We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Zulani Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulani Guest House
Ranked #13 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

This is without a doubt a 5 star B&B. Rooms, decor and furnishings are out of this world and we found it no more expensive than most of others that we enquired to.
We booked for one night and stayed for four!.June the owner give us good advice re what to see and do in the area - just like having a mom is South Africa. If we hadnt been on a trip schedule we would have stayed longer.

Ian & Pam
Seasoned Backpackers

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordielad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed five nights and were upgraded to the "honeymoon suite". The owner, June, is definitely what sets this place apart from other B&Bs in the same price range, and we thought many aspects of Zulani were five star. June went out of her way to give us advice on day trips and generally provided outstanding service...she lent us beach chairs, towels and parasol when we hit the beach...she packed us breakfast into a cooler box and even gave us hot water and coffee/tea kit when we were making an early start to get to the parks...she took care of various tour bookings and added them to our room bill so we didn't have to keep forking out cash....and she cooked a mean breakfast every morning! For the money we were paying, this level of friendly service is above and beyond

There were however a couple of problems that stopped us giving the full five stars. Firstly, the "honeymoon suite" we were upgraded to was disappointing, mainly because there was no door between the toilet and bedroom! This seemed kind of odd (and not very private, or romantic!). Also, the room generally wasn't very clean, with limescale over the bathroom, unhoovered carpet, marks on the bedsheets, and a slightly damp smell to everything (probably linked to the lack of a bathroom door). Generally I think it needs to be renovated.

Secondly, June wasn't there for the first two nights of our stay, and although her stand-in was very friendly, she wasn't that familiar with the setup...so we kind of had to "go it alone" until June got back on the third night of our stay eg. didn't know we could borrow a cooler box, didn't get advice on all the excursions.

Overall, I'd recommend this place whole-heartedly as long as you avoided the honeymoon suite, and made sure June would be there during your stay. As a hostess, June can't be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Whilst our stay was short, it certainly was sweet! We were very well looked after by June, and was recommended some lovely places to eat as well as sightsee. We can recommend a few drinks down at the Ski Boat club at ridiculously cheap prices!

Plenty of hippos and crocs within walking distance, and not far to shops or restaurants either. The room was lovely (although twin beds pushed together) and the bathroom was full of character. Would have loved to used the pool but it was a bit chilly to do so, with DSTV inside the main house. Breakfasts were lovely and the welcoming drink was very much appreciated :-)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We had a lovely holiday made even better by the company of June the owner.The accommodation was 1st class and the breakfast excellent. We stayed for a week and were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. The room was huge with lovely spa bath and separate shower.All the rooms were a good size. We were able to borrow beach chairs and an umbrella ,there were bikes available to borrow as well, I had my birthday while we were there and June had a huge chocolate made complete with candles.The maids sang Happy Birthday in Zulu, a birthday to remember. We hope to visit again one day,the area is so safe we had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Zulani Guest House is more than a guest house it is a delightful experience. We were a French family of five and really enjoyed the accommodation tastefully decorated. It is close from all the St Lucia natural wonders. On top of that, June's devotion has made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sampyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Stayed for one night in March 2008. We just turned up on spec and June welcomed us. She showed us to our room and asked if we would like to join her on the patio for a glass of winer later. Big mistake as we were drunk when it was time to hit the town for a meal ! June had plied us with far too much wine ! "I've had four glasses I think but I've lost count" she said at one point. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. The hospitality, quality of accommodation and bargain rates are the things that make South Africa so appealing.

Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank GaryCulpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

My wife and I visited Zulani for five nights staying in their Honeymoon Suite and had a fabulous time overall. In fact, it's hard to think of anything negative to say as we were both so well looked after. And even though the weather was sometimes against us, we managed to have both an exciting and a restful time in St. Lucia after two weeks of hectic safari and Johannesburg schedules. It's a lovely and tranquil place to explore and the wetlands are spectacular.

The Zulani only has four rooms, plus an attached house that can be rented for larger groups and therefore maintains a sense of uniqueness plus a welcoming familial atmosphere that is never pretentious or stifling. Booked here after reading all the positive comments on tripadvisor and contacting June, the owner, through the hotel website, which was refreshingly easy. While I was initially concerned that there might be a bit too much "supervision" here, with such an on-point hostess, I was very quickly impressed with June's finely honed sense of boundaries and how she perceived and addressed both our needs and those of other guests with different priorities.

Room was quiet, spacious, open-plan, with huge, comfortable bed, sitting area, very welcoming jaccuzi bath-- especially after a day in the rain at the beach!-- champagne bucket on arrival, TV with ample DVD library, few mossies, plenty of storage area-- all for an unbeatable price. All four rooms open out onto a small pool, flowering garden, and a covered, open-air breakfast "nook"... Breakfast was delicious, filling and served at whatever time you organized the day before, which we often changed without problem. Excellent coffee, toast and an amazing fresh-fruit salad were served before your choice of eggs, sausage, baked beans, mushrooms, tomato, bacon, more fruit, cereal, yogurt, fresh juice, another coffee-- holy heaving hippos, we were stuffed every morning and happily so.

Location: Only a block from St. Lucia's quiet main street and yes, believe it or not you can walk five-ten minutes to a series of decent if not spectacular restaurants. At night. In South Africa. Hotel is also a few minutes away from a lush, looping, jungly nature trail down to the estuary where crocs and hippos can be seen along with many, many birds. There are literally dozens of guesthouses in St. Lucia, many of them not registered on-line and some directly on the estuary banks but, after driving and walking around we were 100 percent satisfied with our choice of the Zulani and would definitely stay there again should we visit St. Lucia in the future. According to June, Zulani roughly translates as "travelling forward but not in a straight line" which pretty much describes my wife and I, and many other travellers, perfectly...

As indicated on the Zulani website, June is keen and able to arrange any sort of area-tour and can also offer precision advice regarding sight-seeing in the area for those who prefer to explore on their own... she even had coolers, ice-packs, beach towels, snorkel gear, beach chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards for us to borrow, free of charge, for the days we struck out in the rental car... through June we also arranged a kayak trip on the estuary (a lovely morning jaunt but personally would have appreciated a bit more "dumb-and-dangerous" as opposed to a "safe-and-sane" approach regarding paddling up close to the crocs and hippos-- but, you know, we lived to tell the tale) and a suprisingly informative and productive night drive around the wetlands...

In a nutshell, although the room was clean and cozy and the hotel is in a great location, the main selling point here is June who provides amply without intruding. She's always available for advice, bookings, and conversations over a cheeky glass of white wine but you never feel as though she's looking over your shoulder-- which is a fantastic skill to have in the hospitality industry. On a side note, when our two married gay friends arrived from Johannesburg to join us for three nights at Zulani, requesting a kingsize bed, she made them feel at home without so much as batting an eye. Which is as it should be. Full marks.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank octopusmessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#15 of 29 in St Lucia
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#12 of 29 in St Lucia
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#9 of 29 in St Lucia
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulani Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulani Guest House

Address: 75 Flamingo Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: £48 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulani Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zulani Guest House. Exclusive home hospitality and quality 4 star B&B accommodation in South Africa St Lucia. The perfect spot for a magical escape, a retreat for the active, or for just simple feet-up relaxation. The owners, Gary & June, reside in an adjoining cottage, and are on hand to provide the "personal hospitality" which sets Zulani apart from larger establishments. A glittering gem in this malaria free World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Zulani Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing