We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bordering on unbearable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casterbridge Hollow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bordering on unbearable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were put in a very noisy room that was basically on the highway with a broken air conditioner and no bath. They moved us to a room with a bath and a working air conditioner but the carpet was stained, the water was sporadic and the shower was cramped. The restaurant was awful. We had terrible pizzas which were very expensive. All in all an unpleasant experience. Wouldn't stay here again and certainly wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    97
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
53
111
10
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
347 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We were a large group on our way to the Kruger Park and Casterbridge Hollow Hotel was the perfect place to break the journey and get to the Kruger Gate early on the following day. Check-in was handled in a very friendly and professional way with a glass of sherry to welcome us on arrival. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and the beds very comfortable. Dinner at Magnolia restaurant was lovely and breakfast very good. I can recommend this hotel to anybody traveling through or even to use as a base from which to do day-trips into to National Park. I will certainly return myself.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Casterbridge Hollow for a day on 28 May 2014.

It was a very cosy comfortable stay since we were not looking for 5 star comfort.

The courtesy shown by the staff won our hearts!
The food at Magnolia was very good and suited our pallet.
We would recommend it as an excellent option en-route to Bongani or ahead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanatan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were travelling as a group of friends and arrived to a most warm welcome by the staff, Zandile and Mpho
The dinner at their restaurant Magnolia was excellent with Elvis taking good care of us.
The rooms were spacious and warm for the cold winter nights
Thank you Jamie and your team for a superb all round experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Overnighted at the hotel. Fabulous from the moment arrived to departure. Assisted by Mpho and Zandele at the front desk who made everything quick and charming. Fabulous and stylish room with great bathroom. Breakfast at Magnolia restaurant was delicious. Great staff. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room was simple, spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The staff were friendly and the breakfast at Magnolia next door was a highlight! We had a couple of niggles though. When we arrived we found the towels were not changed from the previous guests and there was also no minibar. The wifi was very slow and stopped working completely on the second day. We also found that the room can get noisy if the room next door had their TV on and a main road also runs quite close by. Used towels were removed without being replaced on the second day, as was the complimentary water. For the rates this hotel charges it does not live up to the expectation and many other establishments in the area offer more luxury and service for less money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

if you check out the promotional photos .... the pool area is lovely, granted.

We traveled with a group and suffice to say Casterbridge Hollow and the whole White River location & experience was a disappointment - it was a waste of our precious holiday time and if we had the time over we would not have stayed there at all.

Cue Faulty Towers ..... We checked in and were all given twin rooms as opposed to the king rooms we had paid for. Not a good start. No mini bar, dodgy door lock and the shower looked like something out of a sub-standard prison facility ! When we asked for an iron & ironing board - what arrived was a joke. The ironing board was like a child's toy, barely stayed upright and the iron's cable was frayed with loose wires poking out - scary !

Unfortunately the experience at White Riven really put a 'downer' on our South African adventure. There appears to be no reason to stay there, the hotel owners also own the shopping centre & restaurants and it appears our travel agent is a family member who just booked us in there to support the family business.

Room Tip: the room looked ok as we entered, not a bad size, pretty basic - no mini bar, dodgy door lock, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
7.4 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.3 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
22.7 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
21.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Property: Casterbridge Hollow
Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing