We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view of Hippos”

St Lucia Ski Boat Club
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in St Lucia
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The name says it is a club but the restaurant /pub is open to the public. It has a fantastic view from the outside tables where you can watch hippos, corcs and more. I would like to write a review for this, I also have photos.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely view of Hippos”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Such a lovely venue, nice and casual. Good food, and always enjoy coming to club. Will recommend to all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    267
    114
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meal With a View”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

During our recent week long stay in St Lucia my hubby and I must have been here 4 times at least. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and nothing can beat the beautiful view over the estuary. They serve mainly 'pub grub' which was very tasty - not one complaint from us. Of course the ice cold Stella Artois was also most welcome. Would definately return here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarahvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hippo viewing”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Best location to sit and have a drink as the sun goes down and watch the hippos emerge form the water to graze. Excellent clay oven pizzas! Prices are reasonable but agree with another review .. the wine range is non existent and the wine served by the glass i wouldn't drink. I do believe that they are in the process of bringing in a new supplier. Friendly pub.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jc26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK not more”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The place has been recommended by our guesthouse owner in St. Lucia. The restaurant has a great location. The food was very dissapointing. I have ordered a steak which was as tough as leather and served with tasteless and overcooked vegatables. Even the glas of wine which i have ordered was aweful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voorschoten,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“location top, food basic”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

You can wee crocodile's and hippo's from their terrace, so that is great. The food however is basis English pub food, Steak was very well done with horrible fries. Just go there for a drink and maybe a snack.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank anjaVoorschoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Lucia Ski Boat Club also viewed

St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to St Lucia Ski Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing