We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special personal experience in a paradise; UmSisi House”
Review of umSisi House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
umSisi House
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
“A special personal experience in a paradise; UmSisi House”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

UmSisi House is a warm welcome in Africa. You are really at home in Africa. Paddy and Amanada are friendly, very well cooking and know a lot about nature with a lot of experience of Africa and the local area. We and our friends would really recommend this beauty. We were to short in this beautiful house, garden and surrounding. We promised to come back to this beautiful paradise in the future.
The veranda overlooks the mountains and is completely private. It was impressively equipped with everything you could possibly want including all manner of interesting reading and reference material to consult after a days wildlife spotting! Amanda and Paddy were great hosts and gave a really personal and friendly service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietvanveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We will never forget your visit. You took such huge interest in your surroundings here at umSisi House and explored every inch of the garden and vegetable garden. In fact, whenever we complete our Garden Tree Trial we think of you! Thank you for your interest in our photographic work and we hope that you managed to find Vusi Mahlasela's 'Say Africa' as a momento of your time spent here. Kind regards Amanda and Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
100
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Looking for a break away from Johannesburg, umSisi provided the perfect answer. The hosts Paddy and Amanda have created a home away from home and ensure your every whim is catered for. Paddy is the most exceptional and passionate cook, creating delicious home cooked meals using many ingredients straight from their garden. The bedrooms are amazing, such comfortable beds and with lovely bathrooms. We enjoyed some fantastic walks straight from the house, relaxed by the swimming pool, explored the local area and above all returned back to city life feeling refreshed and revitalised. Highly recommended for a place to stay outside of the Kruger and you really will not want to leave at the end of your stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We loved having you all here. Please come back and visit again soon. Kind regards Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

umSisi House is like a little paradise, you will not find it hard to relax you might find it hard to eventually leave though..! It’s hard to find hosts that are more welcoming then Amanda and Paddy, they are a charming couple with loads of knowledge about the local area and South Africa in general. What I love about umSisi is that it’s 5 star but at the same time have a very homely feeling and you don’t find this very often! The house is beautiful and the rooms have everything you need and a little bit more. Paddy’s cooking is really something extra, the food was delicious and the wines very well chosen to compliment each dish. Paddy had no problem being creative with the food for our son who is 15 months and quite picky with what he eats, he even got him to eat cauliflower! You can easily spend a few days just relaxing at the house and by the pool and when/ if you get tired of that and want to explore the area umSisi is just 15 min from The Kruger Park and Amanda can take care of your safari booking so that you get the best experience. They can also help you with other activities in the area. Besides Kruger Park I would recommend the Panorama Route and then it’s a must to take a pit stop at Harrie’s pancakes in Graskop on the way back, yummy! You can also find nice well priced african masks at Curio D’Afrique on Hoof Street in the same town.
I can’t wait to return to umSisi, it really is a stunning place and I couldn’t recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: I would definitely book the House with either 'dinner/bed and breakfast' or 'full board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalinNiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
As we said in our reply to your Easter 2013 review , we hope you're planning a return trip soon ... You always bring such wonderful people to umSisi House and have become one of our best ambassadors. Thank you. Kind regards Amanda and Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

UmSisi Cottage way exceeded my expectations and offered a fantastic alternative (or addition!) to the kruger park camps or an expensive safari lodge. We stayed here for two nights after spending 3 in the park and in the future would definetly recommend this as a place from which to explore the Kruger with a little bit of comfort (at amazing value) at the end of the day.

The cottage is totally self contained and decorated beautifully with all things classy and african. The veranda overlooks the mountains and is completely private. It was impressively equipped with everything you could possibly want including all manner of interesting reading and reference material to consult after a days wildlife spotting!

Amanda and Paddy were great hosts and gave a really personal and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandanna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We so enjoyed your visit. Now it's time for another one! Kind regards Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Arriving at umSisi house is not only spectacular but it is also the first place I have stayed that felt instantly like home. Our hosts, Amanda and Paddy, looked after us as if we were their own, cooking the most incredible food I have ever eaten, then plying us with delicious varied and exciting wines and then packing us off to giant beds that swallowed the night away. I can not imagine staying in a more comfortable house anywhere on earth, it really is stunning. This is a hidden gem waiting for discovery and for anyone who does, you are in for a treat.
You could arrive at umSisi weary from travel, safari or holiday and leave feeling refreshed, revived and enlightened. I can not wait to come back, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlloydowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you are coming back to stay at umSisi House in January 2014 with your new baby! Kind regards Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Umsisi House is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are well appointed, beautifully looked after and very comfortable.
The hosts Amanda & Paddy are charming, very welcoming and knowledgable about the local area, South Africa in general and all aspects of the wild life. I went on two memorable visit to the Kruger Park which would have been a quite different experience without the guidance of Amanda & Paddy.
I was looked after superbly. The food & wine were delicious and plentiful!
All in all a stunning place - I couldn't recommend Umsisi House more highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We so enjoyed your visit. Now it's time for another one! Kind regards Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed at Umsisi for two days and three nights in September 2010 - and I cannot rave enough about the place! Firstly, the wonderful hosts, Paddy and Amanda, are very warm and welcoming and made us feel very much at home. The house is stunning, beautifully decorated with curios (local artifacts) - many of which I wished I could bring home - and designed for comfort. The staff were friendly and catered to every whim. Amanda has such an attention for detail - there was never a moment where we were wanting anything - as I said in the tag line - better than home! The cost was all inclusive - meals, drinks, laundry etc. I should also mention that the food was five star - better than many of the fancy restaurants - and I'm waiting for the day that Paddy produces the Umsisi cookbook!

Our primary purpose for the visit was to see Kruger National Park - which was about a 15 minute drive. We had a great experience. The guide was a walking encyclopaedia for African flora and fauna - which bode well for me and my incessant questions. Furthermore, after returning back to the house, Paddy and Amanda were incredibly patient and went through all my photos (there were hundreds) so that I could write down a description of each animal seen.

Great food and great hospitality - what more could you want? Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpeate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. That is quite an accolade! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time exploring the Kruger in a private game viewer with our gourmet picnic lunches. It was a pleasure to help you with your animal and bird identification. We think it's time that you came back to take some more photos! And thank you for our wonderful box of PNG goodies! Kind regards Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
13.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
335 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
290 reviews
13.1 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
6.1 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
308 reviews
8.5 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 36 in White River
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to umSisi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about umSisi House

Property: umSisi House
Address: 40 Plot D2 Peebles Valley Rd (off R Road | Peebles Valley, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — umSisi House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 60 hectares of pristine bush, within the Jock of the Bushveld Conservancy, umSisi House is strategically located in the Peebles Valley between the town of White River and the Numbi Gate entrance to the southern Kruger Park (15 minutes away). We offer a personal service that only a very small, privately owned and managed, five-star, luxury country house villa and gourmet getaway can provide. umSisi House is the perfect destination for groups of friends and family wishing to visit South Africa’s Kruger Lowveld region, the Panorama Route and enjoy the many adventure activities available in the immediate area. The house only caters for private groups (between 4 and 10 people) on either (a) a dinner, bed and breakfast basis or (b) a full board (all inclusive) basis. It is particularly suitable for those looking for luxury accommodation near the Kruger Park. A booking service for local activities (including bespoke Kruger safaris in open game-viewers) is also provided. All meals are planned with guests in advance to ensure that the dining experience is a daily highlight. TGCSA 5-Star Country House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing