We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice...Great Hostess...”
Review of Zulani Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulani Guest House
Ranked #15 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We spent two nights at Zulani as St.Lucia was a halfway house for our drive from Ramsgate to Kruger National Park. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was nice and comfortable with complimentary wine and chocs.

June was very informative and nothing was too much trouble, Breakfast was good, and because we left so early on our day of depature June prepared us a nice pack up for the journey.

We had lunch at the Ski Boat club which was a basic menu of hamburger\toasted sandwiches etc but the food was good and very reasonably priced. The location was great sat watching the hippos whilst eating lunch and drinking a cold beer was fab :)

We did the estuary boat trip whilst we saw plenty of hippos unfortunatly not many crocs but non the less was a great way to see the sunset.

We went to Cape Vidal which took up the best part of a day but really enjoyed our taster of our forthcoming safari to Kruger National Park.

All in all we had a good stay in St.Lucia and Zulani was a good choice as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Close to Cape Vidal which is well worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinTaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed here for three nights in August. The Self-Catered Guest House is huge, with a very large kitchen, open floor plan dining and living room, three bedrooms, and two very large bathrooms. The view into the estuary is great. The private pool was covered while we were in town, but it could have been nice. June was very helpful with things to do in town.

St Lucia itself is OK as far as towns go. Food in town is average, and some restaurants are quite bad. The Spar supermarket sells almost nothing useful in terms of food. Town architecture feels mid-70's. Its basically one main street with lots of tourist shops, safari offerings, and some restaurants.

The drive to Cape Vidal is lovely and can take a day. The beaches are wonderful, but quite windy in August. We saw Hippos in the estuary on the banks down the road, which was great. The Croc Farm is also interesting as you will come so close to some monster crocs. I've done boat tours on the Zambezi so we decided to skip that. We came from Ithala Game Reserve and were gamed out.

As a place to relax its good for a few days if you bring your own food or have modest expectations. The wildlife nearby is fantastic and the ecosystem is pristine. But compared to Knysna or other South African beach areas, there isn't too much to do here beyond three days.

But if you are coming, Zulani Guest House is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Algreen345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is an amazing guest house situated in St Lucia South Africa. The guest house has a wildlife theme, a beautiful pool and the rooms are so clean, modern (with air conditioning etc).
June and Gary are the best hosts in the world. We stayed for three weeks and enjoyed every minute.
This guest house has everything. June and Gary can organise Safaries and various tours for guests which makes your time in St Lucia so special.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Dog-ease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

From the second we arrived we felt welcome and looked after by June, from the welcoming glass of wine through to the advice on looking out for Vincent the one-eared hippo!
The rooms are individual, very comfortable and the attention to detail inspiring.
Breakfast is superb - fruit and cooked options.
St Lucia is an excellent location and we will definitely return.
Thanks to June for making our stay memorable and setting the bar for friendly service. We could not have been happier.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Necessiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

This is without a doubt a 5 star B&B. Rooms, decor and furnishings are out of this world and we found it no more expensive than most of others that we enquired to.
We booked for one night and stayed for four!.June the owner give us good advice re what to see and do in the area - just like having a mom is South Africa. If we hadnt been on a trip schedule we would have stayed longer.

Ian & Pam
Seasoned Backpackers

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordielad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed five nights and were upgraded to the "honeymoon suite". The owner, June, is definitely what sets this place apart from other B&Bs in the same price range, and we thought many aspects of Zulani were five star. June went out of her way to give us advice on day trips and generally provided outstanding service...she lent us beach chairs, towels and parasol when we hit the beach...she packed us breakfast into a cooler box and even gave us hot water and coffee/tea kit when we were making an early start to get to the parks...she took care of various tour bookings and added them to our room bill so we didn't have to keep forking out cash....and she cooked a mean breakfast every morning! For the money we were paying, this level of friendly service is above and beyond

There were however a couple of problems that stopped us giving the full five stars. Firstly, the "honeymoon suite" we were upgraded to was disappointing, mainly because there was no door between the toilet and bedroom! This seemed kind of odd (and not very private, or romantic!). Also, the room generally wasn't very clean, with limescale over the bathroom, unhoovered carpet, marks on the bedsheets, and a slightly damp smell to everything (probably linked to the lack of a bathroom door). Generally I think it needs to be renovated.

Secondly, June wasn't there for the first two nights of our stay, and although her stand-in was very friendly, she wasn't that familiar with the setup...so we kind of had to "go it alone" until June got back on the third night of our stay eg. didn't know we could borrow a cooler box, didn't get advice on all the excursions.

Overall, I'd recommend this place whole-heartedly as long as you avoided the honeymoon suite, and made sure June would be there during your stay. As a hostess, June can't be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Whilst our stay was short, it certainly was sweet! We were very well looked after by June, and was recommended some lovely places to eat as well as sightsee. We can recommend a few drinks down at the Ski Boat club at ridiculously cheap prices!

Plenty of hippos and crocs within walking distance, and not far to shops or restaurants either. The room was lovely (although twin beds pushed together) and the bathroom was full of character. Would have loved to used the pool but it was a bit chilly to do so, with DSTV inside the main house. Breakfasts were lovely and the welcoming drink was very much appreciated :-)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lucia
0.2 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
17 mi away
Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
0.4 mi away
Parkers Cottages
Parkers Cottages
#14 of 31 in St Lucia
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#11 of 31 in St Lucia
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulani Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulani Guest House

Address: 75 Flamingo Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: £51 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulani Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zulani Guest House. Exclusive home hospitality and quality 4 star B&B accommodation in South Africa St Lucia. The perfect spot for a magical escape, a retreat for the active, or for just simple feet-up relaxation. The owners, Gary & June, reside in an adjoining cottage, and are on hand to provide the "personal hospitality" which sets Zulani apart from larger establishments. A glittering gem in this malaria free World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Zulani Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing