We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Perfect Location, Very Comfortable Rooms , Awesome Food, Friendly Staff, Dinner in the Boma is the best, Great value for money for families and groups.One of the best Hotel Experiences I have had in many years.They even make Breakfast PAcks for going into the park.Definately recommend and will be back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gtuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Gtuj,

Thank you very much for the kind words! We are glad that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate met your expectations.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Francois Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    284
    96
    26
    14
See reviews for
215
315
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Have to start with the location... literally a few meters away from the Paul Kruger Gate - which means your commute to the park is virtually non-existent (compare that to 45-60 mins its takes to arrive from the nearest town). It also means you get to sleep that much more and get the a decent few hours in the evening to enjoy the resort (post your safari drives).

The other good think about this resort is that it is right next to the Sabie Sands (private) game reserve - and you have the option of take a few safaris/drives/walks in that reserve too.

The whole ambiance of the place is nicely done - with a log cabin setup. Specially loved their viewing deck and bar.

The hotel caters well to guests leaving early morning for game drives - freshly brewed coffee and rusks and filling breakfast packs (with prior requests). Dinner buffet in the evening has a good spread and excellent choice of various meats.

On the downside... the bathrooms need some renovations. The water in the shower leaks on to the bathroom floor. Their housekeeping was well prepared and came promptly each time to clean-up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatelThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear PatelTHE,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as your game drives into the Kruger National Park.

With regards to the bathrooms, please be advised that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is currently undergoing a refurbishment which will be completed in September 2012. This refurbishment will see an upgrade of our rooms and facilities, to enhance our GUESTS experience.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

Yours Sincerely,
Francois Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Visited the hotel with my wife for 2 days. They are going through renovations so things a little slow and messy but otherwise the future looks great with the new alterations.we will be back to experience all the changes. Staff still great and good value for money. I did leave 2 shirts behind so waiting to see if they phone regarding the lost property left behind. Facilities are excellent and still one of my favorite hotels in South Africa and the one we visit the most. even with the hassle of renovations they still prepare a good meal buffet and teh staff are always exceptional. well done to the management and staff.

Room Tip: Book including breakfast and dinner, and if you go into the kruger park early the hotel will pack yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear DennisRogers,

Thank you for staying with us again, and for the feedback! I am happy to hear that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is one of your favourite hotels in South Africa.
Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient, friendly and personalised service. So we are delighted to hear that the STAFF was so friendly.

Please be assured that the TEAM will keep a look out for your shirts and will be in contact.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Francois Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here for just one night at the end of our holiday. The hotel is undergoing major renovations but the areas already finished, particularly the complex of wooden decks overlooking the river, are stunning. We were in a self-catering cottage which was great value for money compared to the poor standard of accommodation in Kruger itself. As locals we are staying more and more just outside Kruger and going into the park each day, instead of putting up with the low standards Kruger offers at ever increasing prices. The hotel staff were charming, friendly and efficient. The buffet dinner at the restaurant was excellent.The hotel is in a great setting on the Sabie River and just a stone's throw from Kruger gate. It really felt no different to being in the park and we will definately stay here again in the future. This will be a wonderful hotel when the renovations are complete - we just hope they don't hike the prices!

Room Tip: The thatched self catering cottages have two bedrooms plus a loft room, sleeping six altogether. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The staff was very friendly, the food was great and it is just around the corner of the Kruger National Park. I definitely will recommend staying here. You have views of the park from a deck and we saw elephants, hippo's and buffalo's. The cocktail bar is also well stocked and the rooms are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear jstander,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and caught a glimpse of the animals from our deck!

i hope you will be returning soon - it would be our pleasure to host you once again at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

Kind Regards,

Francois Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

There are some bad reviews about this hotel and for the life of me I cannot understand why.

- Just 2 min from the world famous Kruger National Park
- Included buffet breakfast and dinner - both were superb
- Staff were unbelievably friendly, competent and eager to please
- Rooms were comfortable (we had two and both were fine)
- Saturday night included a local dance show
- Free internet (in lobby)
- Night safari was well organised

Compared to the other hotels around - great value.

Can't go wrong here.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RTWTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear RTWTripping,

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate met your expectations. I will be sure to congratulate the staff on their exceptional service.

I hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Francois Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I thought Protea Kruger Gate was fantastic. The rooms were lovely, the food was amazing, the staff were extremely friendly and polite and it is a very very short drive to the entrance of Kruger National Park. 5* service across the board. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Popsy28,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted to to hear that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate met your needs, and that the service was to your expectations.

I hope you will be staying with us again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Francois Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
7.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
22.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
10.1 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.5 mi away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing