We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel which is situated within meters of Kruger Gate at Kruger National Park. I was quite impressed with the style of the hotel, the service was good and the food was fantastic.
I regularly go to Kruger and would stay there again in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOWCapeTownTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear WOWCapeTownTours

What positive feedback! Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

Being located within metres of the Paul Kruger is very convenient for GUESTS. Whether doing a self-drive or going on scheduled safaris, those extra few hours sleep make all the difference.

We have recently finished renovations and I am happy to hear that the new style of the public areas and rooms were to your liking.

The TEAM is committed to providing on the best, and this is evident in your experience of the service and delicious meals. I commend them all on their continuous efforts.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    303
    105
    29
    14
See reviews for
230
338
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was the only place in SA where we encountered bad service. With only a couple of exceptions the staff were surly and inattentive. Waiting times for service at the evening meal were unacceptable. We had to wait for 30 minutes for drinks to arrive after ordering and when they arrived they were wrong. The staff did not seem to care at all to the point of near rudeness, so unlike the rest of the country!. Room was supposed to sleep 2 adults and 2 children. It barely did. The children were on an L-shaped sofa bed and had been provided with one duvet between them. We requested a second which came quickly but with the usual surly attitude. When we left there was an argument over whether the room had been paid for because they "did not recognise our travel agents name" (unlike everywhere else we stayed!) and they tried to get us to pay again and reclaim the money from our agents. I refused and was thankful I had not given them my card details on arrival. This may have been an admin error but felt like a scam. Good points - it is very beautiful and great location on edge of the national park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Simon B

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback will certainly assist us with our search for excellence.

We are very lucky to have Kruger National Park as our backyard. I am pleased that our location was of benefit to you during your stay.

I am extremely sorry that you had such a below par experience with us. Not only is this disappointing, but very concerning as we aim to offer the best GUEST service. It is unfortunate that this was not the case and I have addressed this with the TEAM already.

There is no excuse for the lack of the bedding in your room or the confusion around your prepayment. I can assure you that these are not the standards we are usually proud to offer and additional emphasis will be put into all areas to prevent this from reoccurring.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you directly. You can contact me via email at gm@phkrugergate.co.za.

I really hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the bushveld to show you true Protea hospitality.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Room was nice with a comfortable bed. It was the rest of the property that made the stay so good. The atmosphere after dark was very nice. This was my first time to Kruger Park and While I wanted to stay in the park, there were no rooms available. I was able to secure a room, site unseen and no ability to do any research. I was very pleased! The reception area, restaurant, etc are outdoors and with the grounds lighting after dark, the effect was great! The food was good with good service and a very nice all day tour of the park. I will return with my spouse!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Kim H

Thank you for your review and I am thrilled with your title.

Our location is in the heart of the bushveld together with the majestic surroundings means that GUESTS can have an amazing experience. Your enjoyment of our hotel rings true to what the entire TEAM aim to deliver for every GUEST.

I look forward to welcoming you back as well as your spouse on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After an early morning flight into Jo'burg, and another 5, 6 hours drive to the Kruger area, I fall in love with this hotel the minute I stepped into the lobby.

The expansive open air lobby and reception area was nested in a canopy of trees, and its elegant African decor immediately engaged my mood for the busy experience.

What made this lodge really stand out was its large bush like grounds and common areas, and in particular, the tree house like viewing decks. The viewing decks were very inviting. I always wanted to sit there, and never wanted to leave. The deck is very big, with a main deck area, a bar, and several tree houses like huts, but always just a few guests out there, and made the experience very peaceful and relaxing.

The accommodation included breakfast and dinner. The buffet dinner was hosted in an open air restaurant with a huge bonfire in the middle. I don't usually like buffets, but I was very impressed with the meals. Lots of variety of different kinds of meats, side dishes, vegetables, and desserts etc. They served us delicious and high quality meals.

The breakfast buffet was excellent as well, which is pretty consistent with most of the breakfast meals we had in South Africa.

The room itself was nothing special and pretty standard with your average hotel room. Except we saw Zebras eating outside of our windows. We were comfortable in the room and slept well.

There is free wifi in the lobby area only. I used it in the evenings. The lobby was very comfortable, so it was fine plug my laptop in and use the internet to check emails etc there.

This hotel is very close to the Paul Kruger gate. You can see the gate just before turning into the hotel, and you can even walk to that gate.

We stayed here for 2 nights in order to explore the Panoramic Route, and being able to enter into the Kruger gate early the following day.

I would love to stay here longer, and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear HappyTraveler852

Your review is truly spectacular and we appreciate you posting such detailed feedback no TripAdvisor.

There is definitely something magical about the bush and a holiday here is always revitalizing. I am a big fan of the viewing decks myself and hearing of your enjoyment is pleasing.

The chef and TEAM are inspired to continuously deliver unique dishes on our buffets and they will be motivated by your positive comments.

Maybe next time you can stay a little longer.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The lodge has a great location, less than 5 minutes from the gate of Kruger, which is especially perfect for those early morning game drives. It was beautiful, open, lots of monkeys hanging around to entertain. The food was good with different buffets each night.

It is cool in July, and the main dining room is outdoors, although there was a firepit and heaters around.

They say they have a fitness room, but there is one treadmill, a bike that doesn't work and weight machine that is too stiff to use. Other than that, it was a great place to stay and I'd definitely recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Krista F

What a wonderful review and I am thrilled that you had a great bushveld holiday.

Our location definitely helps with those early morning game drives as one can sneak in some extra sleep. On top of that, we are lucky to be surrounded by such beauty and that the animals come to visit us. The hotel and it’s design is meant to blend in with the area.

I am sorry for your disappointment regarding the fitness centre and I will be reevaluating that area as a result. Hopefully we wil have everything sorted out for your next visit.

Dining under the stars is amazing and although it can get a bit cold, we do our best to keep you warm with the fire pit and heaters.

I hope you had a safe trip home and will visit soon.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The protea Hotel Paul Kruger gate is the best located hotel outside of the park, it is literally not even two minutes from the Paul Kruger gate, in which you enter the Kruger national park through. The grounds of the Protea Hotel are absolutley stunning, with lovely spots to relax.
We did not stay in the hotel rooms, as we stayed at the timeshare section on the same property, but made use of all the hotel ammenities. It is a very nice experience to go to the Lapa Restuarant for dinner. It is lovel to be outside, and experience a 'bush' dinner. Even though the hotel is just outside of the park, you still have wildlife coming right up to the boundry fence, and a leopard who roams through the grounds of the hotel. This hotel is truely in a fantastic location and allows you to do the bush in style but still be in the bush.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear SamTravel68

What an amazing review and thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

You are spot on when saying that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is the best located hotel outside the park. The Paul Kruger Gate is within walking distance, which makes getting to and from the park very easy.

We did our best to ensure that the design of the hotel blends in with its surroundings. The high ceilings, wooden walkways and viewing decks all contribute to the stunning grounds you speak of. I am so happy that you enjoyed the Lapa Restaurant as dining under the stars with a variety of meals on offer is a unique experience.

Until your next trip to the bushveld we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our family of three drove to Kruger and did a day tour from Joburg. After a long day of driving and touring (with no previous reservation made) we stopped at the gate Protea and where pleasantly surprised. The hotel is built like an open air game lodge and has walkways and platforms overlooking the park as well as plenty of on sight critters (Impala, Zebra and a few others) Staff was friendly, room was clean, modern and comfortable and the dinner and breakfast buffets (included) where excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeroMan356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear VeroMan356

Thank you for your review, which is filled with such lovely comments regarding so many aspects of our hotel - 'great room, great staff, great food'.

We have recently completed a refurbishment and your ‘pleasantly surprised’ reaction assures me that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is definitely the place to stay when visiting the Kruger National Park.

We look forward to welcoming back for another enjoyable visit.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
6.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
383 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
22.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
445 reviews
17.3 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
567 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 39 in Hazyview
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing