We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austrian Influence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Austrian Influence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

One of the better hotels in the area. Lovely setting, beautiful rooms, with special attention to detail. The staff has always been friendly, but frankly seem a bit over-worked. Although not rated, Oliver's can easily be a 5 star hotel, it has such a pleasant atmosphere. The owner, an adorable and genuinely pleasant lady, which will assist where she can. The spa feels a bit like an after-thought. Certainly more a beauty and pamper spa than a proper massage spa. Book in advance though. Oliver's certainly worth a try when you in the area again, its well located for day trips in an around the area. Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review, kind words and honesty. Our Wellness & Beauty Clinic opened in the beginning of July after our renovations and it`s looking great. Our Menu has also changed and our guests and local visitors are really enjoying the new options. We hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    53
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
158
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked at Oliver's again on our way to the Kruger Park. We arrived just after 6 pm and had to wait for about 10 mins for someone to check us in. This was the only blemish on a memorable stay. We were upgraded(without asking) from a double to a suite. On entering the room from the welcome sherry, to the space and luxurious fitting's it felt like home from home.Really nicely thought out fitting's we were impressed. We also stayed fro dinner and once again the food was excellent, good varied menu and excellent wine list. We are not breakfast people but after our glorious dinner we couldnt resist. We had the continental and was full up so declined the cooked breakfast. looking at the next table it looked marvelous.If your looking for somewhere a little special then it has to be "oliver's " dont miss out

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmanJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review and honesty. We hope that you will return soon, en-route to the Kruger or when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This wonderful Lodge is expertly run by the owner who is always around to make you feel special. The food is superb. From enjoying a Pre dinner drink in the cosy lounge or bar to the wonderful service with masterful food. It's a special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jking29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Manager at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We thank you for your kind words and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope tha you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

A tranquil experience of note. Beautiful rooms with modern furnishings. The staff are exceptionally friendly and restaurant is a must to visit. I had a bit of noise coming from the road in front but it was not that big a concern. I'm sure the other rooms will not be bothered by the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Manager at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We thank you for your lovely review and hope to welcome you here at Oliver`s again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

While staying nearby at the Pine Lake Resort for our honeymoon, my husband and I decided to try Oliver's Restaurant one night. We were so glad we did. We enjoyed pre-dinner cocktails in the lounge while we warmed up by the enormous fireplace. On Mondays the restaurant serves a limited dinner selection however there were options we both enjoyed. The potato and leek soup was divine and the wine recommended by our server was so delicious we ended up buying a bottle for a friend we were going to visit later in trip. My husband's steak was cooked to perfection and soft as bubblegum, comparable only to a mind-blowing steak we had last summer in Lisbon. My husband was so impressed he begged to return the next night to sample their full menu. Round two was just as delicious and the crème brûlée was a wonderful ending to a beautiful dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda31184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaRufErrath, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to South Africa. Kind Regards - Tanja Ruf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Honeymoon there: warm personal, great rooms with view on the golf course. Any meal has been special, a table dedicated to us with flowers and candles. They have given us only good suggestions, and prices are right. Food is amazing, the softest filet of beef ever, and an excellent selection of wines and brandy. We wanna go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in South Africa and thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

My travel agent picked this hotel, but I don't think I was a good choice. The biggest problems were in the bathroom. When the guests in the room above used their sink or toilet, the water came up thru the drain in our bathtub. Not nice. The shower had lots of mold or mildew in it. There was lots of road noise in our room as well.
The staff were pleasant and food was good in the hotel restaurant.
I wouldn't sent friends here and think it would be easy to find a better value in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkisWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our lodge. We apologize for our late reply, but we have only now familiarized ourselves properly with TripAdvisor - took some getting used to - a little technology-challenged!! ;)

We do apologize profusely about your bad experience in our bathrooms however are happy to report that in the meantime we have undergone major renovations and have re-grouted our showers and baths and have replaced our plumbing pipes in that part of the house, which were giving us endless problems. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to Oliver’s in the future as we trust that you will have a most enjoyable stay.

Regards - Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
10.1 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
18.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
18.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge

Property: Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Address: On the White River Country Estate, Pine Lake Drive, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush forests of the Mpumalanga province, the lodge is situated on the secure White River Country Estate and overlooks the first green of the 18-hole championship White River Golf Course. The area is well known, not only for its superb temperate sub-tropical climate, summer as well as winter, but also for its many scenic and adventurous attractions. The lodge is within close proximity of the world-renowned Kruger National Park as well as the Blyde River Canyon with panoramic drives along the escarpment and lies in a Malaria-free area. The nearby Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport gives easy access to and from any major city local and international. The Restaurant Mouth-watering continental & mediterranean dishes are served from our a-la-carte menu together with only the finest wines from our well-stocked wine cellar. Fun-dining with fondue and raclette may be enjoyed in the privacy and irresistible romantic ambience of our wine cellar. We cater for all functions i.e. weddings, special family occasions, conferences, wine tastings, etc. The Lodge The intimate comfort of our establishment and our beautifully appointed rooms allow our guests to experience the marriage between Austrian flair and subtle African influences. We offer different room categories: - 4 Exclusive Standard Rooms - 1 Exclusive Standard Family Room - 5 Luxury Rooms - 2 Executive Suites - 1 Luxury Family House with 4 bedrooms & 3 bathrooms All rooms have private verandas or balconies with splendid views over the golf course. They are individually furnished with King-sized beds – twin beds may be requested. The bathrooms are all en-suite with separate showers and baths, heated towel-rails and luxury bathroom amenities. Wellness & Beauty Clinic The in-house Wellness and Beauty Clinic is operated by professional health and skincare therapists and offers a variety of massages, face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing