We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and peaceful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and peaceful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We came from Kruger to White House Lodge and found directions hard (phoned Lodge twice to get help). Long drive up to the Lodge was impressive and the bungalow we stayed in was superb - large bed, wonderful 2 chairs and our own patio! Breakfast was buffet and hot and we were not rushed. Sat on the swing seat and admired the view - 180 degree view, really spectacular. They do not serve evening meals but recommended a bar restaurant just down the road which was great - and busy!

My only regret was that we did not stay longer - I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytime19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    40
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
106
110
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have been staying at the White House Lodge about 2 or 3 times a year for the past six years. I have just spent 3 nights there over the Freedom Day weekend at the end of April and once again it was a wonderful time. Susann and Deetlef are the ideal hosts and make the stay extremely pleasant. The setting is beautiful and the location provides easy access to many attractions.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a beautiful view of the Lowveld sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmacza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had the most wonderful time. The lodge is situated in the most beautiful setting and you feel totally at peace there. The service was exceptional and Susann and her husband was the perfect hosts. We will recommend White House Lodge to all our friends. The van Wijk Family.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riana van Wijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We spent 2 nights at White House Lodge. It was a very nice and comfortable stay. It's a beautiful property with a breath taking view across the landscape. There is a nice pool area including lounge and bathroom. The location was very clean and nicely maintained.
The owners (Susann & Detlef) did everything in their warm and friendly way that we felt like home. They were helpful with recommendations and useful advices (restaurants, Krüger Park routes, etc.)
My camera broke and didn't work when we arrived. It was a no brainer for them to let me use their camera. This really saved the memories of this particular part of our trip through South Africa. They further lend us binoculars as we didn't bring our own (Thanks again!)
Remark: There's a wide selection of good South African wines to choose from at affordable prices. Enjoy it at the terrace - it's worth to do that.
Lutz B

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelsheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Unfortunately we only spend 1 night at this wonderful place. We were on our way from Kruger NP to Johannesburg and our stay at the White House Lodge was the perfect finish of a wonderful trip. We immediately loved the place and felt like home. Susann - the owner of the lodge - gave us a very warm welcome and showed us around. The rooms where overwhelming. It's amazing how tasteful and "feel like home" the interior is. The 4 of us entered the lodge and immediately had the very same thought going through our heads: Damn! Why are we only staying for one night???? How could we arrange to stay at least one more week???

Susann made a reservation for us at a nice restaurant nearby (Da Loose Mongoose) and we really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere at the restaurant.

Rooms:
The rooms were perfect. The beds are excellent and the bathroom is great (I really loved the shower). => tasteful, big, feel like home (although I'll probably never have such a stylish + great bedroom at home ;-) )

Breakfast:
What shall I say????? Susann and Detlef really spoiled us. There was a huge variety of fruit, tasty marmelade, they even offered Nutella. Bacon, eggs, perfect coffee (Saeco machine), hot chocolate, tea, ..... => just perfect!!!!

Surroundings:
WOW!!!!! The lodge is surrounded by overwhelming nature. You have a stunning view on the area nearby. You can actually sit on a garden swing, read a book and enjoy the panoramic view of White River. It's really awesome.
There is also a pool with everything you need: sun lounger, bathroom, lounge, .....

If I ever come back to South Africa, I would stay at White House Lodge for at least 5 days to relax after exciting days at Kruger NP.
Of course you could also stay at the lodge an visit Kruger as a day trip. The owners Susann and Detlef always have good advices on how to plan a day trip to Kruger or other destinations nearby and help with the organisation of your trips.

Conclusion: PERFECT place, which I can strongly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Upon arriving via taxi from the local airport, we were met by Susann in the parking area. Although we probably should have rented a car at the airport, Susann & Detlef ensured that we were immediatekly made to feel at home and quickly arranged not only for transport to a local restaurant for dinner, but also had our trips arranged with local tour guides to Kruger Park and other attractions within a couple of hours. On another evening, Susann cooked for the guests staying with her, which was absolutely fantastic and very reasonably priced. We stayed at the White House for three days and due to the extremely high level of service provided by Susann & Detlef, we could not have had a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

When on business in the nelspruit area, i stay only at one place, White House Lodge. I have been comming here for the past 10 years when the lodge was called Boganvilla Lodge. i have seen the transformation over the years and this has been amazing to say the least. Working in a stressfull and high powered business environoment, it is super to arrive at the White House Lodge, receive a friendly warm welcome and then just wind down. The lodge is well situated and even when the premises is full with guests they are not in your face and its still very quiet.....when I need time out for myself, i walk to the end of the garden and perch myself on the rock overlooking the valley..... and recharge my 'batteries'..
The food presented is simply great. breakfast comes with fresh fruits, various cereals, yogurts and a hot plate of food... eggs, bacon, tomato, toast etc. Dinner is supurb and also comes with a touch of German and even Turkish cuisine ...really wholesome home cooking.
the facility is clean, neat and tidy with all the normal amenities one would expect from an upmarket Lodge. In winter there is a nice big log fire on the go in the comfortable lounge where one can relax and even watch a little TV.........REALLY GREAT PLACE ....

Room Tip: A of the rooms, each one has its own unique feature..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
5.6 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.0 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 36 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Lodge

Property: White House Lodge
Address: PO Box 4490 | White River, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White House Lodge is situated 5 km out of White River close to Kruger National Park and Blyde River Canyon and offers you comfortable and affordable accommodation. Enjoy the magnificent views and tranquility of our place. Relax at our pool area or let us spoil you with international food and South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your White House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing