We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in White River
Wilts,UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A few words regards our experience at the Hulala Lakeside Lodge. My wife and I have nothing but respect for all the staff. Helpful, understanding and no problem are just a few words which sums up our stay. Thank you to you all. And a special thank you to Dianne for your understanding regards my wife.

Room Tip: Go there. And enjoy all that is offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-lightGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    72
    42
    14
    10
See reviews for
31
113
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Me and my wife enjoyed such a lovely time this past weekend. we enjoyed a lovely customer service, beautiful meals and the place was so clean and peaceful. we are already planning to go back. i also loved how they were so willing to accomodate our requests to suits our needs at that time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

30 minutes from Nelspruit and about 3 to 4 hours from Johannesburg, it's an easy drive to Hulala. If you leave Johannesburg after 17:00 as we did, you should pick up something to eat in White River because the kitchen will be closed when you arrive and there is no room service available. The room we stayed in was basic, but comfortable. What we really liked were the communal areas, especially the lounge area overlooking the dam. It rained for most of the weekend when we visited which meant that we couldn't go on any cruises, but the weekend was very relaxing. Take along a few books, but if you forget, there is a selection to choose from in the mini library. Great location, very scenic, really pretty. An easy recommendation, even though the rooms could be a little more sophisticated.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

It's my second time visiting them, what a lovely place & the staff are so professional & friendly. The lodge & self catering units are equally beautiful, I'm glad I experienced both Hulala worlds! We'll be sure to come back! Thank you Diane & your team, you guys are amazing!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrsNozNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

i just returned from a 3 night stay (23rd-26th august 2013). i really must say i'm totally impressed. beautiful, tranquil surroundings and the service from the staff goes beyond what we expected and the food is just out of this world. being someone who travels quiet a bit, i was blown away by the service... we will be back again...
it was a friend's birthday and the staff had organised cake and brought it out at dinner and sang for her... i'd recommend this place to anyone going to Mpumalanga

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent two nights at the lodge which is a well managed and run lodge that is worth their 4 star rating. Rooms are very neat and the food is 5 star quality. Service from arriving till departure excellent. The suite room had a lovely King size bed with a fireplace, overlooking the lake. A beautiful peaceful getaway if you really need to unwind. We will definitely re visit when possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Me and my husband spend 3 nights in April 2013, we really enjoy every moment there, the service were the best we have ever received at any other place, we travel local about 4 to 5 times a year, too even much more expensive places where management are much more interested in your money, then you as a person, we were once put up in a freshly varnish painted cabin at the Lion and Rhino park that was very expensive, and when we complaint, I was threatend by the owner. Will visit this place and recommend this place anytime.

Room Tip: room 212 located right next to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmaine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.4 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pine Lake Inn
Pine Lake Inn
#6 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulala Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Property: Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Address: Farm Etna R40 between White River and Hazyview Mpumalanga 1240 | P. O. Box 1382, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulala Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulala Lakeside Lodge is situated on the da Gama Dam surrounded by a Forrest of Indigenous Trees and is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoy our daily Cruise around the Dam and take in the peace and tranquility while experiencing the extensive Bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hulala Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulala Lakeside Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing