We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed at Casterbridge on a recent business trip. The hotel was very clean and spacious. The meeting space and accomodations were good. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond to make our stay good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear tntravler_9

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and would like to welcome you back again, be it for another meeting or leisure.

Safe travels.

Casterbridge Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    100
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
53
111
12
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Recently spent one evening at the hotel with family on route to KNP. The overall appearance of hotel is good, but is certainly more geared to the business traveler. Found the hotel slightly pricy for what it offered.
The family rooms are very spacious and can certainly not fault. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.
Only complaint is the busy highway which runs next to the hotel with constant traffic noise, especially during the night.
Dinner at the restaurant was terrible, only way to describe it. It was a Sunday night and I can only assume the manager and cheff were off duty because the reviews I have read about the restraunt were good.

Hotel does have a nice shopping centre adjacent to it. Overall was not bad, but would think twice about returning, particularly at the rates they charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Kevin M

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the family room spacious and to your liking. We are aware of the noise that travels from the road to the rooms and we are busy working on a solution for that.

We hope that you have safe travels in the future and that one day we can welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Casterbridge Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

What an experience! Friendly, honest and helpful service. Finishes of the highest quality. Do not look any further.....book this establishment right away! The staff were extremely friendly and are always looking to assist with any queries you may have. The hotel is tucked away behind an adjoining shopping/hotel complex so you must keep a close eye out for the signs. We were in a first floor room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquesviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for one night on a weekday when everything in town was fully booked. The property is fantastic, and the bedroom is BIG. This is the best and bigger bed I ever sleep in South Africa. The decor is great and all the rooms face a beautiful pool.

However, considering the rate you pay, the service is not balanced with the property. The TV has only a few (6) channels, and the WiFi should be free!!!! An hotel that charges their customers for Internet access is outdated. In-room WiFi is essential as a working shower or air conditioning and that it needed to be offered free, fast, and reliably (www.hotelchatter.com/story/2013/4/27/12444/1162/hotels/The_2013_HotelChatter_Hotel_WiFi_Report)

The breakfast, served at the attached restaurant Magnolia, is nothing special (anything you can find at Wimpi's for R50), I think for this kind of hotel, a breakfast buffet with many options would be the best match (like StayEasy offers to all the guests).

Room Tip: Try the rooms far from the main road to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPratas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Just finishing off a week at Casterbridge Hollow and do not have a bad word to say about the place.
The staff were extremely friendly and are always looking to assist with any queries you may have.
Wifi is freely available in the hotel and surrounding bars and restaurants.
The hotel is ideally situated if you want to travel around the area and is with short distance of various animal sanctuaries.
White River golf and country club is only a five minute taxi drive away.
If requiring a taxi the local driver Sam is also on call at all times of day and night.
His knowledge of the local area is second to none.
All in all a lovely part of the world.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank The_scoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for one night en-route to Johannesburg from Kruger National Park. The hotel is tucked away behind an adjoining shopping/hotel complex so you must keep a close eye out for the signs.
We were in a ground floor room close to the road, but we didn't notice any road noise at night. However, our traveling companions who were staying next door did comment on the road noise.
The accommodation wings are built in a rectangle overlooking a very nice pool area situated in the middle. Room balconies overlook the pool area.
Bedrooms are quite large and very tastefully furnished and decorated with separate bathroom and toilet. Air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities and in-room safe are standard. Free Wi Fi is not available; you must pay for it.
The hotel contains no public facilities such as a bar and restaurant. Dining facilities are catered for by a restaurant adjacent to the hotel, which is part of the adjoining retail complex. We had dinner there and the meal was excellent. Breakfast is also served in the ground floor of the restaurant. The breakfast was a simple continental buffet with hot breakfasts also available separately. There is a pub if you want a drink, but it (and other shops) were closed on the Sunday we were there. The restaurant has a bar if you want a drink before dinner.

Room Tip: To play safe, ask for a room away from local traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at the Casterbridge Hollow over the Easter weekend.
Reservation experience: Took 3-4 phone calls before finalised
Rooms: Stayed in a family room - spacious and very well-equiped. RIght above the outside of the reception area and very, very noisy. Guests returning late at night and buses leaving early in the morning, people takling constantly.
Bathroom amenities e.g facecloths not replaced timeously
Service: Good
Dining: Excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner at Magnolia (deserves 4 stars)
Location: Excellent
Gym: Website and ervices offer the gym as an option should a guest want to use it (not part of the hotel) it was closed for the entire weekend
No room service

Room Tip: Family rooms above reception are noisy
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
8.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.5 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
19.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Property: Casterbridge Hollow
Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing