We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greenway Woods ---- Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
aha Greenway Woods Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in White River
Secunda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greenway Woods ---- Average Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, utilizing 2 deluxe rooms as we were 4 adults. The rooms were average and reasonably clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good and service was ok.
Its location to the Kruger Park was reasonable, a 30 min or so drive to numbi gate and around 45 to phabeni.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_g_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Guest Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you chris_g_mp for your feedback.
We always say "we're a 3-star hotel trying hard to deliver 4-star food and service". The beauty of our hotel is we're affordable accommodation perfectly located to the best the Lowveld has to offer ... the magnificent Panorama route and the wonderful wildlife on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    65
    46
    32
    15
See reviews for
64
63
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here for the long weekend of September 21 - 24. Booked a room through MTBeds.co.za. Found the room to be OK, not brilliant but not horrible. For the price of R500 (approx. USD $62.5) per night for the both of us, including a full breakfast, I thought that this was a rather decent stay and decent deal.

The resort is in definite need of a make over/revamp and whilst the aircon in the room did not work (never bother us too much as we were out most of the day and it was cool in the evening) and the tv was a litted "aged", the staff at the resort were all local to the area and very friendly. The bar was a perfect place to sit and enjoy your drink in front of the fire place after a full day out. The best feature, is the location. It was approx. 30 km's from the Numbi Gate for the Kruger National Park and we were also able to enjoy all the other attractions in the area such as God's Window, Lisbon Falls and Pilgrim's Rest to name a few.

There are a few restaurants within a short distance that are open til rather late and offer good dinner options at very reasonable prices.

Overall, I would probably consider returning to the resort if I wanted to stay at a solid, value resort.

Room Tip: If you want to leave early to the Kruger, arrange with the hotel to pre-pack your breakfast so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZL-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Public Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you DZL-Traveller for your feedback. Funny enough, we're happy to hear you describe what we have to offer as simple and basic. We don't promise the frills and thrills, but what we do promise is a clean, comfortable and happy stay with us. Of course, being less than an hour's drive from the beautiful historical towns on the Panorama Route and the wonderful wildlife in the national parks makes our spot perfect!

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked into a room that had a terrible damp smell,paint peeling off the ceiling ,damp coming through in a number of places.The so called bedroom was just about wall to wall bed.To their credit when I complained they moved us to a much better room,just a bit tough
having to do this after returning from a wedding at midnight.!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquiherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Public Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thanks jacquiherbert for your review. We're also equally unhappy with a selection of our rooms in the older section which is why we've embarked on an extensive refurbishment programme to upgrade these rooms and refresh the decor. Our hotel is receiving the tender, loving care this little gem deserves and we can't wait for all our older rooms to be of the same high standard as our newly refurbished rooms.

The damp smell is a bit of a problem because of all the rain we get ... our maintenance team need eagle eyes to check for leaks and damp spots. But that's what makes this area so beautiful ... the lush, tropical gardens and landscapes ... so we happily bear the burden of fighting the problems the big rains bring.

We look forward to welcoming you back and next time we hope you stay longer to explore this stunning part of the country.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these White River hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Accommodation
We stayed in the upstairs Deluxe rooms (R450pp). Beds were comfortable and you could see they went to some effort to try and decorate the place in modern finishes. Some finishes weren't great for example the bathroom which had a shower with bad, bad pressure and also the drain wouldn't suck the water out so it landed in the floor most of the time. It was well cleaned though and for the most part comfortable.

Food
The food was your decent buffet. It's not a very modern establishment however the food and beverage staff were the friendliest of all.

Service
The front desk needs improvement. We wanted to book a spa treatment and somehow the communication between the various staff at different shifts didn't occur and they didn't see apologetic about not doing their jobs. the General Manager did come to dinner to greet us personally which was a nice touch (I think her name was Vanessa).

Surrounding area
Absolutely beautiful hilly forest, we jogged in the mornings which was refreshing. We were able to travel to places like Kruger, Pilgrims Rest, Gods Window etc as Greenway was the centre point.

Would I return?
I wouldn't return with my partner however for a no frills boys weekend or budget family's holiday where most of the time is spent outside of the rooms and exploring the sites and sounds of white river; I would consider it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaniMbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Nice resort in a really good location for weekends away and conferences. Right next to a decent golf course. Accommodation is relatively basic, but well clean and comfortable. Conference facility was fine, and so was the food. For larger groups, the resort will prepare special meals.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta, Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Near to the Kruger Park you can touch a pure nature just feel in Greenway Woods,a lovely place to breath a healthy life.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset East
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed in a most comfortable self catering unit at Greenway. This was serviced daily by a friendly and efficient staff.

The grounds were spacious and well tended. The restuarant served an above average buffet with a nice wine selection.

White River has good restuarants, and is close to most important Mpumulanga destinations, including the Kruger park.

Room Tip: Timeshare/self catering units are good value and well fitted. Our unit had 3 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigboySomersetEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.9 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
19.6 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
10.5 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aha Greenway Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aha Greenway Woods Resort

Property: aha Greenway Woods Resort
Address: Vintage Drive, White River 1240, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Greenway Woods Resort)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — aha Greenway Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you require a cosy family getaway, or the perfect venue for a world-class conference, aha Greenway Woods Resort has it all. Outstanding accommodation, top-notch service, delectable cuisine and an enviable setting. aha Greenway Woods Resort is an ethnic inspiration, a perfect and refined destination to explore Mpumalanga's spectacular scenic beauty and abundance of wildlife. The 25-chalet resort is located near the small, eccentric town of White River in the Lowveld, 27km from Nelspruit, 18km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, and 30km from Kruger National Park's Numbi Gate. aha Greenway Woods Resort borders the White River Golf Estate. Other activities in the area include mountain bike trails, fishing, tennis, golf, visiting a citrus winery, restaurants and pubs, and lifestyle centres. Attractions: Kruger National Park, Sudwala Caves, Sudwala Dinosaur Park, the Lowveld Botanical Garden, Croc River Enviro Park, and more. aha Greenway Woods Resort facilities feature: DSTV with selected channels in rooms (full DSTV available in bar), a fireplace in chalets and some Deluxe rooms, school holiday Kiddie's Programme and a Kiddies Games Room. Also a Spa, Restaurant, Bar, Conference Centre, Swimming Pool, Trampoline, Pool Table, Volleyball, Outdoor Chess Set, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your aha Greenway Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Woods Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing