We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
san juan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

close to shooping, and restaurants! beautiful outdoors, rooms are very spacious, and confortable. the view from all the room is to the pool, wich is very beautiful in the morning! Bathrooms, were not my favorites. there is a great restaurant that you may go walking, I forgot the name, but food, and wine there is awesome!!! there is no room service late night! :-(

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watagata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    104
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
55
113
13
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed at some other hotels and lodges in White River, but the accommodations and convenience at this hotel are hard to beat. First, and the most important thing, is that the bed is one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. We liked the more modern take on furnishings and the hotel's design, and were pleasantly surprised when we found that all the rooms face a beautiful courtyard and pool. We also appreciated the fact that the hotel was the first green hotel in Mpumalanga province. Whenever we visit Kruger we have to wake up extremely early and as its a 12-13 hour day on the game drive (including transportation time between the hotel and the park), we always want to take a short walk to get to a good restaurant--Casterbridge offers just that. We have taken advantage of the hotel's breakfast and it was fantastic. We were also pleasantly surprised when the hotel staff let us know that we could have a packed breakfast that we could take with us to Kruger. For the price, this hotel was hard to beat and especially taking into consideration the price of lodging in Kruger.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Boutique Hotel with spacious well appointed Rooms. Close to a major road so a bit noisy at night. Magonlia Restaurant offers the best food we've had in a while and the shopping at Casterbridge Lifestyle Centre was the highlight of our stay!! Helpful staff

Room Tip: Ask for a Room away from the main Road. Breakfast and Dinner at Magnolia a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Casterbridge Hotel in Whiteriver in Feb 2012 as a couple and while we had some gripes because the towels were smelly and the poor staff who were clearly beginners, we had a really great time, specifically enjoying the amazing surroundings.

Things went horribly wrong on the last evening of our stay, when relaxing in our room after a shower, we heard keys jiggling in our door! The door was opened and quickly shut again... NO knocking, despite our lights being on. It was security doing room checks - and he'd "gotten his numbers mixed up". Our door was LOCKED, yet no knocking, just using a master key to gain access.

On raising this incident to managements attention they 'profusely apologized' and said it was an 'honest mistake'. Too many things taken in account allowed us to believe that, especially since it was our last night and security had a piece of paper which clearly showed the room as occupied.

No less it was a very restless night, and a free buffet breakfast (toast, jam, fruit) given to us the following morning as an apology, which their GM felt appropriate for the trouble.... We gave them an opportunity after we left to make it up to us, since we felt that in consideration to the price of a night at the hotel, the breakfast was not adequate to make amends. Management however felt it was not required.

We certainly will not frequent any Seasons in Africa hotels again.

Room Tip: Leave your keys in your door lock at night....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieWhiteRiver, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We would like take the opportunity to again profusely apologise for the genuine mistake made by the Security Guard who entered your room. Part of our responsibility as a Green Hotel, is to avoid excess electricity usage by checking unoccupied rooms each evening to ensure the air conditioner and lights are off. This is what our Security Guard was doing when he entered your room; he was deeply distraught at his error, and most anguished about causing you discomfort and distress. To make certain this does not happen again, we have put a new checking system into operation, and have also implemented further staff training.

A breakfast at Magnolia Café was extended to you and your partner to apologise for this most unfortunate mistake.

Once again, I would like to extend my sincere apologies to you.

Kind Regards
Peace Malomane
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean,breakfast at Magnolia restaurant are a delight. However we were here on a weekend and it became quite obvious that it was a weekendevent for local moms to come together over breakfast with their children...well lets say it wasn´t quiet and cosy at this moment.But all together it was a nice experience and the staff was very friendly.I just wonder why all over the world beds at nice hotels feel like they were made of concrete?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Booked through the very helpful "Go2Africa" as a stop en route from Jo'burg to Kruger. Quoted package with other hotels so not sure exactly what the rate was for this one but was a good choice. Very comfortable overnight stay for family of 4 (family room double bed plus two singles). Rooms are well furnished - boutique hotel style and the website portrays them fairly. Breakfast is good (do try the breakfast muffins) and evening room service froma cross the way delivered with a smile (the steak recommended).
Location among the Casterbridge Hollow little shopping complex convenient (e.g. bank cash machine). Didn't stay long enough to enjoy all the facilities etc.
NB (1) sign posting for hotel off the main road could be better (easy to miss and drive past) and (2) if booking direct on phone make sure no confusion about where you are booking - there's a sister hotel (Hippo Hollow) and ahd a subsequent mix up when sought to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCBLEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

What a fabulous boutique hotel. Rooms are spacious and modern. Staff are friendly and breakfast at the magnolia restaurant is delicious! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
8.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
177 reviews
19.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
341 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
247 reviews
2.5 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Property: Casterbridge Hollow
Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing