We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a holiday during which I also visited Cape Town, the Winelands, Victoria Falls and Joburg, all expertly arranged by 2by2 Holidays. During my holiday I enjoyed some wonderful experiences but the hightlight of my trip was my stay at the Rhino Post Safari Lodge. The Lodge offers accommodation which I would describe as understated luxury, the food was excellent and the camp had, at all times, a relaxed feel to it. The camp is built next to a large watering hole which is used by the animals and so it wasn't even necessary to leave camp to see some amazing sights, including lions, elephants and buffalo. However, what made this place so special, for me, were the staff. Sharon, Marli and every member of their team were fantastic. They were, at all times, incredibly friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our Game Ranger, Ben, was also a star. Thanks to Ben we saw all of the Big 5, on numerous occasions, and additionally we enjoyed many amazing sightings of other animals and birds. Ben's knowledge of the animals and his dedication to ensuring that each game drive was both memorable and great fun was incredible. I would have no hesitation in recommmending Rhino Post to anyone. However, don't just take my word for it. During my stay at Rhino Post I met a documentary maker and travel agent with over 15 years' experience in the travel industry. He told me that Rhino Post is "as good as it gets".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
65
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I enjoyed the Rhino Post lodge. The rooms were beautiful and nicely appointed. My group stayed for 2 nights and we went out on the jeeps 4 times. Morning and sunset safaris. We got to see the big 5 animals and many more. The bush-burgers (impalas) were plentiful as well as the baboons. We also saw a lot of zebras and our share of elephants, giraffes and water buffaloes. We say hippos and a few rhinos. Our highlight was the leopard, bathing in sunlight on a rock mound. We saw a few carcasses where the lions had taken them down and were now picked over by the vultures. Saw lots of animal tracks. Probably 2 to 3 outings are enough unless you don't see a lot of animals. It can get redundant. The staff was perfect and very helpful. I got to witness a bush thunderstorm. The thunder was loud and rolling and the lightening was a fascinating light show. Needless to say, I slept well.

You have access to a computer (for emails) and a small novelty store. The dining was very, very good. The staff attentive. Unless you are an animal fanatic, I think 3 days is enough.

Word of caution. Wine at diner costs. Also if you decide to drink water instead of wine during the sunset safari then make it clear that you are switching off, otherwise, you will be charged. I loved those outdoor showers! Would definitely go again.

Note: After the rain frogs were all over our veranda (I guess they were trying to get out of the rain too) ;)

Room Tip: I had room number 5. It was in a great location. I think all rooms are pretty much the same. Quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at the Lodge for three nights and the experience was truly wonderful, starting out on the journey in from the airport when we saw our first Giraffe. We arrived mid afternoon and were quickly made comfortable before going out on our first drive. That was spectacular and over the next two days it just got better (starting out the next morning with sighting two lions from the outdoor shower!). The overall service was exquisite and our guide, Colin, looked after us not only on the drives but for the rest of the day too. Not a place to go to diet - as the day starts before the morning drive with coffee and snacks, followed by a sumptuous brunch on your return. High tea preceded the afternoon drive and dinner is superb.
We could not have asked to see more animals (Big Five plus Cheetah and even a Wild Dog)
Absolutely outstanding!

Room Tip: Any room would be fine but a get a good view of the waterhole if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leran, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We walked within 10 metres of rhino! the guides were amazing, the tent camp was old style chic and exactly how you fantasize african safaris to be. I thought i was on the set of "out of africa"
A must for anyone who wants to get really close to the animals and out of the jeep for an intimate experience with the wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French-Campagne-Chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

You have to stay at the Rhino Plains Camp and go on the walking safaris to truly appreciate the bush in Kruger. The private concession has plenty to see and you never run into anyone else, which means the authenticity of the excursion is maintained.

Our guide Mark was absolutely brilliant, well educated, talented, and boasted a fun personality. He totally turned an otherwise great experience into a fantastic and unforgettable one for us, though he admitted that the situations in which we landed were happy and amazing accidents that resulted in a lifetime of memories. His assistant James was also a great man that you can rely on in the bush.

The tents are amazingly roomy, clean, and comfortable. Though the washroom area is well concealed, it is essentially open so there is no privacy in that respect, but it didn't bother us. You have plenty of hot water via the gas heater and get the full 4 star treatment. The staff feed you well and you never feel hungry.

You get 4 hour walks in the morning and typically game drives in the evenings, but I've heard others have chosen to do a second walk. There is an option for a sleep-out, which you should look up and do if you have the chance, as it's amazing.

This experience is not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Live in the very nice basecamp or better up in the plains camp and get the feeling of being drawn back in time to the era of the great discoverers. Marvelous guides, great food and a memory that lasts a lifetime.

Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ulfhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.7 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
19.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp

Property: Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plains Camp is situated in the heart of a private 12 000 hectare wilderness concession 10km north east of Skukuza Rest Camp in the world famous Kruger National Park. The concession is an environmentally sensitive area which was previously unexplored, with huge diversity of both fauna & flora - an ideal setting for wilderness walking safaris in an internationally renowned big five area.It comprises of 4 en-suite luxury African explorer style tents with all the comforts of home with the African Wilderness on your doorstep. Built in authentic pioneer tradition, it has the serenity of a 19th century naturalist's rest, nestled in an Acacia Knobthorn thicket.Expansive decks surround the lounge and dining areas from where one can survey the vast Timbertene Plains and watch the big 5. The plunge pool is an ideal place to retreat during the heat of the day while the animals drink at the nearby waterhole.Guests can choose to walk to "Sleep Outs" - a giant tree house and spend a night under the African Skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Walking Safaris At Plains Camp South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing