We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow”
Review of The Fez at Baghdad

The Fez at Baghdad
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in White River
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Slow”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Slow service and average food. The WiFi worked well, that the best here is. The starter arrived after 35(!) min Keep driving.

Helpful?
Thank Anders C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A nice setting, good service, really good pita bread appetizers. The roast chicken was tasty, but a bit dry, and the french fries mediocre. The best dish of all was the ravioli, excellent!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wildtimfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking is putting it mildy!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our trip in Africa so far has been unbelievable and I have posted lots of wonderful reviews to date but sadly his is not the ADR with fez. Our dining experience was a disaster. The food was bland as can be and not as advertised. We were expecting Moroccan but got a mottled mix of Japanese/Italian/Thai. There were four of us dining and all had equally disappointing meals. The table next to us all ordered sushi and were told 15mins after they had ordered that they all had to chose something else from the menu as there was no way the kitchen could manage!?
The owner was rude and not at all interested in our polite complaints.
The most authentic thing about Fez were the fez hats worn by the wait staff. Owners need to pick up their game in a major way!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sliknikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little bit of Morocco”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a very surprising evening at this small but unique restaurant in White River. We had a very good meal and the staff and management were very helpful and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeremyC086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Can only really saythat we were somewhat disappointed after all the hype generated about Fez. Service was friendly and the restaurant atmosphere was very pleasant. The kids tucked into sushi platters which went down really well, didn't leave me a taster, so can only assume it was good.

For starters tried the snail spring rolls with chili jam. An interesting twist, and while not exceptional was quite tasty with the chili jam probably taking top honours. We also had a crab and avo salad which was tasty.

For mains we targetted the moroccan inspired items, a baby chicken with moroccan rub and the lamb and couscous dish. The lamb was exceptionally tender. I was expecting more moroccan inspired spices, however it tasted more like a lamb tomato bredie and was extremely salty. The chicken was quite average.

For desserts we tried the baklava, which was excellent and probably the highlight of the meal. The other dessert was the cashew nut pie which was again very disappointing being to dry and overall quite tasteless.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Croixant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fez at Baghdad also viewed

White River, Mpumalanga
White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to The Fez at Baghdad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing