We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Unfortunalely, our one night stay in November 2013 was far away from good. We arrived after a long drive and were looking for a nice sleep. The hotel itself as well as the rooms looked really nice, although the location was horrible (right next to a big roundabout and a main road with lots of traffic). Once we have settled in our room we suddenly heard our neighbours arrive. We could tell every single word. We could even detect their language with no windows or doors open. The rooms had very poor sound isolation. We then asked for a different room, but the same issue there as well. In the end we slept very poorly and would never again book into this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Yasmin R

We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
We will be taking your review to heart and try and find a solution to the problem.

may you have safe travels in the future and maybe just maybe we will see you again.

Friendly Greetings
Casterbridge Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel during the Panorama Cycle tour and must say this hotel offers everything. Wi-fi, awesome staff, big rooms and wonderfull service.

Will gladly recommend it to anybody who wants to stay at this hotel.

Thank you very much Casterbridge Hollow Hotel. Hope to see you again in 2014

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Pieter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Pieter A

Thank you for posting your review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very excited to welcome you back to our hotel in the new year.

Safe travels and see you soon.

Regards
Casterbridge Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have been staying at Casterbridge Hollow for about a year and a half whilst working in the area. The Hotel is situated in a "mini-village" which has a gym, cinema, restaurants and shops making it great especially if travelling alone.

The rooms are clean and well kept and the staff always happy to help with any needs. The only challenge is the noise - the walls are very thin between rooms and so you can hear your neighbours TV and conversations. I have started bringing ear-plugs which have remedied this problem.

I prefer to stay in rooms 26 - 28 purely because they are in the middle of the hotel and I stay and travel alone.

Hoping they add an extra lock in the rooms for safety but otherwise I love staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskysaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Hi Huskysaffa

Thank you for your review of out hotel. We are very glad to hear that you are enjoying your stays with us. We are proud that you've been a return guest for so long and we hope that we can welcome you to our hotel for many more years to come.

Awaiting your return.
Casterbridge Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Horribly noisy from a wedding at the restaurant opposite our room. Never warned, unhelpful reception. Little sleep and woke up to no water in the hotel. Good breakfast though at the very same restaurant that made the noise!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Zerolith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We at Casterbridge Hollow would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the wedding and the unforeseen water problem that occurred. I can gladly report that the problem was attended to and sorted as soon as we found out. Thank you for making us aware of the reception situation and we will handle it accordingly.

Hope that we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the future so that we can leave you with a pleasant memory of Casterbridge Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed and held an eveny at Casterbridge during September. The room was spacious and very comfortable and modern with good facilities provided and a good size modern bathroom. The hotel had a magnificent swimming pool surrounded by garden chairs and loungers lovely for lounging around the pool. The hotel is located on the main road, a bit noisy but with the comfortable bed and linen you sleep through it all. The hotel is connected to the Magnolia restaurant where you would have breakfast and dinner. The food was excellent and service very good indeed.
The staff was so helpful and delivered excellent service during our event always ensuring warm drinks and cold drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatinkaLeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you KatinkaLeeson for your review.
We at Casterbridge Hollow always strive to keep our guests happy and comfortable.

Hope to welcome you back to our hotel for the next function that you may be planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at this hotel and found it to be very nice. The room was spacious and very comfortable with good facilities provided and a good size modern bathroom. (the taps were a bit odd being a spray spout which sprayed outside the shallow basin!) The hotel had a magnificent swimming pool surrounded by garden chairs and loungers in a nice garden. The hotel is located on the main road, which made it a bit noisy but not too bad. The hotel is connected to the Magnolia restaurant where you would have breakfast and dinner. The food was excellent and service very good indeed.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyC086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear JeremyC076

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to our Hotel some time in the future. In the mean time, we will see if we can rectify the problem you experienced with the tap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great service. Had a dinner function at the Magnolia, the venue was breathtaking, the food magnificent. It was truly a pleasureable experience. Thank you for a wonderful evening andwwould highly recommend this venue in Nelspruit

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thabi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Evening Thabi01

Thank you for your lovley comments of Magnolia. We are really happy that you enjoyed the food and the venue. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Awaiting you next arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
19.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
8.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in White River
193 reviews
19.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
285 reviews
2.5 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 9 in White River
229 reviews
19.3 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: £97 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing