We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Ranked #15 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We really had a wonderful time in Marlin Lodge. Johan& Sonet are so friendly and made us feel at home plus they helped organise all the trips around St. Lucia. Breakfast is excellent and room very pretty- amazing stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wiebke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinLodgeStLucia, Owner at Marlin Lodge St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello Wiebke

It was wonderful meeting you while staying in ST Lucia. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Marlin Lodge St Lucia. Would love to hear about your camping experience in Hluhluwe.
All the best and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Sonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have been travelling through South Africa for 4 weeks and we found out that St. Lucia is one of the best places to go to in SA. There are so many things to do (safari, whale watching, boattrip on the river e.d.)
Based on the advice of other tripadvisor-users we chose to stay in Marlin Lodge for 4 nights. We found out that all the superlatives used to describe this accomodation were true.
First of all, the hosts Johan and Sonet are just too kind, they want to and can help you with all the questions you have. Since Johan works as a tourguide as well, he will probably be able to answer all your questions about the flora and fauna the region.
The rooms are very clean and quite spacious. The breakfast is extensive and good.

Concluding, we really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely come back if we happen to visit South-Africa again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinLodgeStLucia, Owner at Marlin Lodge St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Marius

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful town. It was a pleasure having you stay in our home.
All the best with your studies and keep us in mind when you are a very well known Engineer :-).
Come back soon.
Regards
Johan & Sonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very good hospitality, good coffee and the feeling of being at home. Small and friendly service, clean, nice swimming pool and a relax atmosphere. Lodge blend well with the St Lucia atmosphere, and there are so many things to do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hanro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinLodgeStLucia, Owner at Marlin Lodge St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Hanro
It was great having you stay at our B&B. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Johan & Sonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was our first visit to St Lucia and will not be our last.
Sonnet welcomed us on our arrival and made us feel right at home straight away. Our rooms were clean,tidy and comfortable. We had plenty of trips to keep us busy and Johans tours on the river are a must !!
Their breakfasts made a perfect start to the day.
Their chats in the lounge sharing our experiences made the perfect end.
They are both very knowledgable and cannot fault this stay in any way.Perfection is hard to find and we found it here !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinLodgeStLucia, Manager at Marlin Lodge St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi guys

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure having you stay at Marlin Lodge. Cara certainly enjoyed all the attention she received from the boys.
Please do come and visit us again soon, and then the guys can go deepsea fishing.
We will make sure we have some elephants for you to take home :-)
Greetings from a sunny ST Lucia
Johan & Sonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and would highly recommend it. The owners/hosts are great, and will arrange all your trips in the area. Sonet makes an awesome breakfast to start your day right. We also felt safe and secure here, and there is an enjoyable lawn garden area outside the rooms. I wish we had spent more time in St. Lucia, it's a small town with a lot to see in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinLodgeStLucia, Owner at Marlin Lodge St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi Matt
We glad you enjoyed your stay.
Please do visit us again should you visit South Africa again.
Regards
Sonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Sonnet and Johan are really wonderfull and really like what they do, great enthausiasm to help you to enjoy Saint Lucia and make you feel at home. Johan runs a separate touring operation, with good tours in the estuary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Onno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinLodgeStLucia, Owner at Marlin Lodge St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hallo Onno
Thank you so much for the compliment.
You and your family are great people.
Hope to see you again soon in St Lucia.
Regards
Johan & Sonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The lodge we rent was very clean the food was good, the ownwers where very nice and good people, the gamedrives where nice, in one word PERFECT.
When we'll come back we wil go to Marlin Lodge, it was peacefull and very quiet.

Room Tip: The room was clean and quiet and the owners where briljant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinLodgeStLucia, Owner at Marlin Lodge St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hi Nick
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
It was a pleasure accommodating you.
Please do pay us a visit again.
Regards
Johan & Sonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.6 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#12 of 29 in St Lucia
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#5 of 29 in St Lucia
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Lodge St Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Lodge St Lucia

Address: 62 Garrick Ave, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: £46 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlin Lodge St Lucia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Lodge St Lucia is a 3 star B&B and is situated in the tranquil and tropical village of St. Lucia on the banks of the St. Lucia estuary, the area is surrounded by the Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park, A World Heritage Site. We offer 6 well appointed, comfortable and fully serviced en-suite rooms, the rooms have a ceiling fan and a private terrace overlooking the garden. All rooms have their own separate outside entrance. For a family there is a spacious family room with a separate room for the children sharing a bathroom with separate toilet. Tea and coffee is available in dining area at all times. A laundry service is available. A swimming pool, and barbeque facilities are also present at the guesthouse. Enjoy a delicious full breakfast with us whilst lunch and dinner is available from a variety of local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Marlin Lodge St Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing