We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in large grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and we lucky to be able to watch the Scottish Rugby team practising for the double-header games at Mbombela Stadium, Neslpruit. They lost to the Boks on the day! The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating and the food is good. The dinner menu is basic but no complaints re service.

This privately owned hotel caters mainly for conferences, sports teams, tour groups and the odd tourist like ourselves. The grounds are huge and the hotel is currently adding more rooms. The rooms are dormitory style in long blocks so do not look very exciting. We had the Bridal Suite (Room) which is not very large but has a lovely corner bath. The air-con is rather noisy but luckily we could switch this off after warming up the room.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and compliments to the staff here - they are all very friendly which makes for a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaapie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

This is a privately owned resort in White River - about 15 minutes from Mbombela (Nelspruit). It seems to attract a number of sports teams and conference groups. Yet I never felt that I was lost amongst the masses. The property is large with lots to do - lovely driving range and lap pool. Excellent buffet dinners at night. Good, basic rooms and decor. Worth a visit and very affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights as a group on a SA tour. Contrary to me fellow travelers, I did not had any problem with my room except for some ants and a strange worm all coiled up in the washroom. Others complained about the A/C noise, having colonies of ants in the room, non operating a/c and defective safe. However the food was awesome- We ate on the outside patio under millions of stars. Nice moments. The buffet had a wide choice of salads, vegetables, meat and desserts. Service was very good except for the wine. The girl must have been new on the job as she could not use a cork opener. The manager had to open the bottle. Beside this little incident, all was perfect in the dining room.

Room Tip: choose the room at the head of the row; room will be larger especially the washroom. Friends complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife and I had come to White River for our Grandson first birthday and from a bad start on our arrival in White River at (The White River Lodge )bad service and then staying at the Emnotweni Sun (Great) and then on the saturday booking in at Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort
The staff from the front door to the waiters are all help full and the price is great and it has everything from Golf, swimming pool to gym and lots of out door activate plus great meals with room service first class and breakfast to want more it wasgreat

Room Tip: Most of there room seem to face a dame and you can see ducks and bird life with some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I spent a couple of nights here on business on both November 2011 and November 2012. The whole resort was completely revamped and upgraded in preparation for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, when they hosted the Chilean Soccer team. I had stayed there previously in 2003, well before the upgrade and the place was pretty run down. Much better now. Good setting and good conference facilities. Apart from the coffee, which is pretty awful, the breakfast buffet is good. As were the lunch and dinner they served us as part of our conference. Not sure about value for money, since my head office made the booking and were billed directly, but I think it is fairly pricey (unless they get a preferential deal for group bookings). However, if you are not on a tight budget, certainly a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent the weekend there with more than 100 of our Harley friends and what an amazing time we had. The service was excellent, the food stunning and plentyfull, the atmosphere grate and to have all this with your mates on their Harleys, what more can you wish for! To the management team we want to say a huge THANK YOU, you made our weekend special and will be back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar, only two have baths, the rest is fitted with showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JokerNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

As a group of people this is a gem of a place to be, close to the little town of White River and secluded enough to have your peace and quiet fo the night. This is a sporting complex and the rooms are average with all the ammeneties necessary to be comfortable. The food and service grat and all the staff very friendly. In a large group this will be a great place to chill and enjoy the company of your friends, not your normal hotel but you will have everything you need.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JokerNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.2 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
275 reviews
4.5 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
222 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
461 reviews
2.3 mi away
ilanda Guest House
ilanda Guest House
#4 of 36 in White River
70 reviews
10.2 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#10 of 70 in Nelspruit
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort

Address: Plot 64, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range: £36 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ingwenyama Conference and sports resort is nestled in White River, Mpumalanga, South Africa, the gateway to the various tourist attractions in the most beautiful and exciting province. Kruger National Park is 35 km's away, Airport is 20km, Nelspruit 20km,Mbombela Stadium 28km, and we are very central to all the other sights and sounds of Mpumalanga. The property comprises a hotel,conferencing facilities, FIFA accredited pitches and cricket fields, a high performance gym and a rehab centre. An ideal location for off-season training and the hosting of small tournaments. Ingwenyama Conference & Sports Resort has been striving to make this winning resort the perfect place for work and play. This is a difficult balance to achieve but following recent developments we believe we have created a truly unique destination catering for all guest requirements in an absolutely spectacular setting. This hidden jewel we have been working hard on to make Ingwenyama Conference & Sports Resort the perfect place to work and play, Ingwenyama has grown through the years and today is one of the largest Hotel, Conference, Corporate Venues and Sports facilities not only in Southern Africa but also on the International market. Ingwenyama not only offers accommodation but has set itself up with all the facilities to cater successfully in the following markets: Professional, Amateur, School & Development Sporting codes. Conferencing / Events / Product Launches Weddings / Birthdays Corporate Events Team Building Exhibitions, Product launches Music Festivals Car & Other motor sport rallies Ingwenyama as a venue is truly spectacular, offering indoor and outdoor facilities, catering for small and large groups and being truly flexible in creating and catering for any need and want. So whether you are wearing your sports cap or your thinking cap, there's no better place to find inspiration! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing