We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort in need of makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
aha Greenway Woods Resort
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in White River
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We left booking too late so could only get two rooms at this establishment which is a 3 star self catering venue with some "hotel" rooms. The hotel section is oddly designed with two rooms on either side of a bigger room. The bigger room has a braai facility which is very odd since thete is no fridge or kitchen. We were given the two single rooms until I complained and got the bigger central room so that we were together.

Once that adventure was over, we got to see what we had paid for and were very irriated with a litany of problems. Even though they had DSTV, the reception was bad forcing our son to watch TV in our room. Had no TV or airconditioner remote which was a pain. The main balcony door lock was broken so we had to have it fixed. What was a pleasant suprise was the safes that could take our gadgets and valuables but the one in my sons room was faulty.

The facilities available were limited and also in need if TLC. Old patio sets at the pool and tired looking table tennis table.

So, a classic case of a venue that needs a makeover and would not recommend the hotel section. We took a stroll past the self catering chalets and they looked much better.

If you are going to use venue as a central base and you will be out the whole day then one might overlook the state of the place.

Room Tip: Pay more and go for the self catering rooms ... Avoid thr hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Good news for readers ... I am in the process of putting together a photograph album of Greenway Woods and will review my stay there last week for 5 days. I will add more once I can supply the pictures with review. So there is something to look forward to from me

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful as they are chalets dispersed amongst a magnificent garden of trees and wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenzinpema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We visited this establishment over the weekend and as a family get-a-way this is a very nice and claen place to enjoy and rest. The self catering units are average with all the equipment you need, yet clean and serviced. Staff is friendly and helpfull and sure the family will enjoy the peace and tranquility of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JokerNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

How sad to return to the resort we had celebrated our wedding ceremony eight years ago... The room was the Pitts!!! The bedroom ceiling had water infiltration, the voile was filthy with the debrie of squished dead bugs (this on the main door), my pillow had no pillow case and the kettle was disgusting!The bathroom was in worse condition... There was more water infiltration on the wall next to the toilet, the toilet paper holder was broken, the aluminum blind was broken, the bath panel was filled with thick black grime accumulated over the years, the shower handle and the bath were completely sticky! Greenway Woods Resort is lucky it was late at night and my four month old baby and eight year old son were exhausted beyond words or I would've demanded a refund and gone elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I was expecting the Greenway Woods Resort to be really top knotch since it was quite an expensive place to stay but was kind of disappointed in a really strange way.

The rooms are all in little house complexes dotted around the most delightful and well cared for gardens and lawns. In the country club next door, there is an exceptional golf course. This hotel seems to be used a lot for conferences and meetings - and this seemed to have a fair influence on the accommodation.

We had a large double room, a large comfy double bed but with only one bedside table - so no reading in bed for me! The only mirror was small with a light pointing towards the ceiling with a dead bulb, so nowhere to put on any makeup. The room had airconditioning but sadly this was not working. The ensuite was clean but the toilet/shower/sink had a really nasty sewerage smell and when we arrived all the windows at the back were wide open and there was no fridge.

We did complain to the Duty Manager who did try to help, finding bulbs and a fridge. We couldn't get the AC to work. She did say that the majority of people who stayed at the hotel were men attending conferences or larger families in the bigger houses. Breakfast was included which was delicious. However, overall I was disappointed as I was really expecting something better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowzatCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

On arrival at the hotel, a very sullen lady was at the front desk. The way in which you are greeted at the reception, goes a long way to form your first impression of a hotel. The other staff members were very friendly. We were told that the room would only be ready at 2pm. We subsequently decided to visit the Kruger National Park to give them enough time to sort the room out, arrived back at 4:15pm and the room still was'nt ready. T V did'nt work, no towels or soap. Contacted reception twice to sort things out, which they eventually did. The garden rooms are tiny but clean. The breakfast buffet was not vast but the food served was good. We had dinner at three of the restaurants in the area. The grounds are lovely and well cared for, with swimming pool, volleyball, table tennis and lots of grass for small children to run around. Closest gate to the park is Numbi which is around a twenty five minute drive through a couple of built up areas. There is a spa.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the garden rooms if you suffer from claustrophobia and complain if you any unhappy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Very good service. Food was exelent. Rooms neat revamp, but very comfortable. Staff vey friendly

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alltrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.9 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
304 reviews
15 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
19.4 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
329 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
13.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aha Greenway Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aha Greenway Woods Resort

Address: Vintage Drive, White River 1240, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Greenway Woods Resort)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: £56 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — aha Greenway Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you require a cosy family getaway, or the perfect venue for a world-class conference, aha Greenway Woods Resort has it all. Outstanding accommodation, top-notch service, delectable cuisine and an enviable setting. aha Greenway Woods Resort is an ethnic inspiration, a perfect and refined destination to explore Mpumalanga’s spectacular scenic beauty and abundance of wildlife. The 25-chalet resort is located near the small, eccentric town of White River in the Lowveld, 27km from Nelspruit, 18km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, and 30km from Kruger National Park’s Numbi Gate. aha Greenway Woods Resort borders the White River Golf Estate. Other activities in the area include mountain bike trails, fishing, tennis, golf, visiting a citrus winery, restaurants and pubs, and lifestyle centres. Attractions: Kruger National Park, Sudwala Caves, Sudwala Dinosaur Park, the Lowveld Botanical Garden, Croc River Enviro Park, and more. aha Greenway Woods Resort facilities feature: DSTV with selected channels in rooms (full DSTV available in bar), a fireplace in chalets and some Deluxe rooms, school holiday Kiddie’s Programme and a Kiddies Games Room. Also a Spa, Restaurant, Bar, Conference Centre, Swimming Pool, Trampoline, Pool Table, Volleyball, Outdoor Chess Set, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your aha Greenway Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Woods Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing