We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and inviting elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seringa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seringa Lodge
Ranked #4 of 37 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Seringa Lodge for one night on our way to Kruger Park. The reception was warm, the dinner was scrumptious, the room was South African romance at it's best with lots of little added amenities. We have to plan another trip to South Africa so we can spend more time at Seringa.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have stayed at Seringa a number of times when in Mpulanga for business and for pleasure. Cecilia is a wonderful hostess and we have always felt warmly welcomed and as if we are really getting a good value for our money.

We have stayed in many of the rooms, the family room has a double bed and two twins in a separate room (bunk beds). The rooms in the main lodge all have personality and are decorated with "treasures" from Southern Hemisphere Africa. The rooms in the exterior buildings are lovely and offer a little bit more privacy should you want to really be "away" from it all.

The "honor" bar is a simple pleasure allowing you to fix your own night cap and in the winter months, sit by the roaring fire in the salon.

Breakfast is always pleasant with cooked to order eggs and a continental style buffet.

The staff is warm and helpful. Do not hesitate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Really nice lodge. We stayed here two nights to explore the panoramic route and other great places. Very beautiful garden/park and great dining room. Liked the level of service, we felt very welcome. Had two very good dinners with fantastic wines.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecspsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Cecilia is a wonderful hostess, very welcoming and her dinners are to die for! How marvellous to be eating breakfast and dinner on the verandah when there is snow in England! Large rooms with mosquito nets (if required) and good bathrooms. Beautiful garden in which to relax and look forward to a delicious dinner cooked by Cecilia, a trained chef. We went on a game drive with Roger and saw lions, rhino, elephants and buffalo but it was a very hot day and so by mid-morning the animals were resting in the shade and more difficult to spot. Still exciting though and we had a great time listening to Roger imparting his vast knowledge of the wildlife and birds.
Relax in the garden with a good book afterwards. Just heaven!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Seringa Lodge definitely marked the peak in our trip through SA! The Place is very romantic with an open Bar and a beautiful swimming pool. Breakfast was made very individually so that we had almost a different breakfast every morning. Cecilia, one of the owners, made us a 3 course dinner every night! This was actually one of the reasons we chose this place. Luckily, Cecilia is a great Chef and we were really impressed by her cooking! She made Kudu, Filet and many other great things..
Also they arranged a guided tour through Kruger Park for us and we had a great day!!

Long story short: No other B&B ever reached the high level that Seringa Lodge had set during our 3 Weeks in SA!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Seringa Lodge is a very welcoming and elegant guest house only half an hour from Kruger National Park. You won't find better value for money in the area and I would definitely recommend ordering dinner, Cecilia is a trained chef. We booked a full day safari with Roger in their open vehicle and saw loads of animals.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigVMilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Seringa Lodge is a perfect choice if you want to go on really good safari, eat fantastic food and live in a beautiful, intimate environment. In addition, the lodge itself is a wonderful oasis to retreat to between the activities. The owner-couple are really interested in giving their guests the best experience. We also stayed at another lodge near Kruger Park where we went in almost exactly the same game drive as the one Seringa Lodge offers, but this was not anywhere near as good as the one we hade from Seringa. You can probably don’t find a better safari guide than Roger! We are so happy that we chose to come here. The food that Cia cooks in the evenings is in the gourmet class. The room was clean and nicely furnished and the garden with the small pool area was really enjoyable. If we are going back to this area Seringa lodge is the obvious choice!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnymind_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.1 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.6 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Roi Guest Lodge
El Roi Guest Lodge
#6 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 37 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seringa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seringa Lodge

Property: Seringa Lodge
Address: 33 Yaverland Road, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seringa Lodge is situated on the outskirts of the quaint town of White River, in the province of Mpumalanga, South Africa. With its easy access to many places of interest, the lodge is the perfect home base for exploring the many attractions of the area such as the Kruger National Park, Panorama Route, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest. The original thatched farmhouse, set in ten hectares of peaceful garden, has been converted into a lovely guesthouse with a magnificent view of the Legogote Mountain, “The Lion Head”. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing