We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel right outside the gate of the Park ... a bit expensive though!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel right outside the gate of the Park ... a bit expensive though!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Strengths: Proximity to Paul Kruger Gate of Kruger National Park
Weakness: Expensive

I visited the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate in mid September 2010. This hotel is located about 90 miles from the Mpumalanga Nelspruit Airport (pronounced as MUM-ALANGA) and it takes about an hour and forty five minutes to cover that distance. It is advisable to rent a car and not take a cab as it is 5 times more economical and saved you ZAR 800 one way.

When you drive through, remember you will pass through Whiteriver and Hazyview and then you will come to Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park. The Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is about 100 metres before the Paul Kruger Gate of Kruger National Park. There are Protea Hotels in Hazyview and Nelspruit as well, but I strongly suggest that you stay in Protea Hotel Kruger Gate due to the proximity to the Paul Kruger Gate of Kruger National Park.

This hotel is best suited for a 2 night stay if you are going for a safari into the Kruger National Park (obviously you need to be a die-hard wildlife enthusiast, else there is no point coming to Kruger in the first place). There is no other reason for staying here, other than visiting Kruger. The Protea Hotel Kruger Gate (or almost all hotels in and around Kruger) is very expensive priced at approximately INR 13000 per night. This rate is inclusive of breakfast and dinner. The room facilities are as good as any other 4 Star hotels. I would not rate it is as a 5 Star as my experience was a bit below the best as there were some leakages in the bathroom and the Air Conditioning was a problem – and they took a lot of time to fix it. But I am guessing that this was a one off occurrence.

For the complete review, you can visit my blogsite [--]

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AskPranav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    286
    97
    26
    14
See reviews for
215
316
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

The hotel is a sprawling complex in genuine wilderness . There are bushbucks on the grounds . The meals have plenty of variety . The breakfast hampers are caringly made . The hotel books game drives from the SAN Parks Kruger Gate for a additional fee of 60 ZAR [ 290 + 60 = 350 ZAR per pax , 5-8 Am and 5-8 PM ] . You can book directly from the Kruger Gate Office [ 290 ZAR ] if you can walk down the 1 km distance [ office closes at 1800 hrs sharp ] . There will be no pick up and drop in that case but if there are other guests booking from the hotel , you get free rides to and from the hotel to the gate in the SAN Parks vehicle . The game drives are very nice . Try to get Bruce as the guide . He is very good . Tip him well . Self drive entry is 160 ZAR per person per day , you can leave and enter the park any number of times you want by getting reentry stamped . The hotel gives a good stay and excellent accessibility to the Southern Kruger . A very fair deal , all said and done . The Sabi Sands Game drive was not greatly recommended by destination experts as it covers only a very small area and is a dicey affair .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dranujkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

This looks like a good place to enter Kruger as the park gate is just a few hundred metres down the road. Almost as soon as we entered the park there were elephants and giraffe although you needed to go deeper to see lions and rhinos. However, there are other gates so I don't know which one is the best!

The hotel environment is like a tree house and was very pleasant. There are monkeys playing in the trees at eye level and a viewing platform from which you can see a few animals in the far distance. Negatives: there was only one computer for communal internet access and the room was small, bare and with an old bathroom. Given you are here for the safaris, you probably wont be spending much time in the room (I didnt) so it doesnt matter much. Winter (Jun-Aug) is apparently the best time, BUT IT IS FREEZING, so bring thermals and warm headgear as the best viewing times are early morning and evening. Didnt do a night safari as advised against, but would have loved to do a walking safari! Next time...

Staff mostly helpful but there were a few who werent particularly interested in being there. I think thats from the pitiful rates they are paid while the owners rake it in, not dissimilar to the rest of Africa.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripotetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Protea Kruger Gate for three nights as part of tour group. We found the rooms to be average BUT its location and staff make it a great place to stay when visiting Kruger Park. It is literally minutes away from elephants, lions, giraffes and many many animals! Its woden deck is a great place to do breakfast. Buffet Dinner is served in an outdoor restaurant at ground level. The food is average but the selection is good. There are ants and insects but it is the jungle! The rooms and beds are comfortable, large safe and closet space. Staff try hard and they succeed in making everyone feel welcome and comfortable. When planning a trip to Kruger, this is a great place to stay as it is literally only a few minutes to the entrance to Kruger!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Staff are impeccable and always there to satisfy every need. After reading some reviews on this site we were prepared for mediocre accommodation. However it was very good but be careful the monkeys don't get into your room through an open window. The evening meals are superb especially the African outdoors theme. We believe the Protea Kruger Gate is good value for money. The only downside is that the hotel is 'outside' the Park so you have to pay every time you go in.Organised tours are well worth the extra as the rangers know where to find the animals whereas by yourself you could drive for miles without seeing much!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cogtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is a wonderful hotel for seeing Kruger, and the game drives were excellent. You are in the park less than 5 minutes after driving out of reception. The hotel is excellently designed, and obviously very popular. We went to the open air meal on the Saturday night, excellent, complete with African tribal dancing, but where was the African food? (Indian curry, chinese noodles, italian pasta.......) Room was large cool, and secure, but unfortunately showed a lack of care over routine maintence. The safe was broken, and the telephone was not plugged in, but plugging it in to the hanging loose socket, didn't make it work! Both of these important items should have been checked and I think denotes a sad gap in the room care. Otherwise, couldn't fault it and would go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

I love the style of this hotel. The lobby was so open and African. The rooms were outside and I liked the style and decor. I had my laundry done at this hotel and it was done perfectly at a reasonable rate. I found breakfast to be delicous every morning (tons of fresh fruit). I had the buffet dinner, and it was also quite good, with a good variety of dishes and awesome dessert. There were cute little monkeys all over the property and they added charm to the hotel (they are quite friendly and fun to watch). The pool area was nice and inviting too. I used their internet and it was speedy and reasonably priced. Their rooms were clean and comfortable too. I can't really complain about too much. Oh, and within really short talking distance of the hotel there are tables set up with awesome African art and crafts from local vendors, and I really enjoy the things I bought from them.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
7.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
22.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
10.1 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing