We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road”
Review of Kokopelli - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kokopelli
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Middle of the road”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Average fare. I made the mistake of ordering fish and chips. I'll not do that again. Probably frozen withe the batter on from a supplier. Also the friying looked and tasted like the oil was a bit old. Not an excuse but it was in the evening on Easter Monday.

Irene had a burger and enjoyed that especially the chilli sauce that came with it. Again her chips looked like they'd been cooked in the same old oil.

On the plus side was the music. When we arrived they were playing Eric Clapton. Just before our meal arrived the canned music was switched off and we were worried because a live singer was setting up. Shouldn't have worried, he did a number of folksy/bluesy songs. When we asked why it was so short he said he'd been at it all afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White River, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“even the third time was disappointing”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We've visited Kokopelli now 3 times. First time just when they had opened, second time last September 2013 and now March 2013.
The first visit was not great as we did receive much less meat than it was mentioned on the menu. The second time the service was so bad that we did receive the chips after we had finished the rest of the meal. And this time we were really disappointed about the food.
We had one portion of calamari stripes with fries and the same meal with a baked potato.
What came on the plate was a real joke. It was about 100 gram calamari steak cut into stripes with a kind of gravy on it and one potato or a small portion of chips. There was not one piece of vegetable on the plate nor a leave of lettuce. The potato was far to overcooked and the fries also not tasty. The other plate was a half a chicken peri peri with a baked potato. Same with the potato and the chicken must have been a miniture chicken. Also no vegetables or lettuce. The fourth plate was a sandwich with some fries. Same story. Everything looked like someone had just splashed it onto the plate. So our decision is not to go back to Kokopelli and also not recommend it to someone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akyali-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our local Tapaz restaurant”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A great spot with elevated deck to chill with friends and family and enjoy a different mexican menu with a tapaz flair. Good service and great hosts and specials on some evenings. If you enjoy karaoke evenings they also do that but thats not my favorite.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Sa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“One of the poorest meals we have had in South Africa.”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This restaurant offers tapas and Mexican type food. Four of us visited recently and were extremely disappointed with the very poor service and food. We visited on a Thursday evening, and it may have been that the management were absent, but even so, there was no excuse for having things on the menu that were not available, for not telling us that parts of a dish were not available (ie fish accompanied by the tartar sauce was brought and we were then told that there was no tartar sauce left). From that, we surmised that probably the restaurant did not make their own sauces, My Quescadilla was okay but accompanied by a bottled salsa, and the wine we ordered (a Cabinet Sauvignon) was really too hot to be served. It was when the desserts were brought that we realised what a poor place this was. Four of us ordered puddings at the same time; two puddings were brought. We were then told that the banana pudding was not available and that the Malva pudding was burnt, and that this was the last one in stock. However, they did find another Malva pudding, which they brought, with a horrible burnt and curdled custard. It was disgusting, and after one mouth full, my husband left it. White River is a small town, with some good restaurants, and we were with local residents. They were highly embarrassed at the standard of the meal we were served. Having had some delicious food at other restaurants in the vicinity, this was a huge disappointment, and I would recommend that this restaurant is avoided until the problems it seems to have with serving and catering are sorted.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XENIA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love it.”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I have dined here several times and are never disappointed. Good food and service. We love the atmosphere as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kokopelli also viewed

White River, Mpumalanga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing