We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Vidal with Snorkeling Tour”

Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Extreme Nature Tours and Travel is a family-owned tour operator based in Saint Lucia South Africa, run by brothers Charl and Peter Koen. We both have backgrounds as conservationists and have worked as game rangers in several parks in South Africa. We offer a huge variety of tours and safaris, from day trips to longer itineraries. We also provide a travel service where we arrange accommodation, routes and activities to ensure a smooth vacation in South Africa. We also offer Safaris from Richards Bay
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cape Vidal with Snorkeling Tour”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was a great tour. Rik, our guide, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. My son (9 yrs old) was a little nervous snorkeling but Rik payed close attention to him and they became buddies. Really enjoyed this day tour and highly recommend it. I Wish we had done the overnight turtle tour too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenDille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    7
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family, 2 adults + 2 kids, 10 and 12, recently went with Extreme Nature Tours to see the turtles. We met our fantastic guide Rick at Tembe Elephant Park for a game drive and then spent the night at Bhanga Nek. The experience was exceptional in every way. Rick was fantastic and made the trip extremely enjoyable and seeing the turtles laying their eggs was unforgettable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bugsy54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahmoor, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not just the game reserve but the tour company we used”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked a group from a cruise ship with www.extremenaturetours.co.za and dealt with Charl who was so marvellous with all his assistance. We were collected from the ship at the exact time and driven in separate vehicles to the game reserve where we stopped for a bathroom break and them started the safari. The vehicles all went in different directions but kept in contact to advise the best places for the different animals and therefore we were able to see all of them. We stopped for a BBQ lunch with great views across the area and this lunch was one of the best picnics we have had. Everything was so clean and well prepared We each had a box of salad separately and then had as much of the cooked items as we required plus rolls and butter and many different drinks. Fruit available afterwards if you had room. We then continued the safari and eventually returned to the ship via a 'pub' where our driver treated us all to a beer.
I cannot say enough about how helpful and businesslike with humour Charl was and I would recommend him for this particular Game Reserve if you would like to pre book from Richards Bay port

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prudence-kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Terrific Turtle Tour”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We embarked on the overnight Turtle Tour that Extreme Nature Tours offer, on Bhanga Nek beach in the Kosi Bay area. This was the during the egg-laying season and not the hatching season.

The entire booking process was exceptionally easy and Peter helped us with every query we had. Our guide was Rick who has a depth of knowledge about the turtles, and the region in general. He is very easy going and always has something interesting to say. This made our 4 hour trip from St Lucia very enjoyable.

The accommodation was rustic but clean and beautiful traditional African thatch huts, and set in what must be one of the most amazing, unpopulated regions in the world. The food was also great and we really needed nothing else.

That night, it soon became clear that finding turtles was not going to be an easy task, but with Rick's relentless enthusiasm and quite a bit of walking/jogging on the beach in the moonlight, we eventually got up-close and personal once the turtle was in an egg-laying trance.

The next morning we got to see the beautiful beach in the daylight and swam in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean, before a pleasant trip back to St Lucia the next afternoon.

It was a fantastic once-in-a-lifetime experience and I will certainly be returning some time in the future to see the little guys hatching!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great adventure!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked a trip for 7 of us with Extreme Nature Tours- all adults ranging from 26 to 50+. Peter helped put together an amazing 5 day adventure. We had 2 guides to ourselves, Rick and Ian, both terrific. Ricks enthusiasm, knowledge and love of the environment in particular can't help but inspire and added a wonderful glow to the trip. As it was a personalised trip we were able to change arrangements as we went to suit how we felt and the weather. Nothing was ever a problem.
We had 2 days in Maputoland to see the turtles lay their eggs and 2 days in Ponta Do Oura in Mozambique to swim with the dolphins. We had 2 amazing swims with the dolphins, such a special experience. On the way up we also went through the Umfolozi/Hluhuwe Game Reserve and then the Tembe Elephant park on the way back.
If you love nature and being in the natural environment you will love this trip. it was a great value trip considering we had 2 knowledgeable guides to look after us every step of the way. We were well looked after every minute. We have lots of special memories thank you guys!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charl_Koen, Owner at Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are finally able to respond to reviews again after issues with log in details, so all apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your review, it was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for 2015 from the Extreme Nature Tours team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Extreme Nature Tours and Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing