We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Nearby Hotels
US$760
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$724
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Lion Sands(Skukuza)
US$2,166
Booking.com
View Deal
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$2,101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
409
347
117
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
347
117
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviewing decksabie riverbreakfast and dinnerbuffet stylereception areagame drivesopen airsouth africadining areagame reservestir fryself cateringrooms are largewonderful hoteltour groupnight safariglass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
449 - 454 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Have just got back home after 10 night stay at the Protea Kruger Gate. Can't fault it, really, was just a great experience.

The grounds are more like a game reserve in it's own right than a hotel garden.....huge area with trees, rivers, leisure areas and wildlife! The fence adjoins the Kruger Park and Sabie river mostly, but some also adjoins the Sabi private reserve to the side. Whether you walk around it all, or just sit on one of the terraces you are bound to see the animals. There are some deer and mongoose residents and we also saw Elephants, Hippos, Giraffes, Kudu and Baboons on the other side of the fence.

This place has the feel of a game lodge rather than a hotel, even though it is part of the Protea chain operation. Room was great..aircon and king size bed with sitting area and bathroom with rainshower fitting.

The breakfast buffet was superb, with something for everyone (although I witnessed an American guest asking for pancakes!), and you sat outside on the terrace if you wanted to. Dinner was a buffet served outside in a boma, again with something for everyone...including marshmallows on skewers for heating on the open fire!

Full hotel facilities were available...bars, room service, a beautiful swimming pool with sunbeds, lounges, and a well stocked and good value onsite shop.

Very attentive staff everywhere, but you must understand this is Africa and so everything is done in African time!

Overall, just a great place to stay right by the Kruger Park with everything you could want to hand.....all trips/safaris etc can be booked on site and they will collect you from reception if needed. Probably just as good, if not better, than staying in the park itself.

Loved the whole experience, thoroughly recommended for staying if you love the Kruger Park like we do. The relaxed atmosphere and peace and quiet in the evening was amazing!

Room Tip: They are all good, doesn't matter really. Everywhere connected by wooden walkways.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stevenbouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear GUEST

Thank you for your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. A holiday in the bushveld is always special. Being surrounded by the wildlife and the flora does wonders for the stress levels. Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is designed to blend in with the natural surroundings and it seems as if you got the rest and relaxation you were looking for.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The location is unbeatable with a viewing deck/bar where you are able to watch elephants graze. However, we found the rooms not to be as clean as we experienced in other Protea hotels. Staff not real friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear GUEST

Thank you for your posting your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our viewing deck overlooking the Sabie River; I love the Elephant families that stop over from time to time.

Thank you for bringing your comments about your room to my attention please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

Thank you for staying over at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just very close to Paul Kruger Gate in NP Kruger one of the best in Africa to spot the Big Five (we did). We stayed 3 nights. Early continental breakfast (they prepared nice boxes to have breakfast during the games, recommandable if you want to spot cats) and international dinners with a good variety and quality of food. They have a beautiful yard to enjoy dinners with fires all around and a nice terrace to see the sunset. The only regrettable thing was the service which was extremely poor as in most of the northern hotels we've stayed in South-Africa. Very low profile waiters, wines were always warm, no tips at reception (even how to get there) and not suitable attention when having any problem (a broken freezer stood at the entrance of our door even we said to repair it for 2 days). Though NP Kruger is so good that all service stuff is collateral.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WineJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear GUEST

Thank you for your positive comments on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very comfortable resort style accommodation only a couple of hundred meters from the Kruger Gate, the room was lovely, nice big bed and a large walk in shower in the bathroom with the biggest shower head I've ever seen. Staff is outstanding, friendly and very polite, we even had our reserved table for dinner and were addressed with our name (what a little tipping here and then can achieve!) - So when you sign for your bills (Breakfast and Dinner are inclusive with the room charges) - allow 10 -15% for gratitude.
We were able to spot 4 of the big 5 from our hotel's pool bar viewing platform - but the real fun started when we booked the all day safari, it starts at 05.45 at the reception, where you get some coffee and biscuits to nibble and a pick up a box for breakfast on the river bank in Skukuza (back for lunch at the hotel and more in the afternoon).
...and there they were, Elephants crossing the road, a pride of Lions doing the same - a large Rhino staring at us with suspicion, Giraffes, Zebras, Hippos, Buffalos and oodles of Impalas etc. Baboons, all kind of birds and a water monitor - our guide "John" was great - not so great were our fellow passengers, 8 Italians who constantly had to talk on top of their voices, so John was not able to get a word in sidewise. The only thing missing was the Leopard, but which turned up at the night safari plus plenty of Hyenas (5pm - 8.30pm) which can be organized by the hotel. We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time.
Just a warning for AUSTRALIANS - don't try to change your Aussie Dollars at the reception, they must think it's a banana republic's money and they don't accept it!

Wolf & Julia

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear GUEST

Thank you for all your wonderful comments on the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted to hear that our rooms and STAFF made your stay comfortable.

WOW what fantastic sighting! You are truly so luck to see all of the big five especially the Leopard which turned up in your night drive.

Thank you for staying over at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great accommodation,excellent service and brilliant location on the doorstep of the knp.
Appreciated the extra touches like having the night drive from Paul Kruger gate pick us up at the hotel plus helping us warm up our kosher food
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moshe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear GUEST

Thank you for posting you review on TripAdvisor after you resent stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. Our location with Kruger National Park as our back yard is very convenient and I am delighted that our STAFF could be of assistants in warming up your Kosher food.

Thank you for stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews