We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall experience at Karula Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karula Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 White River B&B and Inns
Hoedspruit, Limpopo, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall experience at Karula Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My family ie my two boys (16 and 9 years old) and myself have stayed at this hotel at least 15 times over the last 3 years, usually only for one night at a time. From the moment we put foot in the door we are made to feel at home. The owners and the staff all know us well (by now) and always go the extra mile to make us feel welcome-they are all exceptionally friendly and efficient. The rooms are neat and tidy-the attention to detail is amazing ! The restaurant is so well equipped-the cutlery of a very high standard. The service in the restaurant and bar is unequalled and the food brilliant. The waiting time for food or a drink to be served is minimal. I find the rates to be more than reasonable which makes going back regularly so much easier ! All in all ,true value for money and just an awesome experience-every time ,bar none !!!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff exactly what you feel you might need-they will definitely try their best to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
19
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The rooms are spacious with all the amenities to make your stay very pleasent indeed. The staff at the Karula Hotel is exceptional, especially in the Dining room. We had the most pleasent stay there for 2 days over a week-end with friends .It is close enough to go to all the sight seeing places. We loved it and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I use this hotel for my Bussiness travel every month, due to its excellent service and fabulous breakfast and dinners and off course definate value for your money. The rooms are average but spotlessly clean. Tom and his staff always smile and thet will do their upmost to keep you happy.

Room Tip: No My Secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Le0nburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had a wonderful week-end at this lovely hotel. Always a smile from the staff, excellent service and fabulous dinners. The rooms are average but spotlessly clean. The location is great for doing all sorts of sight seeing nearby, and especially for the golfers. Definate value for your money...thank you for a memorable week-end.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A month after a family illness delayed our trip we arrived at the Karula to celebrate a winter Xmas.
The restaurant and reception area were beautifully decorated with Christmas trimmings. As usual the rooms were clean and comfortable. The meals on both evenings was superb and it is really nice to be served rather than queue at a buffet. We were able to spend the day in the Kruger National Park which is relatively close by. There are many other attractions in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

It's been a while since we stayed at a hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis so were a bit skeptical at the reasonable price quoted by this hotel on a recent visit.

A fantastic room, a table d'hote (fixed menu) dinner and a superb buffet breakfast is what we received from this establishment all of which exceeded our expectations.

Service at dinner and breakfast was attentive with the owner doing his rounds to check if we were satisfied with everything. A nightcap at the beautiful old-styled bar with a roaring log fire ended a fantastic evening.

My wife and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The hotel is nicely positioned with great views. Rooms are OK, not great, bath with shower head in it and plastic curtain, not ideal. Price was different from one quoted over the phone which was irritating. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Real bug bear was that for the price we paid, there was a note in the rooms, with the cups and kettle that if you wanted coffee or tea, you had to buy it at reception for R6 each. Not the price, but a bit cheap for the price they charge! Breakfast was also extra and on a Sunday morning the service ended at 9am, bit early!. Cleaning staff woke everyone up with their loud chatter on Sunday morning very early which was really inappropriate!

Room Tip: 9 &10 close to main hotel, but not that close that you are disturbed by te bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
4.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.4 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 37 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.0 mi away
El Roi Guest Lodge
El Roi Guest Lodge
#6 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karula Hotel

Property: Karula Hotel
Address: Old Plaston Rd, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing