops. Service is excellent, Leona in particular was very good. Rooms are very comfortable, and the view from the top deck is spectacular. Location is good, St Lucia is not a big place so you cant really go wrong. Breakfast was great, as well as the honesty bar and pool table. Great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were greeted very warmly and made comfortable. Sadly, we had only one night in this idyllic setting. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy the bar, decks and beautiful views, but we got the idea! Because we were leaving before breakfast, the staff packed us a huge take-away which lasted the whole day! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weimar, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The building and the garden are very beautiful. The breakfast is made with love, enough and delicious. To down town St. Lucia you have to walk a few meters, but its an nice walk. Take care when coming back at night. There are hippos roaming around. We saw hippos two times direct in front of the entrance an in the neighborhood.

Leona, Amanda and their stuff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and comfortable. We had a great time there. BIG suggestion.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#5 of 32 in St Lucia
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas

Property: Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Address: 153 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Video available: https://youtu.be/ijrAv3ntETE Ndiza Lodge is a privately owned and intimate establishment committed to service and quality as well as dedicated personal attention while hosting guests in beautiful South Africa. You will leave Ndiza with cherished memories and experiences. Ndiza offers up market and tastefully decorated accommodation bordering iSimangaliso Wetland Park (formerly known as St Lucia Wetland Park), with real hospitality while ensuring your privacy and comfort, as well as a panoramic view of the ocean and famous Lake St Lucia.You will find Ndiza Lodge nestled onto the verge of the Wetlands situated on the Elephant Coast. With easy access to the Restaurants, Supermarkets and rest of the town, yet private and quiet. This ideal location makes Ndiza Lodge your best choice for exclusive accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing