We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for the wetlands”
Review of Zulani Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulani Guest House
Ranked #13 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great base for the wetlands”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife & 2 young children and loved the place. Originally planned to stay for 3 days but extended for a further 2. The owner June is very friendly & helpful which always helps. Stayed in Number 77 which has it's own fantastic pool & brai area - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D11Gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

An excellent guesthouse which will make you stay in St Lucia a great moment.
Vicky was so nice and so helpfull.
We had a huge appartment with a private swimming pool for a very good price. Evreything in perfect condition.
The breakfast was delicious.
Don't hesitate, it's a great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our entire family stayed with June and Gary at Zulani for a week and had a superb experience. The property is very well maintained and has all the amenities one could ask for including an awesome swimming pool, which we had to ourselves. The location of Zulani could not be better it is within a two minute walk of main street St. Lucia and within comfortable driving distances to all the areas attractions and activities.

The big differentiator in our family's opinion is the incredible hospitality of June and Gary. They are always on hand to help out, provide advice, help book trips, and loan various pieces of equipment such as chairs, coolers, snorkeling gear, binoculars etc, and to make one feel comfortable and welcome. June really goes out of her way to make her guests feel welcome and her recommendations in terms of restaurants or activities are always excellent. You will not find a more accommodating hostess anywhere.

Zulani offers accommodation to both small groups, and larger groups that can be accommodated in a spacious guest house. Based on our review prior to visiting we found Zulani to be very reasonably priced when compared to similar quality guest houses in the area. Great value, and excellent quality.

Zulani is simply a fantastic guest house, and we will definitely be returning to this very special part of the world. Our only regret is that our vacation passed so very quickly.

St. Lucia itself is a gem, it has everything readily at hand from game viewing, to fishing, to surfing, to shark diving, kayaking, horse riding, bike riding, you name it, June will arrange it quickly and cheaply.

We had a fantastic stay at Zulani, I cannot recommend it highly enough and hope you will consider it and enjoy St. Lucia as much as our family did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyAfricaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in August, 2010. June was a wonderful hostess, and great fun to visit with. She was so accommodating. Because there were 5 of us, we were moved into the guest house next door with more room for all of us - no increase in price. She provided information on what to do, and where to go. She arranged a safari for us to Umfolozi Game Park, and even packed us a to-go breakfast for 5:30 am! Two days before we arrived there, my daughter broke her foot and was in a cast. June not only suggested we get a wheelchair, she made the arrangements to pick it up and return it for us, and to deliver the payment for us. She is a joy. I would highly recommend a stay at Zulani.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATraveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We spent two nights at Zulani as St.Lucia was a halfway house for our drive from Ramsgate to Kruger National Park. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was nice and comfortable with complimentary wine and chocs.

June was very informative and nothing was too much trouble, Breakfast was good, and because we left so early on our day of depature June prepared us a nice pack up for the journey.

We had lunch at the Ski Boat club which was a basic menu of hamburger\toasted sandwiches etc but the food was good and very reasonably priced. The location was great sat watching the hippos whilst eating lunch and drinking a cold beer was fab :)

We did the estuary boat trip whilst we saw plenty of hippos unfortunatly not many crocs but non the less was a great way to see the sunset.

We went to Cape Vidal which took up the best part of a day but really enjoyed our taster of our forthcoming safari to Kruger National Park.

All in all we had a good stay in St.Lucia and Zulani was a good choice as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Close to Cape Vidal which is well worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinTaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed here for three nights in August. The Self-Catered Guest House is huge, with a very large kitchen, open floor plan dining and living room, three bedrooms, and two very large bathrooms. The view into the estuary is great. The private pool was covered while we were in town, but it could have been nice. June was very helpful with things to do in town.

St Lucia itself is OK as far as towns go. Food in town is average, and some restaurants are quite bad. The Spar supermarket sells almost nothing useful in terms of food. Town architecture feels mid-70's. Its basically one main street with lots of tourist shops, safari offerings, and some restaurants.

The drive to Cape Vidal is lovely and can take a day. The beaches are wonderful, but quite windy in August. We saw Hippos in the estuary on the banks down the road, which was great. The Croc Farm is also interesting as you will come so close to some monster crocs. I've done boat tours on the Zambezi so we decided to skip that. We came from Ithala Game Reserve and were gamed out.

As a place to relax its good for a few days if you bring your own food or have modest expectations. The wildlife nearby is fantastic and the ecosystem is pristine. But compared to Knysna or other South African beach areas, there isn't too much to do here beyond three days.

But if you are coming, Zulani Guest House is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Algreen345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is an amazing guest house situated in St Lucia South Africa. The guest house has a wildlife theme, a beautiful pool and the rooms are so clean, modern (with air conditioning etc).
June and Gary are the best hosts in the world. We stayed for three weeks and enjoyed every minute.
This guest house has everything. June and Gary can organise Safaries and various tours for guests which makes your time in St Lucia so special.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dog-ease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#9 of 29 in St Lucia
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#14 of 29 in St Lucia
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#10 of 29 in St Lucia
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulani Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulani Guest House

Property: Zulani Guest House
Address: 75 Flamingo Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulani Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zulani Guest House. Exclusive home hospitality and quality 4 star B&B accommodation in South Africa St Lucia. The perfect spot for a magical escape, a retreat for the active, or for just simple feet-up relaxation. The owners, Gary & June, reside in an adjoining cottage, and are on hand to provide the "personal hospitality" which sets Zulani apart from larger establishments. A glittering gem in this malaria free World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zulani Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing