We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fabulous!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff was very very nice;
The room was very cleaned well decorated and cosy.

The welcome drink was very nice too;

The swimming pool and the Magonila Restaurant are simple fabulous! I'll already recommended it to at least 4 copules, because it totally worths the value!

Room Tip: With a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majoaoramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind recommendations of our beloved Casterbridge Hollow . We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be a relaxing experience.

We cant wait to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    104
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
55
113
13
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White River, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Casterbridge Hollow is very clean and nice Hotel. This is my second time back, and everything is lovely. The staff is especially friendly and most helpful. It is in a nice location and close to Kruger. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area. Good food too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smwojdylak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are always delighted to see that our guests had a positive experience at Casterbridge Hollow . We do wish to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From the start we had a fabulous time! Welcomed by friendly staff, a cold glass of white wine and beautiful rooms. The staff was very professional, attentive and caters for all your needs. Was my second time at the hotel, and I will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarienCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Karien,

It was nice welcoming you back at Casterbridge Hollow recently.

Glad to hear that all your needs were caterd for. Looking foward seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thank you to all staff at the hotel for a very enjoyable weekend. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, the location is good (36 km from Kruger Park) and the breakfast and dinner at the Magnolia restaurant was of a very high standard. On the downside, the first night the noise of traffic was a bit annoying, but the second night I was not bothered by it any more as I probably was used to it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisanne570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Lisanne,

I would like to thank- you for you for taking your time on giving us feed back on your recent stay at Casterbridge Hollow.


We are in a process of upgrading to double glazed windows to avoid the traffic noise from the road.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Casterbridge Hollow. Beautiful rooms, excellent service and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and caters to most needs.

The restaurant just opposite has good food and is a good place to meet with friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you for choosing Casterbridge Hollow as a destination of your choice. We are honored to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to having you with us again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff were welcoming and very accommodating. The breakfast was excellent as was the food in the adjacent restaurant (Magnolia). The hotel was accessible to major attractions in the area as well a being an excellent place to just "chill" by the beautiful pool.

Room Tip: I was not aware of any difference between the different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Graham,

Thank you very musch for such a motivating feed back.


Happy to see that you were well looked after. Looking foward welcoming you back at Casterbridge Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Zandile and her staff made this an experience that was very special for me and my whole family. The proffesional way they handled all our guests for my daughters wedding was just textbook stuff. They went the extra mile. Thank you, you made this special for all of us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BernardsfromMakiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Bernard family,

Thank you for choosing Casterbridge Hollow for such a special occasion for daughter. We are honored to hear that all the wedding gust had such a wonderful and positive stay. We look forward to having you and everyone with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
8.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
177 reviews
19.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
341 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
247 reviews
2.5 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Property: Casterbridge Hollow
Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing