We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay but boutique hotel was an overstatement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean,breakfast at Magnolia restaurant are a delight. However we were here on a weekend and it became quite obvious that it was a weekendevent for local moms to come together over breakfast with their children...well lets say it wasn´t quiet and cosy at this moment.But all together it was a nice experience and the staff was very friendly.I just wonder why all over the world beds at nice hotels feel like they were made of concrete?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Booked through the very helpful "Go2Africa" as a stop en route from Jo'burg to Kruger. Quoted package with other hotels so not sure exactly what the rate was for this one but was a good choice. Very comfortable overnight stay for family of 4 (family room double bed plus two singles). Rooms are well furnished - boutique hotel style and the website portrays them fairly. Breakfast is good (do try the breakfast muffins) and evening room service froma cross the way delivered with a smile (the steak recommended).
Location among the Casterbridge Hollow little shopping complex convenient (e.g. bank cash machine). Didn't stay long enough to enjoy all the facilities etc.
NB (1) sign posting for hotel off the main road could be better (easy to miss and drive past) and (2) if booking direct on phone make sure no confusion about where you are booking - there's a sister hotel (Hippo Hollow) and ahd a subsequent mix up when sought to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCBLEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

What a fabulous boutique hotel. Rooms are spacious and modern. Staff are friendly and breakfast at the magnolia restaurant is delicious! Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was a short trip with friends to visit the Kruger area. The hotel has a nice location near the Nelspruit airport along with all the surrounding area attractions. It was particularly nice for a group of four ladies wanting a bit of shopping and good food.

We arrived at 1pm and were told that one of our rooms was ready and the other would be ready shortly. Since the hotel was practically empty, I was a bit surprised. We went to Magnolia, the restaurant associated with the hotel, to have lunch while we waited for the other room. Our waiter, Gift, was so personable and fun and the food was some of the best we've had in the area. Every meal we ate at Magnolia was fantastic and the chef is very well trained.

The size of the room was good and appeared clean, but we felt there were a few "misses" that could improve the hotel. There is no news channel available on DSTV and would have been appreciated. The beds were comfortable, however, the quilts on the beds definitely don't get laundered after each stay as both were dirty looking with a few stains. Since the hotel advertised Wifi internet available in the rooms, we bought vouchers for unlimited usage for our stay. Needless to say, after several different trips back and forth to the reception with no success, we gave up and just asked for a refund. They apologized and said they had been having problems and would let their IT department know.

There were two things which were totally unacceptable to us during our 3 night stay. The worst was having no hot water for showers after a long day in the Kruger park! We reported it, they called to say it was fixed but the hot water only lasted for less than 10 seconds! With so few people staying at the hotel I'm not sure why we didn't have hot water. The other problem came when we requested a sack breakfast since we were leaving for our tour at 5:30 am. Someone phoned at 10pm to say that the sack lunches were ready, but we had already turned in for the night over 30 minutes before and were awakened by the phone. That is not professional hotel standards for us and were quite irritated by the late call. We feel that a bit more training would benefit the staff to make the quests stay more pleasant.

Even with the few misses, a good time was had by all and the food at Magnolia made our stay worthwhile!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcianluanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasonsInAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Guest

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at Casterbridge Hollow with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals at Magnolia Restaurant and that the staff was friendly and helpful. We sincerely value your constructive feedback and look forward to hosting you again in the near future to share our improvements with you.

Kind regards,

Casterbridge Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel is very well located, with plenty of good restaurants and shops around and also not too far from the Kruger for one-day outing.

The premises are very nice as this hotel is new. Rooms are nicely decorated with plenty of space as well

Unfortunately during our stay power was off for more than 24 hours, which means no TV, no Internet, Etc. The restaurant was open, but since there was no power we had some concerns about how fresh would the food have been. Coming back at night was no fun as there was no light around the path and stairs going into our rooms.

The management could and should have provided with us with torches and should also have communicated with us. There was no staff or no info during the whole time and no communication.

in addition, front staff are beginners and have difficulties understanding our queries. Poorly managed with no senior or responsible staff around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulysse1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasonsInAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest

We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts about our hotel and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our lovely rooms and location.

We apologise for the power outage that you experienced during your stay. This is the first time that we have experienced such a long power outage, we are usually informed by Eskom if they plan any scheduled outages for maintenance and then able to inform our guests ahead of time.

We take your comments into consideration and will ensure that our staff is better equipped to handle these situations in future.

Kind regards,
Casterbridge Hollow Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel is well located, not far from Krugger Park and can be a good base to visit the park. The hotel is good and new and no claims about it.
However one thing that puts me nervous was the restaurant so slow, but sometimes we have to adapt ourselves to this specialy in Africa

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The Casterbridge Hollow is an awesome launching or finishing point for your trip to Kruger. It is nicely situated in White River about 25 minutes from the Numbie Gate and about 20 minutes from the Nelsprit airport. It is a really beautiful hotel with a lap pool in the middle of the courtyard, beautifully modern appointed rooms and a great breakfast all for a very reasonable price. There is a great little shopping area connected with the hotel where you can get the best souvenirs we found, a spa if you would like a great massage, about 4 really good restaurants and a barn theater that hosts some awesome local entertainment. It is close to White River that has a bunch of additional shopping and a great little fast food chicken restaurant called Nandos.

The staff at the hotel, at the Casterbridge center and Nandos were magnificent. The beds were the most comfortable we slept in during our three weeks in South Africa. You will not be disappointed to make this hotel your beginning or your end to a vacation in Kruger.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
19.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
8.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
188 reviews
19.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
327 reviews
2.5 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range: £107 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing