We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smallest bedroom I´ve been before”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
aha Greenway Woods Resort
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in White River
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The external part of the hotel is big, green, has a big pool, playground…maybe a good place to stay with kids but as I was there only to sleep I can talk about my experience inside of the bedroom.
I choosed this hotel because I would be on White River only for one night so I looked for a place clean, cheap, close to the Wine Show.
Upon to the arrival started my disgust, I saw a small cocoroach on the curtain. Looks like nobody had cleaned before we arrive. The bedroom was too small, I never had been stayed in a bedroom small like that. The mugs available for coffee were dirty and one had a hair inside.
The bathroom hasn´t bath courtain, after the bath everything was wetted. I had booked for a couple but there was only one towel.
The reception is very far from the bedrooms even this there´s no mini-bar in the room.
I requested one hair dryer and one plug, my husband went to the reception to get it but when he arrived the plug didn´t fit to the hair dryer.
Honestly, I´ve been in low costs hotels many times but in no one of them I got so bored. I don´t want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Don´t get the chalet 3A, is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaraAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Public Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you Clara for your feedback.

With regards to our rooms, we are rolling-out an extensive refurbishment programme to upgrade our chalets and rooms, and refresh our decor. We follow stringent criteria to meet the strict standards of a 3-star hotel in the Three Cities Group. We do have a selection of small rooms which are popular with guests who require very basic facilities at a highly affordable price. In our weekly training sessions, we have reiterated the need to check a guest is satisfied with the size and location of their room, and to move them promptly if they are not happy.

Cleanliness and service is a non-negotiable and every point you raised in your review has been itemised in a spreadsheet and the relevant heads of Departments were tasked with (a) investigating why the problem occured and (b) refocusing efforts in areas of weakness. Our General Manager has dealt with all the issues raised and is monitoring staff performance.

We appreciate your feedback and assure you we are determined to maintain the highest standards of cleanliness and service.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had to be in White River for a funeral. As it was short notice and coincided with a bicycle race in the area, we forced to stay at the Greenway Woods Resort. We were reluctant because the hotel got bad reviews on Trip Advisor. Then I thought the that all would be fine because the hotel was part of the Three Cities group. Big Mistake!! Although we had booked and paid through Bookings.com for two rooms, the hotel had no record and showed little interest in accomodating us. We arrived at 11 pm after a long drive and only after phoning Bookings.com did we get rooms. The rooms were sub standard, stained carpets, leaking toilets, no toilet paper and only Rooibos tea. After three quick phone calls of complaint we were moved to a deluxe room. I was told that the hotel only supplied Rooibos tea in the rooms. Imagine my astonishment when i found normal ceylon tea in the deluxe room. A quick check with my friend confirmed that she too had normal tea. So I was told a blatant lie by the night guy in the Hotel. Our new deluxe room had no water so we could not shower. So, stinky, we went to bed. The free breakfast was greasy fried foods, cheap nasty luridly colored yoghurt and VERY bad coffee. My wife was impressed with the cut fruit. The following night a friend wanted to book in, at 10 pm, but was told that there were no rooms free. Only after it became clear that i did not believe them and that we we going no where did a room suddenly become available. The guy who booked my friend in was either very merry or drunk. I suspected drunk. We fled at 6:30 the next morning happily giving up the free breakfast. Book this hotel only if there is no other option.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 1967FJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Guest Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you very much DAThrash for your valuable review

We are always shocked to get feedback that shows that a small group of our staff members are not doing what they are trained to do to keep to our strict standards of cleanliness and exceptional service. What we did with your review is itemise every issue raised and the heads of the relevant departments had to follow-up with either disciplinary action or staff training.

We are currently rolling-out an extensive refurbishment programme to upgrade our rooms and refresh our decor. We are excited that before long the few remaining older rooms will be looking spanking new and everyone will love them.

Thank you again for your feedback and we'd like to reassure you that our General Manager is closely monitoring the performance of the staff involved.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Greenway Woods is really trying to jack-up it's service. Things have improved. Staff really try their best to make you stay a good one. Helpful smiling staff. There is still a problem with some of the rooms, bad smells and not too clean, etc. Wonderful place to stay if you have children. Road to the Numbi Gate is full of potholes, will damage your wheels. They have added a beauty salon. Food is homely and quite good.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a better room and complain if it's dirty, lacking in any way, so they can cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Guest Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you Ayr77 for your complimentary feedback. Maintaining the highest standards in cleanliness and service is always a constant battle and we love to hear that our staff training programme is resulting in happy guests.

We are aware of a few issues with some of our rooms - they are on the priority list for the extensive refurbishment & maintenance programme that is currently under way. Cleanliness and service, however, are non negotiable and we'd like to re-assure you our General Manager is strictly monitoring performance in areas of weakness.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We only stayed at Greenway woods for 1 night as we had a wedding to attend in White river. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful , the room clean, good breakfast. All and all great value for money.

We will stay at Greenway again should we find ourselves in White River.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irmaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Guest Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

We love receiving such positive feedback ... thank you IrmaSA for your kind words. We work very hard training our staff and monitoring their performance, so it's always nice to hear our team is doing what is asked of them and our guests are happy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Three Cities Greenway Woods Resort.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, utilizing 2 deluxe rooms as we were 4 adults. The rooms were average and reasonably clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good and service was ok.
Its location to the Kruger Park was reasonable, a 30 min or so drive to numbi gate and around 45 to phabeni.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_g_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Guest Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you chris_g_mp for your feedback.
We always say "we're a 3-star hotel trying hard to deliver 4-star food and service". The beauty of our hotel is we're affordable accommodation perfectly located to the best the Lowveld has to offer ... the magnificent Panorama route and the wonderful wildlife on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here for the long weekend of September 21 - 24. Booked a room through MTBeds.co.za. Found the room to be OK, not brilliant but not horrible. For the price of R500 (approx. USD $62.5) per night for the both of us, including a full breakfast, I thought that this was a rather decent stay and decent deal.

The resort is in definite need of a make over/revamp and whilst the aircon in the room did not work (never bother us too much as we were out most of the day and it was cool in the evening) and the tv was a litted "aged", the staff at the resort were all local to the area and very friendly. The bar was a perfect place to sit and enjoy your drink in front of the fire place after a full day out. The best feature, is the location. It was approx. 30 km's from the Numbi Gate for the Kruger National Park and we were also able to enjoy all the other attractions in the area such as God's Window, Lisbon Falls and Pilgrim's Rest to name a few.

There are a few restaurants within a short distance that are open til rather late and offer good dinner options at very reasonable prices.

Overall, I would probably consider returning to the resort if I wanted to stay at a solid, value resort.

Room Tip: If you want to leave early to the Kruger, arrange with the hotel to pre-pack your breakfast so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DZL-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Public Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you DZL-Traveller for your feedback. Funny enough, we're happy to hear you describe what we have to offer as simple and basic. We don't promise the frills and thrills, but what we do promise is a clean, comfortable and happy stay with us. Of course, being less than an hour's drive from the beautiful historical towns on the Panorama Route and the wonderful wildlife in the national parks makes our spot perfect!

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked into a room that had a terrible damp smell,paint peeling off the ceiling ,damp coming through in a number of places.The so called bedroom was just about wall to wall bed.To their credit when I complained they moved us to a much better room,just a bit tough
having to do this after returning from a wedding at midnight.!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquiherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingGWW, Public Relations Manager at aha Greenway Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks jacquiherbert for your review. We're also equally unhappy with a selection of our rooms in the older section which is why we've embarked on an extensive refurbishment programme to upgrade these rooms and refresh the decor. Our hotel is receiving the tender, loving care this little gem deserves and we can't wait for all our older rooms to be of the same high standard as our newly refurbished rooms.

The damp smell is a bit of a problem because of all the rain we get ... our maintenance team need eagle eyes to check for leaks and damp spots. But that's what makes this area so beautiful ... the lush, tropical gardens and landscapes ... so we happily bear the burden of fighting the problems the big rains bring.

We look forward to welcoming you back and next time we hope you stay longer to explore this stunning part of the country.

Kind regards, Gayle
Marketing and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
15 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
3.9 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
299 reviews
19.4 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.2 mi away
Pine Lake Inn
Pine Lake Inn
#6 of 9 in White River
116 reviews
16.8 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aha Greenway Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aha Greenway Woods Resort

Address: Vintage Drive, White River 1240, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Greenway Woods Resort)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: £55 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — aha Greenway Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you require a cosy family getaway, or the perfect venue for a world-class conference, aha Greenway Woods Resort has it all. Outstanding accommodation, top-notch service, delectable cuisine and an enviable setting. aha Greenway Woods Resort is an ethnic inspiration, a perfect and refined destination to explore Mpumalanga’s spectacular scenic beauty and abundance of wildlife. The 25-chalet resort is located near the small, eccentric town of White River in the Lowveld, 27km from Nelspruit, 18km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, and 30km from Kruger National Park’s Numbi Gate. aha Greenway Woods Resort borders the White River Golf Estate. Other activities in the area include mountain bike trails, fishing, tennis, golf, visiting a citrus winery, restaurants and pubs, and lifestyle centres. Attractions: Kruger National Park, Sudwala Caves, Sudwala Dinosaur Park, the Lowveld Botanical Garden, Croc River Enviro Park, and more. aha Greenway Woods Resort facilities feature: DSTV with selected channels in rooms (full DSTV available in bar), a fireplace in chalets and some Deluxe rooms, school holiday Kiddie’s Programme and a Kiddies Games Room. Also a Spa, Restaurant, Bar, Conference Centre, Swimming Pool, Trampoline, Pool Table, Volleyball, Outdoor Chess Set, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your aha Greenway Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Woods Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing