We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm
Ranked #10 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Perfect"”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have had a few visits to Heuglin's and each one has been superb. Brian and Frances never disappoint. An excellent location, great comfort and beautiful surroundings. Heuglin's is ideal for business, holiday, family or short getaways.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyCraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
16
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was an absolute gem and a property we would unstintingly recommend. The breakfast was fabulous and the accommodation spacious and more than comfortable for an over night stay or a week or more, as the individual cottages are private and in a beautifully treed forest like setting, within a secure estate. Great value for money. Self contained if you wish or just perfect for a B&B. Brian was a very friendly host. What a treat. We wont look anywhere else when we return to the area. Perfectly appointed to explore the magic of the Lowveld and the surrounding game reserves. A plus the wine/ liquor rates were very reasonable.

Room Tip: the self contained cottages are beautifully appointed all within easy access to the dining/lounge/ b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinghham, WA
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at Heuglins during both our trips to S.A. and highly recommend it. Frances and Brian feel like family now-such gracious hosts. They helped us with every aspect of our trip. The grounds are so lovely and the guest lodges are perfect. Each one has privacy and very nice landscaping. The flowers and birds are fantastic. I can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: Each cottage is very similar so they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciam96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed at Heuglins for the first time earlier this year, it was a truly fantastic week. I have never felt so welcome and it was a real pleasure to get to know Frances and Brian as well as some of the guests at the lodge.
I stayed in an individual lodge which gave privacy when required but ate in their beautiful dining room for breakfast. The accommodation had everything one could require, was well fitted out and spotless. Brian and France even invited me to dinner at there home which is also part of the complex. They really couldn't have done any more and made the week very special - I would recommend Heuglins to anyone, it can't be beat!

Room Tip: All the rooms a good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavyBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was my first trip to South Africa and Heuglins, but hopefully not the last. Heuglins is a fantastic place to stay, and the hosts Frances and Brian are wonderfully welcoming.

Located just outside the small town of White River, Heuglins is situated in a lovely landscaped area. Each lodge is located in it's own little grove of trees and flowering bushes, so you have the peace and quiet you'd expect, but with the convenience of a great dining room just a walk away (with excellent food cooked by the hosts!). It's a short drive to Kruger park, so very easy to head out for a day safari.

The cottages are clean, the beds are comfy, and the food is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Heuglins offers you a combination of the warmth and privacy of your own home and incredible hospitality. Here you will experience the tranquillity of the Lowveld while being closely located to all amenities. The cottages are clean and spacious, making your stay extremely comfortable. Whether it is for a business trip or a base to explore the Lowveld, Heuglins is simply fantastic.
Brian and Frances make wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I believe this was our 5th visit to the Hyson's delightful bed &breakfast establishment. Our cottage in the secluded and bird filled garden had every facility and was attractively furnished. Excellent breakfasts as usual and Brian & Frances are very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammerkop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 36 in White River
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ku De Ta B & B
Ku De Ta B & B
#14 of 36 in White River
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Lane Lodge
Country Lane Lodge
#3 of 36 in White River
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm

Property: Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm
Address: 5 Darter Drive | Winmarleigh Farm, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing