We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises

Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St Lucia Estuary with its residential Hippo and Nile Crocodile makes for great boat cruise excursions, get close and witness a wildlife wonder, African Eagles perched high awaiting a quick snack.
Denham, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have booked the sunset cruise which was a great experience because the hippos are waking up and are very active. Plenty of crocodiles and birds were around, too. We got to see how the hippos lined up in the water to get on shore and were ready to walk all the way up to town. And it is true we even saw a hippo downtown at night, pretty incredible and not dangerous if you keep your distance!!!!! So keep your distance if you see one and you will be fine ;)!
On top of that it was a really good price.
Saint Lucia is definitely worth visiting!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Apologies for the late reply... Thank you so much for taking the time for such a lovely review. will be sure to pass on the compliments to our team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    31
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hippo watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The guide was very clued up and informative. We saw lots of crocs and many hippos. Very interesting and enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 527Janet511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Manager at Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Apologies for the late reply... Thank you so much for taking the time for such a lovely review. will be sure to pass on the compliments to our team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We did the 2 hour cruise on a drizzly morning but thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the sightings. Our guide was full of interesting information and facts and we saw a good selection of birds as well as several groups of hippos and a few crocs. It was a very relaxed trip and we would definitely do it again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Manager at Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises, responded to this review, 30 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time and for such a lovely review :) I will be sure to pass on the compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great way to see the hippos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The day we went it was drizzling and most of the hippos were sleeping in big pods but when you are on vacation and are in an area for a limited amount of time you have to do what you intend even if the weather isn't going to cooperate. It was a very nice ride down the river but on a cold or rainy day , dress warm. We got to see lots of hippos, one croc (too cold for the crocs) and lots of birds. We were happy we did the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank purebliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises, responded to this review, 30 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time and for such a lovely review :) I will be sure to pass on the compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We travelled down the river to view 3 pods of hippos in their natural environment. The Captain was incredibly knowledgable and referenced hippo facts along with the natural surroundings, wildlife in the area and even managed to find a croc in the long grass!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Manager at Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time for a great review, much appreciated :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises also viewed

 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Shoreline Hippo and Croc Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing