We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Country Hotel - extremely pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly Country Hotel - extremely pleasant”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here as we wanted to play golf at Leopards Creek & this being one of the few hotels in the area which is affiliated with the course. The drive to Leopards Creek took over an hour & a half due to roadworks , but it was worth the effort!
Oliver's made a very pleasant change to the large 5 star places we normally stay in - the staff were so friendly and went out of their way in their effort to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The food was very acceptable , the rooms spacious and well appointed( though slightly dated) . Having said that it was very homely and comfortable . Our rooms overlooked the swimming pool and golf course , with a large terrace to sit on. The hotel is set in some pretty & well maintained gardens.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear mam,

Thank you so much for your positive and honest review of our lodge! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and playing golf at Leopard Creek of course.
We would love to welcome you back at Oliver's in the future.
Kind Regards Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    56
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
66
168
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I just got back from my honey moon in South Africa and I can't wait to tell you about this place.
The location is splendid, surrounded by nature, great views of the Mpumalanga hills.
The room was beautiful, with a comfortable huge bed, sat tv, a terrace with a great view.
The bathroom was elegant and stylish.
My wife enjoyed a great massage in the spa while I rested in the swimming pool.
Staff was just GREAT. They welcomed us and made us feel at home.
They were not intrusive or invasive at all, they were ready to give us suggestions and clues on how to have a great time.
Basically we felt CUDDLED.
We had dinner in the in-house restaurant and food was perfetct. My wife had the Qudu whilst I tried the filet. Just exquisite.
They organised for us a candle light dinner and when we got back to our room, there were candles, rose petals and a complimentary bottle of wine.
Just perfect. Thank you guys for this experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdgiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our lodge and staff especially! It is of course our biggest aim for our guests to have a most pleasurable experience here.
We would love to welcome you back at Oliver's again in the future and hope that married life is treating you well :)

Kind Regards Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife & I have had the pleasure of staying at this Lodge over the years. We find the venue perfect for visits to White River & always enjoy the luxury & the tranquility.

The Hotel is purpose built & has a wonderful view out over the golf course. The gardens are immaculate & one is woken in the morning by beautiful bird song. The rooms are spacious & have all the necessary amenities to ensure a comfortable stay.

The restaurant is top class. The dinner menu changes constantly & the fare is innovative, fresh & artistically presented. Service is professional & slick. Breakfasts are also excellent, with a wide variety & promptly & correctly served.

The Host, Tanya, is omnipresent & sets the tone & ambiance of the Lodge. Kudos to her & her team for always ensuring a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review of our lodge! We appreciate it when our guests leave here feeling satisfied and valued, whether they are first time clients or revisiting ones like you and your wife. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again in the future.

Kind Regards Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansonville
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very well located just of an inexpensive golf course, the rooms are spacious and well decorated. The food is excellent and the personal is very dedicated to the customers. You do not have time to park the car and the personal is out of the hotel to greet you and take care of your luggages

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Mr. Cadoret,

We thank you for your positive review of our lodge! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back at Oliver's again in the future.

Regards Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in November 2012 and I can't believe I forgot to post a review! All in all a great experience, the standard rooms are beautifully decorated and very well appointed. The staff and management are very friendly and engaging, and the cherry on top is the breakfast in Oliver's Restaurant - an old favourite of mine. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had been to this lodge in past but when I visited last week, it was just like old times. The staff bend over backwards for customers. I stayed in a standard room, but there is nothing standard about this room, immaculate spacious and just beautiful

Room Tip: The place is perfect any room goes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeskyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Oliver's is a wonderful lodge with 4 star dinning and the best customer service we have experienced in our trip to South Africa. They stayed up late and provided us a wonderful meal even though we were were very late arriving from Joburg. They have lovey rooms and great meals
I would stay there any chance I could.

Room Tip: all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review, kind words and honesty. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at Oliver`s and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
10.1 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
181 reviews
18.0 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
18.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
255 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
837 reviews
0.6 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge

Property: Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Address: On the White River Country Estate, Pine Lake Drive, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush forests of the Mpumalanga province, the lodge is situated on the secure White River Country Estate and overlooks the first green of the 18-hole championship White River Golf Course. The area is well known, not only for its superb temperate sub-tropical climate, summer as well as winter, but also for its many scenic and adventurous attractions. The lodge is within close proximity of the world-renowned Kruger National Park as well as the Blyde River Canyon with panoramic drives along the escarpment and lies in a Malaria-free area. The nearby Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport gives easy access to and from any major city local and international. The Restaurant Mouth-watering continental & mediterranean dishes are served from our a-la-carte menu together with only the finest wines from our well-stocked wine cellar. Fun-dining with fondue and raclette may be enjoyed in the privacy and irresistible romantic ambience of our wine cellar. We cater for all functions i.e. weddings, special family occasions, conferences, wine tastings, etc. The Lodge The intimate comfort of our establishment and our beautifully appointed rooms allow our guests to experience the marriage between Austrian flair and subtle African influences. We offer different room categories: - 4 Exclusive Standard Rooms - 1 Exclusive Standard Family Room - 5 Luxury Rooms - 2 Executive Suites - 1 Luxury Family House with 4 bedrooms & 3 bathrooms All rooms have private verandas or balconies with splendid views over the golf course. They are individually furnished with King-sized beds – twin beds may be requested. The bathrooms are all en-suite with separate showers and baths, heated towel-rails and luxury bathroom amenities. Wellness & Beauty Clinic The in-house Wellness and Beauty Clinic is operated by professional health and skincare therapists and offers a variety of massages, face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing