We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Particular views and habitats” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of iSimangaliso Wetland Park

iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$228.34*
and up
St Lucia Wetlands Day Trip from Durban Including Estuary Boat Ride
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in St Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Particular views and habitats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have had just an excursion in this park and we have seen many animals with a resting family of rhinos very close to us on top of the list! Beautyful views and habitats.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fox66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    263
    70
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely view in the Wetland Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My sister and I drove into the park by ourselves. The streets were alright for a small car and we had a great time there.
Apparently you could get lucky and even see big cats and rhinos in there, but we only saw some Impalas and Pumbas didn't make our day there any worse.
The whole surrounding is worth going there and you shouldn't miss driving up to the beach where monkeys will just casually walk with you when you go for a walk there. There's a few viewing points which are worth a little stop as well as you can get closer into the nature and to the lake.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
603 reviews
354 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Great Place to See Animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We did a wetlands tour here and explored the estuary looking for hippos, crocodiles and several species of water birds. The trip was a great success with lots of hippo sightings, several crocodiles lazing on the shore as well as several water birds including a fish eagle. The park has lots to offer and it is certainly well worth taking one of the tour boats - the guides are well informed and know where to find the animals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank trainfan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful wildlife experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you are in the area a visit to this park is a must. Cape Vidal is divine and the combination of the ocean and the veld is a match made in heaven. Great accessible game viewing and the snorkeling isn't too bad either.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Wonderful area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent two days in this area and were able to enjoy a day safari to Cape Vidal, a night safari, river tour and catch some whale watching. What an amazing place packed full of a little bit of everything. There was so much to see and take in and the wildlife is outstanding. I just loved looking around and taking it all In. Our guides were knowledgeable and able to share the fascinating information of how the area has developed and how much range it has. It truly deserves it's World Heritage Site label.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed iSimangaliso Wetland Park also viewed

 

Been to iSimangaliso Wetland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing