We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont expect much from this” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of iSimangaliso Wetland Park

iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$235.27*
and up
St Lucia Wetlands Day Trip from Durban Including Estuary Boat Ride
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in St Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dont expect much from this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We did an evening game drive here, but saw very little. The guides however,from heritage tours,were excellent and well informed, but maybe we were just unlucky. We went again 2 days later on a full day which included a lovely stop with a bbq lunch at cape Vidal.there doesn't appear to be much game viewing in the park,but it is a nice trip all the same

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doconconference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    260
    70
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hippos run fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We had a night drive on the western shores. Seeing hippos out of the water is amazing and they run really fast. We even saw a pack of hyenas wondering around the road. They gave us all the time for a good look.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A bushbaby waiting for us to say goodbye!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The variety of animals you can see, the nature, the night game drive, the fact that it is close to St Lucia.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook Beach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss a visit to this quiet park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We drove with a small car and the roads are fine. Unfortunately one road was closed to visitors due to flooding before our arrival. At 8:30 in the morning there were very few cars in the park and it almost felt like the park belonged to you only. We spotted many buck, giraffes, warthogs, jackal, hippos and even the bird life is excellent! Unfortunately the big 5 avoided us on the day. The map is a good guide and all spots of interest well marked. The aerial board walk is a must see and wheelchair friendly. The toilets are clean with liquid soap for your hands and lots of toilet paper. I wish we had time for a night drive!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Western Shore delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have visited the western shore which was recently opened. The hides and facilities are top quality and we enjoyed seeing many hippos in the pools. We also saw giraffes, water bucks, reed bucks, red duikers, zebras, wildebeest, kudus etc... We did not see many cars so wonder if people know that the western shore is now open. Will definitely return soon!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed iSimangaliso Wetland Park also viewed

 

Been to iSimangaliso Wetland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing