We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Turtle Tour”

Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Extreme Nature Tours and Travel is a family-owned tour operator based in Saint Lucia South Africa, run by brothers Charl and Peter Koen. We both have backgrounds as conservationists and have worked as game rangers in several parks in South Africa. We offer a huge variety of tours and safaris, from day trips to longer itineraries. We also provide a travel service where we arrange accommodation, routes and activities to ensure a smooth vacation in South Africa. We also offer Safaris from Richards Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Terrific Turtle Tour”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We embarked on the overnight Turtle Tour that Extreme Nature Tours offer, on Bhanga Nek beach in the Kosi Bay area. This was the during the egg-laying season and not the hatching season.

The entire booking process was exceptionally easy and Peter helped us with every query we had. Our guide was Rick who has a depth of knowledge about the turtles, and the region in general. He is very easy going and always has something interesting to say. This made our 4 hour trip from St Lucia very enjoyable.

The accommodation was rustic but clean and beautiful traditional African thatch huts, and set in what must be one of the most amazing, unpopulated regions in the world. The food was also great and we really needed nothing else.

That night, it soon became clear that finding turtles was not going to be an easy task, but with Rick's relentless enthusiasm and quite a bit of walking/jogging on the beach in the moonlight, we eventually got up-close and personal once the turtle was in an egg-laying trance.

The next morning we got to see the beautiful beach in the daylight and swam in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean, before a pleasant trip back to St Lucia the next afternoon.

It was a fantastic once-in-a-lifetime experience and I will certainly be returning some time in the future to see the little guys hatching!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    7
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great adventure!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked a trip for 7 of us with Extreme Nature Tours- all adults ranging from 26 to 50+. Peter helped put together an amazing 5 day adventure. We had 2 guides to ourselves, Rick and Ian, both terrific. Ricks enthusiasm, knowledge and love of the environment in particular can't help but inspire and added a wonderful glow to the trip. As it was a personalised trip we were able to change arrangements as we went to suit how we felt and the weather. Nothing was ever a problem.
We had 2 days in Maputoland to see the turtles lay their eggs and 2 days in Ponta Do Oura in Mozambique to swim with the dolphins. We had 2 amazing swims with the dolphins, such a special experience. On the way up we also went through the Umfolozi/Hluhuwe Game Reserve and then the Tembe Elephant park on the way back.
If you love nature and being in the natural environment you will love this trip. it was a great value trip considering we had 2 knowledgeable guides to look after us every step of the way. We were well looked after every minute. We have lots of special memories thank you guys!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
“Memorable trip with professional guide”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The safari tour in Hluhluwe-Imfolozi park on last August was a memorable experience for us, the four tourists from VietNam. The landscape was beautiful and exotic. We were extremely lucky, encountering elephants (a few), zebra (a lot), baboons (entire herds), giraffe (one or two), rhinos (many), and even a cheetah ! Boat trip to see crocodiles and hippos was satisfying. Many thanks to our guide, Rik (we are sorry not to have him in our photos with us), he was very kind and professional. Housing at St-Lucia was nice and comfortable. I think the tour is a little bit too short and I feel a little bit frustrated not to be able to spend more time there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TV_Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great day with an excellent guide”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had a day trip from St Lucia which travelled to iSimangaliso Nature Reserve and Cape Vidal.
The group I was with where avid bird watchers and our guide, Rick, made sure that the not so avid twitchers weren't overlooked. The wildlife and scenery were great, and varied.
The bbq lunch provided was excellent with a variety of fresh salads prepared by our guide as we tried to spot whales breaching off the coast.The selection of wine and cheese to accompany it was a pleasant surprise and much appreciated.

What made the day so engaging was Ricks in-depth knowledge on plants, wildlife and the region - and his willingness to share it with the group.
There was 9 in our group (a hiking group travelling with Exodus UK) and he ensured everyone's interested were catered for.

Whilst it was winter when I visited you should take a hat, sunscreen and a camera. A warm jacket and beanie for the return drive came in handy as the sun goes down.
Beach towels were provided for those who wanted to swim at Cape Vidal.

I can highly recommend this day trip - a big thanks to Rick - you definately made the day worthwhile.
And a huge thanks for finding my prescription sunglasses which I dropped in the vehicle - with 2 weeks still left to travel it was much appreciated!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic trip”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We would like to thank Peter & Ian for the lovely privet trip + safari they arranged for us during our stay at S.lucia .
Effy & Noga Perry,
Israel

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank effy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
Hi Effy and Noga
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours also viewed

 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing