We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So African Rhino Walking Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So African Rhino Walking Tour”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Over The Top Luxury in 'The Kruger" GO Food, Service meet very interesting guests and staff. Darling monkeys, and babboons, worthogs . Giraffe outside our room munching away. Afternoon teatime my favorite. Well apointed room, outdoor shower.

Room Tip: Any animals do not discriminate rooms, show up any where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homesweethomeiluvny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
76
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My two daughters (15/16) and I spent five nights with Rhino Walking Safaris in February. We spent one night at Rhino Post then three at Plains Camp followed by one more night back at Rhino Post. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was!
The Facilities were top-notch with beautiful cabins and fixed tents all in pristine condition. The common areas were meticulously maintained and offered incredible views of either the river bed at Rhino Post or a wonderful open plain at Plains Camp. All dinners were served promptly and formally, but were incredibly comfortable with open and fun conversation persisting between all guests and the senior staff.
The game drives and vehicles were in great condition and the guides very knowledgeable about the animals, the geology and the history of the park. They knew where and when to be at the right places and as such we saw the "Big Five" numerous times and so much more! The Sundowner stop for quick refreshments every evening was my favorite.
WIth Mark as our guide for the Walking Tours, Rhino Walking Safaris brings it all full circle. His wealth of knowledge and information about the plants, insects, and the bushman way of life helped put the entire experience in great perspective for myself and my girls. Those walks helped fill in the voids that the driving tours cannot focus on.
The Staff was wonderful. Our guides (Kim, Joey, and Mark) went out of their way to make our experience a once in a lifetime. They were all incredible. The remainder of the staff was also top-notch. Friendly and nice, they operated on a perfect schedule, remembered our names and met our every need. They just do it right!
It was an amazing experience and made all the more so by the wonderful people, facilities and atmosphere that is Rhino Post. Thank you for a wonderful visit to Africa!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailss_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were two couples, travelling as a group (one 30s/40s, the other 50s).

Our booking had us staying at Rhino Post for 2 nights, Plains Camp for one night, Sleep Out for one night, then one night back at Rhino Post. This was a luxury, really, and was driven by the rest of our itinerary. My strong recommendation though, is that you MUST include Plains Camp and the Sleep Out in your trip, if you possibly can - they were such a highlight.

The accommodation and meals at Rhino Post were superb. The game drives were well done, and we got to visit interesting parts of Kruger after all of the day-trippers had left, which made it feel even more special. Some of the places we had our sun-downers at will live in my memory forever.

At Plains Camp, you get the feeling that you living in the middle of the bush. That's because you are. You can believe the photos - it really is that good. I got a special kick out of lying on a comfortable sofa with a beer & a book, watching the Springboks near the watering hole. Sublime.

Mark was our guide, and his passion for the natural world really shines through. He informs, without even trying. Essentially, he runs Plains Camp, and the staff, which could be tricky if he didn't have the perfect personality to carry it all off with aplomb. Our walking were a highlight - of our lives, not just our holiday.

The night we spent at the Sleep Out was also magical. Eating around a camp-fire, and listening to the bush sounds, watching the stars, and knowing that the nearest human being is quite some way away.

In summary, we just had a fantastic time, and were looked after so well by all the staff throughout.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Plains Camp and the Sleep Out are not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

excellent experience, we only stayed for one night, and has bush dinner outside !! Great place, has booked another night at their lodge already! we saw the big five in the morning safari, and a cheeta was just walking on the road for like 10 minutes

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MingheZheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Hello All at both the Rhino Post and Plains Camp. Well we finished our last "drive" yesterday morning and had a long trip back home, I have just down loaded the 660 digital photos from our four days with you, the Rangers - Ben, Collin and Mark were fantastic, they were all very good at what they do, we saw so may animals such as elephants, lions, giraffes, buffaloes, monkeys and wild dogs plus so much more. The accommodation at both places was excellent with fantastic food. If we had our way, we be back with them tomorrow. When you go, you will not be disappointed. Have fun and Thank you. Andy & Mandy.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We went for the walking safaris and it had been beyond our expectations!
Very good and professional rangers. Very nice accommodation facilities (the sleepout was fantastic).
Just remember if you are considering the safari that it is a WALKING safari. Which means getting up early (before 5 am) for walking in the bush during a few hours and possibly not seeing any animals. Get dark and long clothes for the walk, as well as good walking shoes.
I would recommend that for nature and hiking-lovers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJC3_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from an all too short time at Rhino Post Plains Camp and Sleepout and it was just amazing!! If you really want to get back to nature and see the park and animals in the wild this is the safari for you. We learned masses about the flora and fauna and how the animals survive throughout the year. Mark, the ranger was so passionate and knowledgeable about the bushveld he made it really fun.The walking safaris offer a much more intense experience, as you get far closer to the animals. You don't see as many, but the experience is far more rewarding.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.7 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
379 reviews
15.4 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#30 of 174 in Kruger National Park
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
15.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp

Property: Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plains Camp is situated in the heart of a private 12 000 hectare wilderness concession 10km north east of Skukuza Rest Camp in the world famous Kruger National Park. The concession is an environmentally sensitive area which was previously unexplored, with huge diversity of both fauna & flora - an ideal setting for wilderness walking safaris in an internationally renowned big five area.It comprises of 4 en-suite luxury African explorer style tents with all the comforts of home with the African Wilderness on your doorstep. Built in authentic pioneer tradition, it has the serenity of a 19th century naturalist's rest, nestled in an Acacia Knobthorn thicket.Expansive decks surround the lounge and dining areas from where one can survey the vast Timbertene Plains and watch the big 5. The plunge pool is an ideal place to retreat during the heat of the day while the animals drink at the nearby waterhole.Guests can choose to walk to "Sleep Outs" - a giant tree house and spend a night under the African Skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Walking Safaris At Plains Camp South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing