We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge

Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superbe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived without a booking, but we were very kindly invited to come in and sit in a table; The service is therefore, very good. The food is marvelous! The welcome drink, hot cinnamon wine is a delightful!!! thank YOU

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank majoaoramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    24
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piet Retief, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome even from the resident kitty! Attentive staff throughout the evening. Starters awesome - fresh and tasty carpaccio; light, delicious mussels. Mains of kingklip and beef fillet equally tasty. Just the mushroom sauce with the fillet a bit salty and we didn't have a chance to breath between starters and mains. Portions are generous and we were disappointed not to have space to sample the delicious sounding dessert offering! Well done Tanya and crew.

Helpful?
Thank penny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinner with 3 close families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is one of our favourite restaurants in Whiteriver.The owner Tanya is always accomadating and friendly.We enjoyed our supper and the winter fires made us think we really are in Austria.Food was excellent and service superb.We definately and always recommended this restaurant to all our family and friends

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 323Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Nice romantic dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Oliver's is just a 3 minute drive from Pine Lake Resort. We went on a Monday evening without a reservation. They were kind and helped us with a table since on a Monday the only serve there own guests. They had a different and smaller version of the menu to choose from, yet the food was very nice we had mains and desert. The portions were generous. The restaurant is in different rooms and there is an outside area as well with a big fire to make it cosy and warm. The service was fantastic and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always hospitable and never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is one of our absolute favourites. We again had dinner at Oiver's and once again enjoyed it thoroughly. Lovely touch of gluwine before dinner just to shake off the winter cold. Lovely lounge with fires to enjoy your pre and after dinner drinks. Service excellent. Food most enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge also viewed

White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing